Vol 3: (The Subliminal Verses)

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 202 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 202

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JayP
    Aug 6, 2008
    10
    Without a doubt a staple in Metal and Music history, the best of the bands current Trilogy this album sets a new bar for the band. Merging both a Dark heaviness with a even darker sense of melody this albums covers both the areas of heavy metal and of passionate expression. This album should not go unheard and for any serious fan of metal or hard rock should not go un-owned.
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    How this album is rated so low by critics is something I will never know. This album is simply one of the best metal albums out there. Slipknot has established themselves as the leaders of Nu-Metal and Vol. 3 is nothing short of a master piece.
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    Where to begin? This album is great, but there are a few songs that I felt had no place in a Slipknot album. However, that's only three songs. The rest are all hardcore songs, and anyone who says that its wrong to use Acoustic guitar is ignorant, as they are not just a bunch of clowns hopping on stage for us; they are artists, and this was an experiment , a successful one to say theWhere to begin? This album is great, but there are a few songs that I felt had no place in a Slipknot album. However, that's only three songs. The rest are all hardcore songs, and anyone who says that its wrong to use Acoustic guitar is ignorant, as they are not just a bunch of clowns hopping on stage for us; they are artists, and this was an experiment , a successful one to say the least. The best song on this album imo has to be The Blister Exists, it makes you get up and headbang because its so hardcore! And yes, I am a real metal head, I listen to all the good thrash bands so don't say I'm a poser fools. Pulse of the Maggots and Three Nil have some awesome percussion and guitar, Vermillion is a two part song that is really awesome, having weird sound effects and Corey's insane vocals. The songs Duality and Before I Forget are the two songs most commonly heard on the radio, but they are still pretty awesome, if not a little formulaic. (More so Before I Forget then Duality, I like Duality quite a bit.) So what are the songs I didn't like? Well I don't care that they went into Acoustic Guitar, but the songs The Virus of Life, Circle, and Danger-Keep Away are all very slow non Slipknot sounding songs and they just don't click with me, I couldn't listen to Danger Keep Away very long, because of the inane whispering as well haha. The song Welcome is pretty good as well I forgot to mention, and Opium of the People is awesome but needs to be longer, too short with those awesome guitar riffs. Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    In this album, Slipknot show a different side to the previous 2 albums. The intensity remains, but in different ways. The Blister Exists is a brutal drum-fest, whilst Circle is a calm, sad, melodic effort showing diversity in the band (something that is often not recognised with Slipknot)
  5. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    I left a better taste that Iowa the instruments and the lyrics are very decent this time, no clutter, are exepcional and not lose their hard style.
    What I like the album is that his side took more meodico and combine his great chaotic style and have released an excellent work.
    The only bad thing is that Corey's voice sounds very hoarse, which had seen a bit sick. It's a nice touch
    I left a better taste that Iowa the instruments and the lyrics are very decent this time, no clutter, are exepcional and not lose their hard style.
    What I like the album is that his side took more meodico and combine his great chaotic style and have released an excellent work.
    The only bad thing is that Corey's voice sounds very hoarse, which had seen a bit sick.
    It's a nice touch that, but this band has proven that they can be more than just a noisy band.
    Well Slipknot.
    Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    One of the greatest modern metal bands in history pumped out another mayhem fuelled album superbly performed produced and composed. I can't wait to see what they do next
  7. Feb 18, 2014
    9
    Creative. Melodic. Original. Slipknot's maximum potential in one album. One of their best album (if not the best one). It is mastered with brutality and uplifting emotions of sadness, introversion and retrospect. Definitely worth listening to, especially Prelude 3.0, Circle and Welcome.
  8. BobE
    Jun 30, 2004
    2
    This cd is awful, with the exception of two songs. Rick Rubin has really dumbed down the talent. I was really dissappointed
  9. bhal
    Sep 4, 2004
    0
    this cd was not slipknot they sold out, once one of my favorite bands is now a band i loathe!
  10. Brian
    Aug 27, 2004
    5
    Ah!WTF went wrong here!?Slipknot has traded in their B.C Richs' for acustic guitars.The songs also have lost their intensity,and the "in your face" lyrics that were on IOWA and their ST.I was even more disapointed that this came from Rick Rubin of all people.Very disapointing...
  11. RobbieD.
    Apr 13, 2005
    0
    wow slipknot is a joke.......only freaks listen to this shit....
  12. ZachL
    Apr 27, 2005
    0
    things should be said about just how horrible this band really is, but i don't have the time or energy to waste on this piece of horse shit you call an album...
  13. JohnB.
    May 9, 2005
    0
    when i first heard this cd, i laughed, thinking it was a complete joke. no one could "write" (for lack of better terms) this music and think they are doing anything for anybody. well i stand corrected, they are a very serious band out there to keep little tasteless media whores happy by trying to buy records that aren't "mainstream." this album is not only mainstream, it's when i first heard this cd, i laughed, thinking it was a complete joke. no one could "write" (for lack of better terms) this music and think they are doing anything for anybody. well i stand corrected, they are a very serious band out there to keep little tasteless media whores happy by trying to buy records that aren't "mainstream." this album is not only mainstream, it's mainstream shit. for the love of god, please tell this band that they suck Expand
  14. Maggotforever
    Sep 26, 2006
    4
    Slipknot rocks! but i have to say that this album i softer than iowa and that sucks im not saying slipknot sucks im saying that they sould be more like they were on iowa cuz' thats there coolest album! cya at the next slipknot concert in copenhagen my fellow maggots
  15. Dec 13, 2012
    3
    A sold-out band which thinks to make metal, but it doesn't. 8 BAND MEMBERS? A RECORD PLAYER? Is that a joke? A percussion is useless, IMAGINE 2 PERCUSSIONS, like Slipknot have!
  16. DD
    Jun 1, 2004
    9
    awesome cd. theyve grown up without losing the balls
  17. chuckyo
    Jun 5, 2004
    8
    this cd is definitely worth buying; it's both intense and catchy
  18. AmandaB
    Jun 5, 2004
    2
    I was totally disappointed with this album. I am a huge fan of Iowa, so I was shocked to hear this CD. I think that they sold out. You can't wear crazy masks, call yourself metal, and sing girly songs!
  19. Kris
    Jun 5, 2004
    8
    This album, for the most part, achieves a lot of things. It's more accessible, more experimental, and more musically varied, with a good deal of progressive rock influences, and quite a bit of melody infused in the songs. The usual Slipknot fare is here (The Blister Exists, Opium of the People, Welcome), while more experimental pieces such as Prelude 3.0, Danger - Keep Away (with This album, for the most part, achieves a lot of things. It's more accessible, more experimental, and more musically varied, with a good deal of progressive rock influences, and quite a bit of melody infused in the songs. The usual Slipknot fare is here (The Blister Exists, Opium of the People, Welcome), while more experimental pieces such as Prelude 3.0, Danger - Keep Away (with it's surprisingly un-Slipknot vocal harmonies), and the hauntingly gothic Vermilion, probably the best track on this CD. There's also a couple of acoustic tracks here, which some people will (not unjustified) label as sounding a little too much like Stone Sour. Overall, Vol. 3 showcases a more mature and experimental Slipknot; unfortunately, some of their fans will undoubtedly mistake maturity for selling out, which is certainly not the case since Slipknot can still be as heavy as they want to be. It's using this aggression in a more controlled setting that raises them above the usual nu-metal fare. Expand
  20. garyh
    Jun 5, 2004
    10
    not like the first two albums. Very good.
  21. JohnE
    Jun 2, 2004
    10
    I loved Slipknot and Iowa, and at first was shocked and disappointed with Vol. 3 BUT once I got over MY desire for another Iowa (which is a kickbutt brutal album) and enjoyed the album for what they wanted to do and say with it - it rocked. While I will always enjoy Heritic Anthem in my computer room alone, it was awesome to her my wife actually ask me to put in Circle/Duality/Vermillion I loved Slipknot and Iowa, and at first was shocked and disappointed with Vol. 3 BUT once I got over MY desire for another Iowa (which is a kickbutt brutal album) and enjoyed the album for what they wanted to do and say with it - it rocked. While I will always enjoy Heritic Anthem in my computer room alone, it was awesome to her my wife actually ask me to put in Circle/Duality/Vermillion 2 downstairs where we could both appreciate 'em (with beer, of course). Expand
  22. Josh.
    Jun 11, 2004
    9
    While I haven't seen any reviews posted here yet, it puts a sour taste in my mouth - as I'm sure it does other enlightened souls - to think about how many times the word "sellout" will pop up when they are finally posted. As someone who hates mainstream radio with passion and who owns some of the most extreme records ever peformed by humans, let me just go ahead and set the While I haven't seen any reviews posted here yet, it puts a sour taste in my mouth - as I'm sure it does other enlightened souls - to think about how many times the word "sellout" will pop up when they are finally posted. As someone who hates mainstream radio with passion and who owns some of the most extreme records ever peformed by humans, let me just go ahead and set the record straight: the notion that this record is soft or angling for better sales or any of that is collossal horseshit. In a perfect world, fans would realize that stretching you creative muscles or trying to grow beyond your genre is not "selling out", a term I doubt most of its many young users even know the true meaning of. It's supposed to be about the music, PERIOD - not radio station is playing it, or how many times the video is being played on MTV, etc. Form your own opinion. Listen to the music. And friends, let me tell you, the music here is frequently astonishing, teeming with skill and an unabashed desire to please. "The Blister Exists" and "Three Nil", which come right off the bat, are easily two of the band's best songs ever, and things don't slow down much from there. When they do get slow (yes, there are some ballads), it feels not all like a stunt or ploy, for the results are polished and catchy enough to sell the band's intentions behind them wholeheartedly. This is music made by a band that wants to GROW, not stay planted in their idols' shadows forever. Ferocious, addictive, blunt, and even funny, Vol. 3 is a messy triumph that rides over its two or three weaks tracks like a speeding train. Stay in IOWA if you wish, but for the adverturous, Vol. 3 is a great place to be. Expand
  23. Jessicam
    Jun 15, 2004
    9
    i would have to say i am impressed with slipknot i have been listening 2 the insance and vilolent music for about the bast 2-3 years and this beats all with there new and imporoved songs cory has outdone himslef with his sing as he did in his other band Stone sour keep it up guys you ROCK!
  24. ClaudiaM
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    I think this album is as good as their first two or if not better.
  25. davida
    Jun 21, 2004
    10
    i like all the songs, and i hope slipknot doen't break up because they would be losing a lot of fans who love them and their music, like me for instance.
  26. jordanp
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    perfection. again. anyone who rates this disc anything less than 10 has no idea what true metal music is all about. this is it. Slipknot has proved once again that they are the most talented, hardcore band out there. any "sell-out" talk I've heard so far is said because of the slower tracks, which is only from people who obviously haven't been listening to metal for very long or perfection. again. anyone who rates this disc anything less than 10 has no idea what true metal music is all about. this is it. Slipknot has proved once again that they are the most talented, hardcore band out there. any "sell-out" talk I've heard so far is said because of the slower tracks, which is only from people who obviously haven't been listening to metal for very long or are just straight up posers. how is growing as a band and producing the best music any artist in the band has created to date selling out? most people who claim "sell-out" on this album are probably limp bizkit fans anyways, so what the hell would they really know? Expand
  27. AlbertoG
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    I liked this CD since I am a big fan of Slipknot and love every single song since the their first album and love a their work I hope they keep together and make more music
  28. ryans
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    this is slipknot's best....if i hear one more person say that they sold out i am going to personally hunt u down and rip ur balls off...grow up...its not about being the heavierst metal out there they are some of the most talented musicians alive to date....a few songs i think that are worth noting for you people who say they "sold out" are: the blister exists, three nil, opium of this is slipknot's best....if i hear one more person say that they sold out i am going to personally hunt u down and rip ur balls off...grow up...its not about being the heavierst metal out there they are some of the most talented musicians alive to date....a few songs i think that are worth noting for you people who say they "sold out" are: the blister exists, three nil, opium of the people, welcome" listen to those ones..they still got it in them to be the heaviest band ever....they also show that they can be creative and dynamic (the nameless) which happens to be my favourite song on the CD...they never sold out, not even close...i was a slipknot fan before, now they are my fave this album kicks ass go buy it right now...i wish this rating scale went higher than 10 Expand
  29. DevG
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Man this rocked!!! Adicting, man.
  30. jacobf
    Jul 5, 2004
    8
    i thought it was better than iowa but i wished it had more fast drumming song didn't like the slow songs
  31. DiegoT
    Jun 28, 2004
    9
    It's like the second 1,awesome and true music
  32. KILL
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    Big departure from previous efforts, but still packs a punch!
  33. BobC
    Jul 17, 2004
    7
    The slow songs reaaaallly suck, if I want good slow songs I'll pop In Radiohead, the rest is FUCK, the best song is 13 no doubt. Get it!
  34. joshd
    Aug 8, 2004
    8
    this cd is awesome. one of slipknots best 1s. listen 2 all the tracks and c wut the guys from iowa have.
  35. LiamQ
    Jul 30, 2004
    9
    People moaning about slow songs?? it cannot be thrash death metal all the way through, if it was all heavy it would be dull, I did not like Slipknot at all but this album shows so much maturity in their music, i think its superb
  36. NathanT
    Sep 4, 2004
    10
    This album shows that slipknot can go in any direction it chooses and still do it better than anyone else out there.
  37. AD12
    Sep 13, 2004
    10
    Slipknot is one of the greatest nu-metal bands ever! Their third album is different than previous ones. However, duality is just as great as left behind and wait and bleed... All of their 3 albums are masterpieces in their time...
  38. TylerB
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    By far their best album
  39. JoshS
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    Its a brilliant album with a good mixture of pop metal brought in but with very similar thrashy music and hints of mature progression into a settled alternative rock/metal . overall it shows theyre capability of expanding shows their maturity its a shame this is their last album
  40. paulm
    Nov 21, 2004
    4
    While it kept my interests for the first handful of songs i soon become disgusted with its accoustic garbage and nickelback-esque "soulful" lyrics. Not a valid purchase by any means.
  41. GR
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    This is by far their best album yet. As rolling stone said, they've finally married some beauty to their beast. The guitar is thrashing as usual with complex riffs and solos, and Corey Taylor doesn't scream every lyric this time and he shows that yes, he CAN sing and he can sing very well. Great album
  42. mrstabby
    Dec 5, 2004
    8
    i have to say this rules, its a pity they arent doing another one because they may have become a great band, this is ten times better than that iowa shit, i dont give 2 shts if theyve mellowed out, mellow is good, they couldve been better than metallica. cunts
  43. DanielR
    Dec 7, 2004
    10
    One of the most unique CD's i have ever heard. Unlike anything ever before. Great sound - they have evolved from the basic heavy guitar riffs and into something new.
  44. LangstonC
    Jun 13, 2004
    9
    I absolutely loved this CD. Perhaps their best, in my opinion. It mixes the heavy tracks of Iowa into some new ones ("The Blister Exists", "Before I Forget"), with some melody with Vermilion parts 1 and 2, and Circle. It even has the obligatory creepy track, The Virus of Life.
  45. grondidavid
    Jun 7, 2004
    9
    slipknot rule
  46. ChrisS
    Jun 4, 2004
    6
    Better in terms of musical diversity yet it lacks the energy of the band's previous offerings.
  47. ZackJ
    Dec 28, 2004
    9
    This album was bad! My most favorite part about it was duality when they where busting out windows and all that stuff. One other thing that was really kool was when the evil clown (with a baseball bat) was helping the drummer play drum (but on a larger drum.)Yet i have watch the music video soo many time that i'd reather talk about it than the real CD itself.
  48. Legion
    Jun 28, 2004
    9
    I still think their best CD is Iowa, but even though Iowa is my favourite i think that "Vol 3. (The Subliminal Verses) is real close to become my new favourite though. Their style of music seems to be a bit diffrent, but Slipknot is still the best. Always has and always will. So, the CD "Vol. 3 (The Subliminal Verses)" is worth the price (in my o'pinion). So buy the fucking album.
  49. MattW
    Nov 7, 2004
    9
    the Self Titled and Iowa kick the shit outta this CD in terms of heavines and brutal lyrics but its not at all a bad cd its just different, so if you couldnt take slipknot before because its so hard and harsh then you might wanna take a look at this, but if you liked ur slipknot the way it was and arnt apt to change
  50. JPPeterson
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    This album is up there. and by up there i mean way up there. i have been listening to it all summer long and still can't get enough. it may be more mellow but the lyrics and guitar and drums and singing seem fake. how do people say it sucks. you suck
  51. ChrisM
    Oct 15, 2004
    9
    This album is great. It's much better than their previous efforts. The Subliminal Verses shows a that Slipknot are more than capable of structuring a song with more than just a mish mash of noise. People complain about the slower songs and say they suck yet they give no reason other than "thEy suK cOZ dEy r SloW!" These slower songs such as Circle and Vermillion Pt 2 and both This album is great. It's much better than their previous efforts. The Subliminal Verses shows a that Slipknot are more than capable of structuring a song with more than just a mish mash of noise. People complain about the slower songs and say they suck yet they give no reason other than "thEy suK cOZ dEy r SloW!" These slower songs such as Circle and Vermillion Pt 2 and both haunting and beautiful at the same time. Duality and Vermillion demonstrate a blend between rock and metal and most of the others are fast paced and generally awesome songs such as Three Nil, The Nameless and Pulse of The Maggots. Expand
  52. Opeth(wreath)
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    Great album, really good metal in it mixing in with melody i think its there best album. Im hoping for more like this.
  53. DanielL
    Mar 8, 2005
    9
    Well isn't this metal? A band that can combine quiet and extremely heavy metal into one song surely deserves some credit. My favorite has to be "the blister exists" but apart from all else, slipknot deserves a much earned rest. This album surely would have tested them as much as it rocked the music industry in the US of A. Deftones MAY have a little competition here.
  54. pulse_of_the_maggots
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    Yeah...This album kicked the siht out of most metal albums.I recommended it to all of my friends and i recommend it to you too. Brilliant use of guitars and base but the lyrics are a slight let down from the better than 10/10 album iowa.
  55. Thatguywhoratedthisalbum
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    Notice how nobody has given this album a low rating yet? That's because it's some of the best stuff out there right now. Both the insane guitar skills shown in "Pulse of the Maggots" and "Welcome" and the very nice drumming in "Three Nil" and "The Blister Exists" show that Slipknot are musical geniuses.
  56. ElvisPresley
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    You cant trust a frickin reviewer with music...especially like "alternative press"...its what u like not some old guy in a room with a boombox...I think this CD KICKS ASS! and I like all the songs! if u like Slipknot go buy the frickin CD!
  57. dustinm
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    awesome cd, only problem is the horrible song "Circle" it has no melody at all, nor is it loud
  58. ToddH
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    this cd is a 10 - 10. who cares what those piece of shit guys that work for magazines say. they dont even listen to this shit so they should have no say. for now on when they decide to review a cd they need to ask the fans or at least the people who listen to metal. not some gay ass fuck head who beats off to elton john.
  59. WayneK
    May 3, 2005
    9
    brilliant-more mainstream than the other albums but still for the hardcore fan!
  60. MegalomaniacalTab
    May 24, 2005
    10
    Slipknot have gotten better and better each album, people say its more pop-inflected, what the fuck?! there aint single shitty pop group who come up with anything that even matches Slipknot, they're the most underrated metal band for talent!!mick n jim are 2 of the best guitarists ever!joey is just off the charts as far as a drummer goes,sid is a wicked DJ!craig is just a Slipknot have gotten better and better each album, people say its more pop-inflected, what the fuck?! there aint single shitty pop group who come up with anything that even matches Slipknot, they're the most underrated metal band for talent!!mick n jim are 2 of the best guitarists ever!joey is just off the charts as far as a drummer goes,sid is a wicked DJ!craig is just a genius,clown is insane but also talented n corey taylor has the best voice in the music industry,n chris fehn is talented,in my eyes they're the most talented musicians to come from a town that noone had ever even heard of before slipknot!!i got 1 thing to say to people who have never listened to slipnot/or have never liked them, TO SHUT UP AND STOP WASTING EVERYONES TIME!! this album is an indication that they're getting better as musicians and they're NOT afraid to do what they wanna do!! WE MAGGOTS ARE AN ARMY!!!! Expand
  61. BigDave
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    This album is so awesome-i had all the usual assumptions that slipknot were talentless freaks who screamed over crappy power chords. but how wrong was i!! this album is miles better than IOWA and it should be owned by anyone who has an interest in proper music. genius.
  62. [Anonymous]
    Aug 28, 2005
    0
    I honestly can't listen to this crap with a straight face. They're a terrible band on all fronts. This isn't an album. It is, however, a perfect example of how stupid some record companies are. But if you tasteless goth freaks are buying it, go ahead. Someone tell Slipknot they they're making fools of themselves, for their sake and ours.
  63. Corpus
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    The best album ive heard, this album has hardcore headbanging songs and songs with acoustic melodies. it has everything, all you fuckers who think this album sucks need to realise what a proper band sounds like, and it dosent get any better than this.
  64. Tyler
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    This album fucking roxors. This is some of the best musical talent out there in the rock/metal world, no matter what those soft-ass pop folk will say. Dynamic contrasts in some of the songs are awesome.
  65. VassiliZ
    Dec 24, 2005
    10
    This CD rox and i am listening their music right now.....just cant wait for VOL.4
  66. JonathanG
    Dec 28, 2005
    10
    Slipknot is one of my favorite bands. i think that this is truly ther best album ever.YOU GUYS KICK ASS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  67. asdf;lkj
    Feb 21, 2006
    10
    Amazing Band. Much more melodic then their previous albums, with amazing singing from the lead singer Corey Taylor. Accoustic songs on the album will apease just about anyone. Fantastic Drummer also. 10/10
  68. DanielM
    Mar 16, 2006
    9
    Awesome metal album
  69. Cooldude
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    I love fcukign love this bant thats the best band ever im fucking great fan !!! Do not mess and lame whith Slipknot the Best ban on WORLD!!! GOOD ALbumj great the best ever !!! !..! Best band ever!! 4 ever
  70. Cody
    Apr 26, 2006
    9
    Their best album to date!!! I suggest buying the special edition that comes with a bonus disc!!! Slipknot rules!!!
  71. patc
    May 16, 2006
    10
    this is an awsome album!anyone who doesn't like this album doesn't like slipknot
  72. DeMarcusB
    Jun 1, 2006
    0
    Slipknot's Vol 3: (The Subliminal Verses, is an overall pleonastic experience. Listening to this was one of the most profuse moments of my entire life. This album is trite. Don't but this.
  73. thomasw
    Feb 2, 2007
    9
    not as good as Slipknot but definetly one hell of an album! you've got to love three nil, man. kick ass!
  74. jackb
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    This is their best album so far. The strange thing about it is the lack of a certain four letter word, usualy freely used by Corey Taylor. It has an interesting composition of loud and quiet, making it a very memorable album. It gives the impression that the band have really matured, and that their next album will really be something special. Stay (sic) my maggots.
  75. JustinB.
    Dec 2, 2007
    9
    This is a great album and hopefully a sign of things to come from Slipknot.
  76. BigPip
    Mar 14, 2008
    7
    Firstly, a message to DeMarcus B: pro·fuse
  77. TannerC.
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    The solos,lyrics,and pretty much everything about this album is amasing.
  78. NickT
    May 25, 2009
    9
    When I first listened to slipknot, I started with Iowa like most. I liked the album very much; more than any of the other nu-metal at the time. The album was intense, raw, and powerful. I then heard their self titled album, but I did not enjoy it as much as Iowa. I suspect that this is because the two sounded familiar. This third album, however, is a horse of a different color. Now, i When I first listened to slipknot, I started with Iowa like most. I liked the album very much; more than any of the other nu-metal at the time. The album was intense, raw, and powerful. I then heard their self titled album, but I did not enjoy it as much as Iowa. I suspect that this is because the two sounded familiar. This third album, however, is a horse of a different color. Now, i know most fans will label this as a sell out. But in my opinion, this album is a breath of fresh air and really is a step up. It shows that this group is very talented, and not a one trick pony. I was also impressed with its variety, with very dark and heavy songs like "the virus of life" and others which are more soft such as "danger - keep away". I enjoyed it very much, my favorite so far. Expand
  79. Aug 24, 2014
    9
    A more melodic Slipknot album with a more harmonic sound. In it the sound no longer beats you over the head with loud anger and aggression (not an insult). There are still plenty of heavy tracks, but no longer are they laced with excessive profanity or references to the devil that at times felt thrown in for shock value. It overall feels like a much more mature work from the band, soA more melodic Slipknot album with a more harmonic sound. In it the sound no longer beats you over the head with loud anger and aggression (not an insult). There are still plenty of heavy tracks, but no longer are they laced with excessive profanity or references to the devil that at times felt thrown in for shock value. It overall feels like a much more mature work from the band, so parents might not be so horrified with their out-of-place feeling teenagers listening to it.

    That's not to say they're Slipknot's only audience. In fact the band's work has always had the potential for a much wider audience than it already has, but that would require people to get over the stereotypes associated with this kind of music. This album does a lot to help that.

    Not only is the style and tone different than previous albums, but the lyrical themes are as well. The stuff can get pretty dark. Songs like The Nameless, The Virus of Life, and the Vermillion tracks focus on darker aspects of "love" such as obsession and worship. When the sound isn't heavy it can be creepy, but it all feels intelligent throughout.

    It really is one of the best nu-metal albums out there, and Slipknot shows that it can experiment with it's sound without sacrificing what so many fans love about them in the first place. It shows growth and a different maturity than the previous two albums. I give it a 9.2/10.
    Expand
  80. Oct 24, 2014
    7
    Overall, It's a pretty solid album with a ton of hits through out. Working with Rubin really helped unlock their creativity and I think it shows. Definitely a must listen to for any metal fan.
  81. Sep 9, 2015
    8
    Definitely good. Not as dark as previous albums, but I could still get an emotional connection with it. Definitely worth buying it. Not my first pick, but definitely not my last.
  82. Sep 16, 2015
    10
    For "Vol 3: (The Subliminal Verses)", Slipknot changed their music style. They started to use ballads and more melodic metal. Some people say that this is was Slipknots first mediocre, even bad, album. I think this is their best album at this moment. The album still have it's heavy moments (such as "The Blister Exists" and "Before I Forget"), but also softer songs (such as "Circle" andFor "Vol 3: (The Subliminal Verses)", Slipknot changed their music style. They started to use ballads and more melodic metal. Some people say that this is was Slipknots first mediocre, even bad, album. I think this is their best album at this moment. The album still have it's heavy moments (such as "The Blister Exists" and "Before I Forget"), but also softer songs (such as "Circle" and "Vermilion Pt. 2"). I highly recommend this album, but if you want more like the albums "Slipknot" or "Iowa, prepare to be disappointed. Expand
  83. Oct 28, 2015
    10
    I was surprised when i listened some of the songs from this album for the first time,i didn't expect slipknot to release songs like vermillion pt 2 and circle,but i **** loved them.
    This is the band most experimental work, it sounds great, it's creative and like we're used to, it doesn't sound like anything else that the band has released. Slipknot is truly one of the best bands in metal history.
  84. Jan 12, 2016
    10
    Vol. 3: (The Subliminal Verses) by Slipknot. A german review.
    Wahnsinn. Das dritte Werk der Maskenmänner bietet alles was die Fans sich erhofft haben.
    Mehr ist dazu nicht zu sagen. Wahrscheinlich das beste Werk bis dato: 10/10
  85. Jan 23, 2016
    8
    The feel of this album is so scratchy. I'm not if its Corey's vocals or the guitar tones or both, but the way it was mixed makes it sound like a constant raspy voice. I think it was a really nice touch. The Blister exists and Welcome are very heavy songs, but for completely different reason for why songs like (sic) and Disasterpiece were heavy. Slipknots previous work seemed like it wasThe feel of this album is so scratchy. I'm not if its Corey's vocals or the guitar tones or both, but the way it was mixed makes it sound like a constant raspy voice. I think it was a really nice touch. The Blister exists and Welcome are very heavy songs, but for completely different reason for why songs like (sic) and Disasterpiece were heavy. Slipknots previous work seemed like it was told from more of a certain perspective, while songs like the blister exists feel more cinematic and mature. Not to say the first two albums weren't filled with some cinematic exposition, Vol 3 just feels like it tells a bigger story. The Virus of life kind of deviates from the rest of the album and may be one of Slipknots most underrated tracks. It's extremely fleshed out and it has the visceral vibe that the previous albums wore like a tattoo across the forehead. The Nameless is one of my all time favourite slipknot tracks (just putting that out there). duality, before i forget and vermilion also star Expand
  86. Mar 13, 2016
    8
    I saw comments like "only freaks listen to this s**t' and "But if you tasteless goth freaks are buying it, go ahead."... Seriously, how much Justin Bieber fans are here? The people you are calling FREAKS are METAL FANS. Saw comments like "You can't wear crazy masks, call yourself metal, and sing girly songs!" too. If you think that the band's sound have become softer than their first twoI saw comments like "only freaks listen to this s**t' and "But if you tasteless goth freaks are buying it, go ahead."... Seriously, how much Justin Bieber fans are here? The people you are calling FREAKS are METAL FANS. Saw comments like "You can't wear crazy masks, call yourself metal, and sing girly songs!" too. If you think that the band's sound have become softer than their first two albums, please check the album "A Thousand Suns" from Linkin Park and after their older albums to see what CHANGE remains. I maybe didn't loved this album, not because it is softer than the first two albums, but it is very good! Duality and Before I Forget are awesome songs! Expand
  87. Apr 17, 2016
    9
    The best Slipknot album. The band's best songs, simply put: Duality and Vermilion are classics, and I don't think Slipknot has ever written something better than Before I Forget. Vol. 3 is more melodic than anything they've done so far, and that's a good thing, and while some of the songs don't seem to fit in too much, the overall experience is quite great. Artistically speaking I thinkThe best Slipknot album. The band's best songs, simply put: Duality and Vermilion are classics, and I don't think Slipknot has ever written something better than Before I Forget. Vol. 3 is more melodic than anything they've done so far, and that's a good thing, and while some of the songs don't seem to fit in too much, the overall experience is quite great. Artistically speaking I think it's their absolute peak. Expand
  88. Jul 27, 2016
    9
    Vol. 3 is second only to the self-titled album as Slipknot's best release, in my opinion. If you are more happy with full-on brutal heaviness, then Iowa will be more up your alley, but for those of us with a bit more acceptance of mainstream pop and rock sounds, this is the perfect album.

    Prelude 3.0 immediately sets a slower but still dark tone, although this is blown out of the water
    Vol. 3 is second only to the self-titled album as Slipknot's best release, in my opinion. If you are more happy with full-on brutal heaviness, then Iowa will be more up your alley, but for those of us with a bit more acceptance of mainstream pop and rock sounds, this is the perfect album.

    Prelude 3.0 immediately sets a slower but still dark tone, although this is blown out of the water with tracks like The Blister Exists and Pulse of the Maggots later on. Where Vol. 3 really shines, though, is with its mainstream appeal. Duality, Vermilion and Before I Forget, the three main singles from the album, are three of the ALL-TIME best heavy metal songs. Period. You probably already know this.

    Vol. 3 was the first Slipknot record I heard around the age of 14, and it blew the absolute hell out of every piece of my mind. Going back, and then forwards, they quickly became my favourite band on the planet. There's not much more to say about this other than to recommend that you listen to it. 100 times.
    Expand
  89. Feb 2, 2017
    9
    Saying this album is weird is an understatement, this album is a genre fuse of various experimental styles of rock and metal. One of the most progressive metal album ever to come out, crafted to perfection. Slipknot at their best even 'till this date.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Spin
    75
    The monster-chomp guitars and semiauto percussion are still in effect, but somebody spilled a little Pantene in the Pantera. [Jul 2004, p.108]
  2. Blender
    60
    The basic Slipknot sound has improved. [#27, p.147]
  3. Alternative Press
    20
    Plays out like a tepid, second-rate version of Iowa, which pretty much makes it a third-rate anything else. [Jul 2004, p.142]