Volta

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Volta Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 240 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The typically eclectic guest lineup on Bjork's first studio album in three years includes Timbaland, a ten-piece all-female horn section, and members of Konono No. 1, Lightning Bolt, Antony & The Johnsons, and LFO.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. As with much of her past work, it’s almost embarrassingly human, sometimes sounding too close to you to believe it’s not your own.
  2. Even as the music settles into some of the visionary Icelandic artist's familiar contours, she stirs in enough new ingredients to keep things moving.
  3. Initial listens leave the impression that Volta is a top-heavy release, but as with Vespertine repeat visitations see the record smoothing and flattening out, with consistency becoming apparent over a shorter period of time than with many a Bjork LP before it.
  4. Spin
    70
    Her vision is worth the price of submission. [Jun 2007, p.90]
  5. Volta is arguably Bjork's loosest and most ruminative record, and though it touches on everything she's ever done, it's not as gripping or coherent as her best stuff.
  6. Volta is her most accessible album in years, even if it is sometimes at the expense of its own best interest.
  7. Fans might find it a fascinating revelation, and Madonna will likely swipe a few ideas, while everyone else is left wondering what happened to the tunes.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 86
  2. Negative: 8 out of 86
  1. MikeS
    May 24, 2007
    10
    With Bjork sounding this triumphant, the majesty of her talent here in full force, there
  2. HarryK
    May 3, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums in many years. I was amazed with some of the songs, 'Declare Independence' being the greatest. This is a keeper!
  3. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Fantastic, massive, true, limitless, full of hope, full of energy... Volta has a beauty in not a normal way, it lives not in you ,but, throughFantastic, massive, true, limitless, full of hope, full of energy... Volta has a beauty in not a normal way, it lives not in you ,but, through you, all around you... It`s eternal like energy itself. Expand
  4. TristramC
    Jun 16, 2007
    8
    God bless Bjork Guðmundsdóttir! Bjork contribution to pop & avant garde in the last 15 years has been among the most interesting God bless Bjork Guðmundsdóttir! Bjork contribution to pop & avant garde in the last 15 years has been among the most interesting stories of that time. No artist has more deftly balanced fearless adventureousness with consistantcy. An artist like Bjork you'd assume would have by now discovered the dark side of following every fanciful whim, producing a turkey or two. Yet looking back over her catelog each of her proper studio releases and both of her soundtracks has its own soul, statement & meaningful contribution as a definative chapter to Bjorks legacy and gift to the world. This record is no different. It takes time to hear it (it took me about 15 spins) but just about everything you've ever loved about a past Bjork release is on this record. Admittedly, some of the child-like exhuberance that used to light up a room has been dulled by the weight of our times. It burns still but feels labored like she has to work at keeping it lit. That aside, who Bjork is to us - planet earths finest offering of avante garde melded with pop music, is better defined on this record than anything previously. Both houses are represented here equally only its avante garde who opens the door first this time around. If this surprises you read the extensive guest artist list for Volta. Aside from Timbaland the most mainstrean contributor is the Tazmanian who flails & kicks behind the kit for Lightning Bolt. Any grumblings you've heard are merely due to the fact there are more pop fans who listen to Bjork than avant garde ones and pop fans are lazy and don't want to put in the work. To be a Bjork fan though is to enjoy the work - to enjoy the embrace of wonder, release the attachment of expectation and letting Bjork guide you to its Volta's purpose. Your beloved ice-pixie has not forsaken you with Volta. Its her most challenging, rewarding album yet. Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2012
    7
    Her sixth album, I felt, it was a recap of all the work she had done until. It brings up the vicious beats from 'Debut' and 'Post', the highHer sixth album, I felt, it was a recap of all the work she had done until. It brings up the vicious beats from 'Debut' and 'Post', the high level songwriting of 'Homogenic' and the passionate voice tone from both 'Vespertine' and 'Medúlla'. That said, she sounded a bit tired along the songs, as if she knew it was just a big remix of all her other albums. But even Bjork in her lowest levels can stand out making an album better than other artists. Expand
  6. RobH
    May 25, 2007
    6
    I was really dissapointed with this album; the songs just wander without hitting many exciting moments or memorable melodies. I feel like I was really dissapointed with this album; the songs just wander without hitting many exciting moments or memorable melodies. I feel like Bjork needs to reenergize and come back with a more inspired album, because it has been a while since she's delivered a stellar album (Homogenic). I was hoping for a return to her more poppy, fun music of the early 90s. Expand
  7. YukaT
    May 11, 2007
    0
    I am a HUGE Bjork Fan. I loved her ever since her debut. Fell in love with Hyperballad, Joga, Bachlorette, Isobel, just to name a few. Adored I am a HUGE Bjork Fan. I loved her ever since her debut. Fell in love with Hyperballad, Joga, Bachlorette, Isobel, just to name a few. Adored the entire Vespertine - I have all her CDs and DVDs. VOLTA is such a disappointment. I was looking forward to it and couldn't believe how bored I was. I decided to give it 3 listens and each time, I got less impressed. The lyrics are not nearly as thoughtful and elegant as her previous works and the melodies seem like rehashs of her older material. Her phrasing is sloppy and form is largely non-existent. I even tried to listen to it with pure experimentation in mind.... and I decided that sure, it might be alright if this was her personal little musical diary, but I don't think this album even deserved to be manufactured. I wanted to return this CD, but unfortunately, music store policies won't allow that. I'm soooo dissapointed. I hope the next one will be better. IN the meantime, I"ll listen to all the albums up until Vespertine. Expand

See all 86 User Reviews