Vol 3: (The Subliminal Verses)

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 197

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobE
    Jun 30, 2004
    2
    This cd is awful, with the exception of two songs. Rick Rubin has really dumbed down the talent. I was really dissappointed
  2. bhal
    Sep 4, 2004
    0
    this cd was not slipknot they sold out, once one of my favorite bands is now a band i loathe!
  3. RobbieD.
    Apr 13, 2005
    0
    wow slipknot is a joke.......only freaks listen to this shit....
  4. ZachL
    Apr 27, 2005
    0
    things should be said about just how horrible this band really is, but i don't have the time or energy to waste on this piece of horse shit you call an album...
  5. JohnB.
    May 9, 2005
    0
    when i first heard this cd, i laughed, thinking it was a complete joke. no one could "write" (for lack of better terms) this music and think they are doing anything for anybody. well i stand corrected, they are a very serious band out there to keep little tasteless media whores happy by trying to buy records that aren't "mainstream." this album is not only mainstream, it's when i first heard this cd, i laughed, thinking it was a complete joke. no one could "write" (for lack of better terms) this music and think they are doing anything for anybody. well i stand corrected, they are a very serious band out there to keep little tasteless media whores happy by trying to buy records that aren't "mainstream." this album is not only mainstream, it's mainstream shit. for the love of god, please tell this band that they suck Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2012
    3
    A sold-out band which thinks to make metal, but it doesn't. 8 BAND MEMBERS? A RECORD PLAYER? Is that a joke? A percussion is useless, IMAGINE 2 PERCUSSIONS, like Slipknot have!
  7. AmandaB
    Jun 5, 2004
    2
    I was totally disappointed with this album. I am a huge fan of Iowa, so I was shocked to hear this CD. I think that they sold out. You can't wear crazy masks, call yourself metal, and sing girly songs!
  8. [Anonymous]
    Aug 28, 2005
    0
    I honestly can't listen to this crap with a straight face. They're a terrible band on all fronts. This isn't an album. It is, however, a perfect example of how stupid some record companies are. But if you tasteless goth freaks are buying it, go ahead. Someone tell Slipknot they they're making fools of themselves, for their sake and ours.
  9. DeMarcusB
    Jun 1, 2006
    0
    Slipknot's Vol 3: (The Subliminal Verses, is an overall pleonastic experience. Listening to this was one of the most profuse moments of my entire life. This album is trite. Don't but this.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Spin
    75
    The monster-chomp guitars and semiauto percussion are still in effect, but somebody spilled a little Pantene in the Pantera. [Jul 2004, p.108]
  2. Blender
    60
    The basic Slipknot sound has improved. [#27, p.147]
  3. Alternative Press
    20
    Plays out like a tepid, second-rate version of Iowa, which pretty much makes it a third-rate anything else. [Jul 2004, p.142]