Viva La Vida - Coldplay
Viva La Vida Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 370 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth album for the English band was produced by Brian Eno and Markus Dravs.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. The confident majesty of the music, however, belies how he and his bandmates have invigorated their rock-lite reign. [20 June 2008, p.65]
  2. So some bad habits die hard, but on every other level Viva la Vida... is an emphatic sucess--radical in it's own measured way but easy to embrace. [July 2008, p.95]
  3. Well, reports of the death of the old Coldplay have been much exaggerated.
  4. Coldplay have come up with the rare major-label pop record that stands to move a ton of copies even as it's at least a little bit challenging to its primary audience.
  5. It isn't perfect, but Viva la Vida re-establishes Coldplay's relevance in this era where every new indie rock band really wants to be Coldplay.
  6. 60
    While they fight shy of radical "Kid A"-style reinvention, hats should be doffed to Coldplay for at least having artistic cojones to mess with a winning formula. [July 2008, p.101]
  7. Given Eno’s quarter-century of Bono-fides, this isn’t surprising. Martin’s interests are frequently vague--on 'Lovers in Japan/Reign of Love' he sings about soldiers who must soldier on and runners who must run until the race is won. Seriously?

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 128
  1. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    Experimentation pays off. I wish more mainstream bands would try new things like coldplay do here. Beautiful album from start to finish. Coldplay have officially secured their spot as one of my favourite bands. Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    this is simply the best album of coldplay , i really really love the songs, it's lyrically thrilling and the music just amazing,. viva la vida is the song that made me love this band and discover their music, i can't get enough of this album, every single song is beautifull in every single way, long live the king (coldplay) Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    I think this album is a masterpiece and is definitely underrated. Some really beautiful songs like "Death and All His Friends", "42", "Cemeteries of London" and "Lost". I really could name any song. There are no weak ones that stand out. Coldplay strikes again Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    A great album, full of surprises. You can feel yourself in french revolution once more. It has a nice sense of continuation and a lot of experimentation Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    This is an Amazing album. Coldplay performs some of their best work on this album, of course there are a couple of what I may call "fillers" but it was such a good album. I know that there was however some long time CP fans from back in the days of Parachutes and Rush of Blood to the Head that were not a fan of this feeling like some of the music sounding "different" however I totally disagree, besides what's wrong with a bit of change from time to time? I would defiantly recommend this album; my favorite songs were "Life in Technicolor", "Lovers In Japan/Reign of Love" and "Viva La Vida" (some very powerful lyrics right there!). Expand
  6. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    A truly remarkable album that shows Coldplay as one of the best experimental rock bands out there.

    This is probably their finest hour yet.
    Coldplay has crafted a wholesome album that sounds uniform yet entirely unique from their previous sound.

    What each listener gets is not just a good collection but a musical journey that sonically varies from song to song creating a beautiful experience. There's no real tale because the concept is to take one on an adventure. Chris Martin probably has poured himself out the most on this album, spinning tales of war, love, and pain. On the title track, Martin describes himself as a king in his past life over a background that sounds like the theme music for the appearance of a celestial body. Violet Hill features shredding guitar riffs against the piano and Martin's megaphone-like verses.

    But even some of those verses really stop Viva La Vida from becoming a classic. As much as the sound is sonic majesty, Chris Martin seems at a loss for words and at times weak against the superior background. His topical interests are as Paste Magazine says it, vague.

    Take out all of that and you have one of the greatest 47-minute musical experiences of a lifetime. However, there is no doubt that Viva La Vida is far away from becoming the definitive Coldplay album.
    Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2010
    1
    I have zero respect for reviewers who would give this anything higher than a 4/10 and that's being generous. There isn't a single honest emotion on this album. It's not as if Coldplay have ever been good, but they actually sound like a tacky U2 tribute act now. This is strictly for the sorts of people who buy one album a year from Tesco. Expand

See all 128 User Reviews