Volta

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: May 8, 2007
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 225 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 225

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. musicistam
    May 10, 2007
    1
    Figure-skating judging rules seem to apply; critics have been charitable w/reviews because it's Bjork, and no one wants to say the emperess has no clothes (or no songs.) It sounds like she just sang bits of lyric ideas into her laptop, and rather than flesh them out to full songs, just left them at that. Awkward phrasing, bad vocals (just listen to the first minute of Wanderlust), Figure-skating judging rules seem to apply; critics have been charitable w/reviews because it's Bjork, and no one wants to say the emperess has no clothes (or no songs.) It sounds like she just sang bits of lyric ideas into her laptop, and rather than flesh them out to full songs, just left them at that. Awkward phrasing, bad vocals (just listen to the first minute of Wanderlust), overlongs songs (Earth Intruders could be cut in half) and virtually no melodies...and bad lyrics. Expand
  2. ToddW
    May 9, 2007
    2
    If Bjork took the time actually trying to improve her craft that she seems to spend on wearing the next outrageous outfit, she may become relevant again. I mean, what the hell is that thing she is dressed in on the cover of her latest offering? Too bad that reporter in the Orient didn't knock some sense into her. Eclectic is one thing. Nuts is another. I'm afraid our girl has If Bjork took the time actually trying to improve her craft that she seems to spend on wearing the next outrageous outfit, she may become relevant again. I mean, what the hell is that thing she is dressed in on the cover of her latest offering? Too bad that reporter in the Orient didn't knock some sense into her. Eclectic is one thing. Nuts is another. I'm afraid our girl has strayed a bit too far into the latter camp on this one. Expand
  3. MattD.
    May 9, 2007
    2
    I've never been a Bjork fan, but you could never say she's bland. This one is bland even at its surface. Some songs are excruciatingly long.
  4. HeatherW
    Jun 4, 2007
    2
    almost as terrible as her clothing selection. Gross
  5. SimonB
    May 14, 2008
    0
    How come with every single artist that makes complete psychotic gibberish his or her artstyle, there are people claiming things in the nature of the cock-eyed argument that GOD MOVES IN MYSTERIOUS WAYS? I listened to this album and I find that all of her songs are nothing but noise. It's Björk WITH instruments. This should be referred to as a single instrument which makes lots How come with every single artist that makes complete psychotic gibberish his or her artstyle, there are people claiming things in the nature of the cock-eyed argument that GOD MOVES IN MYSTERIOUS WAYS? I listened to this album and I find that all of her songs are nothing but noise. It's Björk WITH instruments. This should be referred to as a single instrument which makes lots of noise. Björk resorts to yelling a bunch of stuff at different tones and intervalls and calls this music. I'd like to consider that seeing an artist live will make me appreciate their music better... But excuse me, that means the album is shit and her prestations are good. Björk is a visual musical artist. Notice what's wrong here? The only way she can be awesome is through looks. Her music... It. SUCKS. ASS. She picks bits and pieces from other types of musics and just goes on having a seizure. The song "The Dull flame of Desire" was the worst torturous piece of trash I've ever heard in my life. I don't know how long it is but to me, it felt like twenty minutes of a girl and a guy having auditory sex, REPEATING "THE DULL FLAME OF DESSZZZZAAYURRRRRRRR" ... I liked some of her older songs which I'd hear at random, but this... THIS IS GARBAGE! Only buy this shit if you're a fan. I still feel damn dumb I bought it and I deserve to be shunned. Expand
  6. CP
    Jul 29, 2007
    2
    Prior to Medulla, I can scarcely remember even thinking of skipping a song on a Bjork album. I have loved them all -- almost equally. Volta is an utter disappointment for me. The arrangements are far too sparse and for the love of god -- where is the melody? Earth Intruders is a decent song, but after dozens of listens over a week, I've felt no urge to listen to any of the remaining Prior to Medulla, I can scarcely remember even thinking of skipping a song on a Bjork album. I have loved them all -- almost equally. Volta is an utter disappointment for me. The arrangements are far too sparse and for the love of god -- where is the melody? Earth Intruders is a decent song, but after dozens of listens over a week, I've felt no urge to listen to any of the remaining tracks on this Volta. I'm blown away ... just shocking. Expand
  7. YukaT
    May 11, 2007
    0
    I am a HUGE Bjork Fan. I loved her ever since her debut. Fell in love with Hyperballad, Joga, Bachlorette, Isobel, just to name a few. Adored the entire Vespertine - I have all her CDs and DVDs. VOLTA is such a disappointment. I was looking forward to it and couldn't believe how bored I was. I decided to give it 3 listens and each time, I got less impressed. The lyrics are not nearly I am a HUGE Bjork Fan. I loved her ever since her debut. Fell in love with Hyperballad, Joga, Bachlorette, Isobel, just to name a few. Adored the entire Vespertine - I have all her CDs and DVDs. VOLTA is such a disappointment. I was looking forward to it and couldn't believe how bored I was. I decided to give it 3 listens and each time, I got less impressed. The lyrics are not nearly as thoughtful and elegant as her previous works and the melodies seem like rehashs of her older material. Her phrasing is sloppy and form is largely non-existent. I even tried to listen to it with pure experimentation in mind.... and I decided that sure, it might be alright if this was her personal little musical diary, but I don't think this album even deserved to be manufactured. I wanted to return this CD, but unfortunately, music store policies won't allow that. I'm soooo dissapointed. I hope the next one will be better. IN the meantime, I"ll listen to all the albums up until Vespertine. Expand
  8. IreneB
    May 29, 2007
    3
    Bjork remains my favorite musician. Her music is made for a person like me and I have loved all her work with all my heart previously. Having said that I feel very badly saying this but I must be honest. I do not like Volta at all. Many of the songs drive me crazy. I cannot even listen to it. I had to delete it from my I-Tunes because it was making me angry.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Volta is arguably Bjork's loosest and most ruminative record, and though it touches on everything she's ever done, it's not as gripping or coherent as her best stuff.
  2. Listen intently, repeatedly, and you'll hear much to widen your consciousness... But listen for, you know, enjoyment and you'll be left wanting.
  3. Every song on Volta sounds like it was birthed in no fewer than 10 months, if not five years. "Fun" hardly has an opportunity to enter the picture when Björk's now seemingly permanent fastidiousness remains her métier.