Viva La Vida - Coldplay
Viva La Vida Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 377 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth album for the English band was produced by Brian Eno and Markus Dravs.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. The confident majesty of the music, however, belies how he and his bandmates have invigorated their rock-lite reign. [20 June 2008, p.65]
  2. So some bad habits die hard, but on every other level Viva la Vida... is an emphatic sucess--radical in it's own measured way but easy to embrace. [July 2008, p.95]
  3. Well, reports of the death of the old Coldplay have been much exaggerated.
  4. Coldplay have come up with the rare major-label pop record that stands to move a ton of copies even as it's at least a little bit challenging to its primary audience.
  5. It isn't perfect, but Viva la Vida re-establishes Coldplay's relevance in this era where every new indie rock band really wants to be Coldplay.
  6. 60
    While they fight shy of radical "Kid A"-style reinvention, hats should be doffed to Coldplay for at least having artistic cojones to mess with a winning formula. [July 2008, p.101]
  7. Given Eno’s quarter-century of Bono-fides, this isn’t surprising. Martin’s interests are frequently vague--on 'Lovers in Japan/Reign of Love' he sings about soldiers who must soldier on and runners who must run until the race is won. Seriously?

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 128
  1. FelipeP.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Their best album yet, fantastic textures.
  2. EdgeTriggerCoolCat
    Sep 4, 2008
    10
    This is a instant classic, at first listen it is different than Coldplay's previous work. Like any great band their style is improving over time, like U2, The Beatles. By the 3 listen of the entire CD, I can stop listening, it is a work of art. Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    Experimentation pays off. I wish more mainstream bands would try new things like coldplay do here. Beautiful album from start to finish. Coldplay have officially secured their spot as one of my favourite bands. Expand
  4. DavidS.
    Jun 20, 2008
    9
    A very good album that I am enjoying more and more. I would probably rank Violent Hill the weakest song. A great album to listen to from start to end with some nice instrumental tracks. At the end of the day, this is a pop album that should appeal to their huge fan base. Expand
  5. MattG
    Jun 30, 2008
    8
    I'm 40, not a dad, and think Arcade Fire the most brilliant band this decade. And whilst this album doesn't match the greatness of AF, it has many moments of pure pop bliss. I feel sorry for those who can't find at least some enjoyment within, and for the morons who give it 0 - no doubt without even listening to it - just go put on your no name records and stop wasting our time. Expand
  6. SamV.
    Jul 7, 2008
    7
    Coldplay return to the originality of Parachutes and A Rush of Blood to the Head, albeit in a different direction. A welcome break from the near pure commercialism of X&Y. Expand
  7. JohnG.
    Jun 27, 2008
    0
    Joy division > u2 radiohead > coldplay let's celebrate mediocrity!

See all 128 User Reviews