• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jun 17, 2008
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 420 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 420

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. thehamster
    Jan 18, 2009
    3
    I can't stand to read and hear how everyone is tripping over themselves to say how 'wonderful' this album is. Lets be real here folks....its not. I love Coldplay and I think A Rush of Blood to the Head is one of the best albums ever put together, but I just can't get into Viva La Vida. The title track is terrible! You can't get away from it! It's I can't stand to read and hear how everyone is tripping over themselves to say how 'wonderful' this album is. Lets be real here folks....its not. I love Coldplay and I think A Rush of Blood to the Head is one of the best albums ever put together, but I just can't get into Viva La Vida. The title track is terrible! You can't get away from it! It's everywhere!!! And that right there is the problem. Are they making music because they like too, or are Coldplay making music to keep up with U2? They are definitely TRYING to be u2 and why? U2 have sucked balls ever since Pop! Coldplay's first two albums were very good, Xy & z wasn't bad.....but Viva is tired. They didn't change their sound, they just stopped playing drums and added some middle eastern synth pop loops and called it good. Its OK everyone......they made a shitty album. Lets hope they bring some drums and guitars next time and not use Brian Eno, the guy who produces all of U2's shit, ever again. Expand
  2. ChrisM.
    Jul 3, 2008
    0
    Who wants a quiet revolution! how about throw a little Genesis in the bag?
  3. LGF.
    Oct 25, 2008
    0
    this album is horrible! having 1 and only ONE hit-single/very catchy tune does not translate into a quality album, as a whole, this album flops, such a shame because Coldplay had a streak of good record going, doubt they care since they have sold millions but hey, im just saying.
  4. PetrK.
    Jun 17, 2008
    3
    Coldplay for several years clearlly struggling with writing a simple, strong, understandable song - where they are best. They made second album, boring with giutar layers and complicated melodies. Its oveproduced as well. Just wasting of their tallent and listeners time.
  5. AndrewP.
    Jun 26, 2008
    3
    I'm a dad, I'm 42 and wouldn't even listen two tracks of this album son.
  6. JohanE.
    Jul 7, 2008
    2
    Apart from Yes and the title track this album is the same old, bland coldplay. I'm not interested in love, peace and war. i just want coldplay to rock out with the amps on 11. I'm very disappointed. They are trying to be U2 and they will never be as good as them. I cant wait for the real best band in the world to return. OASIS - October 2008 - BEWARE.
  7. KateB.
    Aug 4, 2008
    2
    This is not good music. When will people see that Coldplay's music is void of any skill - Chris Martin's voice is dreary and depressing, there is nothing in the rhythm and the melodies are predictable and far too radio-friendly. It's so unbelievably dull. How is it getting these half-decent reviews? It's made for unlistening ears and car stereos, background music. This is not good music. When will people see that Coldplay's music is void of any skill - Chris Martin's voice is dreary and depressing, there is nothing in the rhythm and the melodies are predictable and far too radio-friendly. It's so unbelievably dull. How is it getting these half-decent reviews? It's made for unlistening ears and car stereos, background music. Basically, it's music to be ignored. Expand
  8. JohnG.
    Jun 27, 2008
    0
    Joy division > u2 radiohead > coldplay let's celebrate mediocrity!
  9. n.s.
    Nov 27, 2008
    1
    I hate Coldplay.
  10. Aug 17, 2010
    1
    I have zero respect for reviewers who would give this anything higher than a 4/10 and that's being generous. There isn't a single honest emotion on this album. It's not as if Coldplay have ever been good, but they actually sound like a tacky U2 tribute act now. This is strictly for the sorts of people who buy one album a year from Tesco.
  11. Nov 26, 2011
    2
    Boring and lame, Coldplay doesn't deserve to even be called rock. Their boring impossible hard to comprehend lyrics and stupid slow paced music and sound with no sign or root or any form of rock. I was completely pissed when they won a grammy over other talented rock artists who actually play rock, overall terrible album, boring, and who do I recommend this album to?.......Old People
  12. WichoP.
    Oct 28, 2008
    1
    I loved Coldplay. When X&Y came out I was a little skeptical towards the eclipse of the band, stating that this would be a new side of Coldplay, with evolved sounds and forms. Then came "Viva La Vida", from a Frida Kahlo painting. I'm sure she would spit at the disc... I am terribly disappointed with this album, that stains all that was done before. I bought it just because it was I loved Coldplay. When X&Y came out I was a little skeptical towards the eclipse of the band, stating that this would be a new side of Coldplay, with evolved sounds and forms. Then came "Viva La Vida", from a Frida Kahlo painting. I'm sure she would spit at the disc... I am terribly disappointed with this album, that stains all that was done before. I bought it just because it was the next one, and I wish I haven't done so... I hardly ever listen to it. There are a couple of songs to rescue, but they result at the average level... During his tour in Mexico with X&Y, Chris Martin promised that the next disc would have the best songs Coldplay would ever write... are those here? Expand
  13. JosephA
    Jun 27, 2008
    0
    Overrated. I Cant believe the stuff people like.
  14. DeclanM.
    Jul 7, 2008
    1
    This is the most disappointing album of the year 1 good song the rest is complete rubbish go buy radiohead in rainbows instead if you want real music coldplay have left me cold.
  15. RobertR
    Jun 24, 2008
    2
    I'm sure that 40 year old dad's around the world are overjoyed with this album as they mow the front lawn. If you want adventurous, listen to Eno and Arcade Fire - you'll find it there.
  16. CezarM.
    Jun 30, 2008
    1
    I am still trying to find in this album something to enjoy. I will give it a few more chances these days, maybe I will find tiny little bits from the old wonderful feeling I had hearing this band - of course, with their old albums. Disaster started with X&Y, now it's even worse, the "music" is so empty, meaningless. I can't think about another band that disappointed me as much I am still trying to find in this album something to enjoy. I will give it a few more chances these days, maybe I will find tiny little bits from the old wonderful feeling I had hearing this band - of course, with their old albums. Disaster started with X&Y, now it's even worse, the "music" is so empty, meaningless. I can't think about another band that disappointed me as much as Coldplay did with these new releases. I am sorry.... Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Given Eno’s quarter-century of Bono-fides, this isn’t surprising. Martin’s interests are frequently vague--on 'Lovers in Japan/Reign of Love' he sings about soldiers who must soldier on and runners who must run until the race is won. Seriously?
  2. The greatest thing Coldplay may have learned from Eno is his work ethic, as they demonstrate a focused concentration throughout this tight album--it's only 47 minutes yet covers more ground than "X&Y" and arguably "A Rush of Blood to the Head"--that turns Viva la Vida into something quietly satisfying.
  3. They try hard, Coldplay, but it just isn't enough; their fourth album might just be their best yet, but it's still a long way from being the epochal classic that Chris Martin is desperate to create.