Visions - Grimes
Visions Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 116 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth release for the Canadian artist Claire Boucher is her first on the 4AD label.
  • Record Label: 4AD
  • Genre(s): Electronic, Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Club/Dance, Indie Electronic, Indie Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    91
    On her 4AD debut, Visions, she continues her march toward accessibility, rendering hazy, quixotic sketches into tangible, hook-heavy electro-pop.
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    86
    Visions is exactly what it sounds like: it's an aesthetic and conceptual vision, one utterly unique to Boucher, and it's both strange and satisfying.
  3. Feb 16, 2012
    80
    While Visions is unmistakably 2012 sonically in its references to R&B and hip-hop, it also fits remarkably gracefully into 4AD's impressive back catalogue of dream pop.
  4. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Fresh and surprisingly accessible despite its quirks, Visions is bewitching.
  5. Mar 26, 2012
    80
    Visions is beautifully conceived and executed, musically, lyrically and thematically.
  6. Feb 27, 2012
    70
    When it works, it makes for gloriously contradictory pop--it's just a shame that the formula isn't a little more consistent.
  7. 50
    It's a bummer that Visions ended up as a fever dream of a record: unnecessarily oblique, listlessly long (48 minutes!), and painfully shapeless.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    I haven't been this obsessed with an album for a while, at least since Panda Bear's "Person Pitch." While a few songs are obviously, immediately, and undeniably awesome ("Genesis," "Oblivion," "Nightmusic," and "Be a Body"), many others show themselves to be strangely and unexpectedly gorgeous upon repeat listens. "Colour of Moonlight" for instance, takes a while to let its creepy (in a good way) background arias worm their way into your brain. "Skin" seems almost minimalist at first, but actually packs the most real life emotional punch of any song on the album. Cannot recommend enough. Expand
  2. May 5, 2012
    10
    Claire's ethereal dream pop music style is setted up in this record, and maximized. Not much alike her last two, this is a pavement to a success, and the songs seems to be attached. 'Genesis' and 'Oblivion' sounds like featured stories. 'Circumambient', 'Symphonia IX (My Wait Is U)' and 'Visiting Statue' are the best recordings in this album. It is the year's best until now. Expand
  3. May 10, 2013
    10
    With a sweet and strong voice, Grimes explores things I never saw in another album. Her subtlety with the beats is hard to explain, but is wonderful to hear. Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    PURE synthetic bliss... Grimes has delivered what could be one of the best albums of 2012, why? It is beautifully mixed and you feel like you are in the sky while you are listening to her music. It is an easy listen making you want to listen it more and more, compulsively. I do not have any words to describe this album, just listen to it and you will know what I mean. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    wow, only 2 weeks ago i discover her,,, and Visions becomes one of my favorites, Amazing album - dreamy electro pop sounds, a little bit of rock.. but l love the most her voice... Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    One of those great records where you can put it on and every song is good enough so that you don't have to skip ahead. Ironically, the first song is the one I like the least so I usually start on the second track. The album melds together so effortlessly that it's almost like one big song. Her voice is so interesting and at first it feels like it doesn't have enough power but it emerges after multiple listens. Also this is an album best enjoyed listening on headphones. Is this album a perfect 10? No, but so few are and it's pretty damn close. Expand
  7. Apr 26, 2012
    6
    Despite the fact that the style which Grimes operates on the album "Vision" is not everyone-fall-in-love, I must admit that this is a pretty good record. Songs teeter on the borderline of for ex.dream pop - "Infinite Love Without Fulfillment" or "Nightmusic" - although most of the songs on record are very experimental creations such as "Circumambient", and the best "Symphonia IX." Collapse

See all 16 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.