Victory For The Comic Muse

Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. The Divine Comedy's most spontaneous record in ages.
  2. 'Victory for the Comic Muse' is the Divine Comedy's finest album since their post-Britpop Chris Evans-approved heyday.
  3. Under The Radar
    80
    With Hannon’s usual fair of orchestral chamber pop filling Muses’s eleven tracks, the real difference lies in his lyrical progression. [#15]
  4. Spin
    80
    [Hannon] deserves to be recognized as the unsung genius of symphonic pop. [Nov 2006, p.97]
  5. The Divine Comedy's constants are a Wildean wit with an apposite sense of style, and they persist on extravagant ninth album Victory for the Comic Muse.
  6. Hannon has largely toned down his extravagant look-at-me persona, and decided instead to rely on the quality of his song-writing.
  7. Q Magazine
    70
    Devoid of Hannon's penchant for the smugly esoteric, this is by far his most approachable album. [Aug 2006, p.111]
  8. Yes, Victory for the Comic Muse has its funny moments, its sad asides, and some of the now standard Nyman minimalist moments, but in the Divine Comedy's overall discography it's a rather slight and often flat affair with unfortunate suggestions that Hannon might have milked the comic cow dry.
  9. Magnet
    70
    Predictable pleasures abound. [#74, p.95]
  10. Victory For The Comic Muse seems destined to be one of those odd works beloved by cultish fans of Hannon’s work, but an unfocused misfire from the casual listener’s standpoint.
  11. Neither wholly satisfying nor wholly great.
  12. Mojo
    60
    Highly agreeable in small doses. [Jul 2006, p.104]
  13. Blender
    60
    This is music for the well-read rock fan and the would-be scoundrel. [Mar 2007, p.134]
  14. Uncut
    40
    While he recreates his past modes, he can't recapture the audacious conceits or raptures of Liberation and Promenade. [Jul 2006, p.90]
  15. New Musical Express (NME)
    30
    It can indeed be shunted into the drawer marked "I can't believe I used to like this band." [17 Jun 2006, p.39]
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Aug 22, 2010
    0
    Can anyone please describe the process for getting into this band? Do you just think, "Oh, i'll not listen to all that good music that's outCan anyone please describe the process for getting into this band? Do you just think, "Oh, i'll not listen to all that good music that's out there and listen to The Divine Comedy instead"? I've heard the albums, i've watched the videos, i've seen TV performances, I've seen them live, I've seen interviews with the band. There's not ONE thing which is slightly endearing or exciting about the music, the visuals, the ideas or the personalities. My grandmother's flock wallpaper is more riveting. I hope they don't read this review, otherwise i'll expect a song about my grandmother's flock wallpaper to be hitting the charts real soon. Full Review »
  2. chrisw
    Jul 31, 2007
    8
    The Divine Comedy's most mainstream record to date. Full of smart lyrics and huge chorus's, Neil Hannon has crafted another fine The Divine Comedy's most mainstream record to date. Full of smart lyrics and huge chorus's, Neil Hannon has crafted another fine record full of symphonic pop and baroque flourishes. 'To Die A Virgin' is a stomping ode to sexual awakening, 'Diva Lady' a biting, tongue in cheek swipe at music primadonna's and 'Mother Dear' a strummy, summery tribute to his mother. A great cover of the Associates 'Party Fears Two' showcases Hannon's unique voice and 'Lady Of A Certain Age' is a gorgeous and clever ballad. Still not quite as good as the wonderful Cassanova but a great record nevertheless. Full Review »
  3. kamil
    Dec 3, 2006
    8
    Back to form for Hannon. Genius of lush pop in its prime. Songs are simple, funny and melodic - more than half of them is best since his Back to form for Hannon. Genius of lush pop in its prime. Songs are simple, funny and melodic - more than half of them is best since his masterpiece Fin De Siecle. Full Review »