Vision Valley

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Coniseuer
    Apr 20, 2006
    9
    If this was a debut album nobody would give it less than a "7.," There are a lot worse that are garnering 8+
  2. borgy
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    The critics probably wont like it again, but that didnt stop Winning Days being a kick ass album, and everyone know's the Vines were the best of the 2002 "The" bands.
  3. youhouuu!!F*kYeah!
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    that's really GREAT!!!The better garage rock album! but some song are too short.... Atmos has a really fantastic start but it's stopped about 1:10
  4. LindaM
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    Vision Valley is one of the best Vines albums to date. It is a haunting, expressive album that brings out many emotions like a satisfying therapy session. And Craig is not terminal, Drew B. *rolls eyes*
  5. ChemaP
    Apr 15, 2006
    8
    Well, that's fine... Yes, a little predictable, but good garage anyway.
  6. DiegoD
    Apr 4, 2006
    8
    Great garage rock, powerful and pleasingly noisy, as usual in the sound of the band, but it is predictable and sluggish in several passages of so short trip for the valley
  7. drewB
    Apr 4, 2006
    9
    give the dude a break, he is dieing! let's see you write a song when you're terminal.
  8. Angie
    Apr 4, 2006
    8
    Not as good as HE od WD but its still top of my list. The Vines are back! I absolutly love Spaceship and Vision Valley
  9. AndyH
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    A superb masterpiece from the best band in the world.
  10. AdamJ
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    Excellent album. Best rock band going around.
  11. MikaL
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    It's a definite comeback, when you have the space-rock 'Spaceship' that takes you out of this world, making you forget everything and anything important. 'Candy Daze' sounds upbeat and full of sunshine goodness. 'F*k Yeh' is one of those songs where you can get away singing shamelessly loud and dance to. I'd say it's one of The Vines best works It's a definite comeback, when you have the space-rock 'Spaceship' that takes you out of this world, making you forget everything and anything important. 'Candy Daze' sounds upbeat and full of sunshine goodness. 'F*k Yeh' is one of those songs where you can get away singing shamelessly loud and dance to. I'd say it's one of The Vines best works that they have came up with and yes, with the poppy 'Don't Listen To The Radio', don't listen to Pitchfork as they really can't understand what a thing 'boredom' really is and compare The Vines to the other rock and roll legends who possibly dies of a drug overdosing. The Vines are legends, you just need to give them a fair chance. Start if with the simple songs, and when you're ready, turn up the speakers! Expand
  12. ErwinK
    Apr 5, 2006
    8
    Solid, punchy, leaves you itching for more. The Vines are back. Never has a band been propelled to such hype, and then torn to shreds a couple of years later. The always wankerish Pitchfork seems to be too busy reviewing albums based on cultural references and algorithms in their own Cool-o-meter. Give the guys a break.... Nicholls is crazy, but he suffers from Aspergers. I think Solid, punchy, leaves you itching for more. The Vines are back. Never has a band been propelled to such hype, and then torn to shreds a couple of years later. The always wankerish Pitchfork seems to be too busy reviewing albums based on cultural references and algorithms in their own Cool-o-meter. Give the guys a break.... Nicholls is crazy, but he suffers from Aspergers. I think it's cool that they managed a third album after all THE COMPLETE CRAP self-inflicted and otherwise, they have gone through. Expand
  13. ED209
    Apr 7, 2006
    10
    To be honest...I never stopped liking this band. I thought "Winning Days" was a great record, even though it was substantially inferior to the debut. This LP proves, once again, what a great, unassuming little band they are...a little over a half-hour of tight, gritty RAWK MUSIC. No posturing, no fluff, just riffs and harmonies...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
  14. SuzieP
    May 27, 2006
    10
    the vines vision valley is one of the best album ever i bought the other 2 albums and there just as good!
  15. joris
    May 31, 2006
    9
    I just can't believe the critics, what do they have against the Vines?? Ok, there last album wasnt that good, but vision valley is definitely worth checking out. Plenty of awesome tunes here, check out the amzing Vision Valley, Gross Out, Candy Daze and Spaceship.
  16. SaraG
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    Yeah a 10. Because its one of the best album in this years. And because, The Vines still do it perfect. In a cool album
  17. KK
    Apr 11, 2006
    8
    Certainly not perfect, but not as bas as some reviewers/haters above say.To them the Vines are an awful poseur rock act, on contary to their crappy 'indie' beliefs (did somebody hear the word "pitchfork"?), rating this album low just by keeping in mind Nicholl's erratic behaviour at past times, as well because this album pales in comparison to some great Certainly not perfect, but not as bas as some reviewers/haters above say.To them the Vines are an awful poseur rock act, on contary to their crappy 'indie' beliefs (did somebody hear the word "pitchfork"?), rating this album low just by keeping in mind Nicholl's erratic behaviour at past times, as well because this album pales in comparison to some great indie-arter-than-thou violin music, rightey? Expand
  18. JoeC
    Apr 18, 2006
    9
    great comeback
  19. Ab
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    Its great album
  20. DelroyFunk
    Apr 26, 2006
    7
    decent enough album some good tunes, some bad
  21. ChrisC
    Apr 4, 2006
    9
    Great album. Spaceship is the bombdiggity.
  22. steveb
    May 16, 2006
    9
    i listen to a lot of good music, and, while snobs always disparage the vines, there's something about their sound that i just can't get enough of. this album not only rocks, but resonates with me emotionally. i've probably listened to it thirty times already.
  23. SarahH
    May 8, 2006
    10
    Vision Valley is absolutely worth a listen. (Over and over again.) Thie Vines have returned with a masterpiece, which showcases yet again Craig Nicholls ingenious talents. I don't see what could be said badly about this album, other than those who simply choose to compare The Vines to successful 90's rock bands. In regards to this album sounding too much like their previous, I Vision Valley is absolutely worth a listen. (Over and over again.) Thie Vines have returned with a masterpiece, which showcases yet again Craig Nicholls ingenious talents. I don't see what could be said badly about this album, other than those who simply choose to compare The Vines to successful 90's rock bands. In regards to this album sounding too much like their previous, I don't entirely agree. I feel a change, as obviously the band has gone through some changes in the past couple years, yet I also like the fact that it does go back to some of their original sounds. After all, that's what we liked them for in the first place. ;) Expand
  24. Mary_Jane83
    Jun 23, 2006
    10
    Vision Valley is a wonderfull album, we see that they still have a pure talent !! I still love them and f you do not know them, if you figured out a way to listen to Vision Valley you won't be dissapointed ;) that's for sure guys !!
  25. ChrisW
    Jun 25, 2006
    7
    I like most of the tracks, but what is up with the the slow songs? Holy Provolone going on there!
  26. Jahar
    Jun 29, 2006
    9
    I've loved this band ever since I first heard them. This album is pretty typical of the same sound they've always had and that's fine by me. "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." I just don't understand why you would limit one of your best songs to one minute long??
  27. Vinciane
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    Vision Valley is wonderful from start to end! U'll love it!! Each song is different but great! :D I recommand it to anyone who likes the vines the strokes blur the kinks or nirvana :) Check their official website ;)
  28. SaraV
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    Its a 10 because, Vision Valley its one of the best albums in this year
  29. jyotirmayad
    Apr 16, 2006
    8
    This is a good CD, but it sounds too much like their last CD "Winning Days." That's not bad, but I was hoping for some different kind of twist 3rd time around and not so much sticking to the same formula. After they mysteriously dropped out of the limelight when "Winning Days" was released, I am surprised that there even IS a third CD!" And like I said, this is a good CD! So I'm This is a good CD, but it sounds too much like their last CD "Winning Days." That's not bad, but I was hoping for some different kind of twist 3rd time around and not so much sticking to the same formula. After they mysteriously dropped out of the limelight when "Winning Days" was released, I am surprised that there even IS a third CD!" And like I said, this is a good CD! So I'm taking off my thinking cap and just grooving to the new music. Expand
  30. Aug 28, 2014
    9
    Pretty good album. Nothing special, but for fans of their first & second albums this will probably please you. It should. If it doesn't I'll come to your house and stab you.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Possibly the best 31 garage-rock minutes you'll hear this year.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    [Nicholls'] feral, melodic garage punk is refreshing. [7 Apr 2006, p.60]
  3. One wishes they would spend a little more time plowing through the album while kicking amps and knocking over mic stands rather than changing things up.