• Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: May 7, 2013
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. May 6, 2013
    80
    For those of you already caught in the band's spider web of eternal summer, this album delivers the goods.
  2. 70
    When Volume 3 soars above its status as just a nice summer soundtrack are the moments when Deschanel lets some deeper emotions break through the carefree demeanor of the songs.
  3. May 6, 2013
    80
    Deschanel comes from the tradition of singers not technically impressive but charismatic enough to cast a spell. Ward’s fretwork is excellent throughout, and it’s nice to hear his voice on a spirited duet of “Baby.”
  4. 70
    While Deschanel’s songwriting is classically strong, the performances spot-on, and the arrangements undeniably impressive, She and Him don’t offer much of an update to this classic sound.
  5. May 10, 2013
    70
    It's fair to say that there are no real surprises here but what we do get is a solid collection of retro tinged songs that will appeal to fans of their previous work.
  6. 75
    Prepare for more cute, wistful, sad-but-sunny retro-pop songs that'll hit a lot of people's sweet spots, and make other people want to punch a LOLcat in the face. [10 May 2013, p.67]
  7. May 22, 2013
    74
    3 shows a slightly darker side of the squeaky-clean She.
  8. May 10, 2013
    85
    It's pretty much instantly likable if you're not otherwise predisposed. [No. 98, p.58]
  9. May 28, 2013
    70
    The third chapter in She & Him’s discography won’t convert those who dislike the genre and it won’t alienate fans of it either.
  10. May 7, 2013
    77
    All in all, it’s just good fun. And more than a little bit clever.
  11. May 10, 2013
    75
    It doesn’t shy away from sorrow, but as far as heartbreak albums go, Volume 3 is surprisingly resilient.
  12. May 7, 2013
    75
    With the arrival of Volume 3, there’s finally a She & Him record that grabs--and mostly keeps--the listener’s attention.
  13. 75
    It is a good record, brimming with lavish, romantic nostalgipop that will rekindle your love for Grease, neckerchiefs and pomade.
  14. May 3, 2013
    80
    Volume 3 is terrific when M. Ward's heavier production subsides and Deschanel's voice freely suggest swinging from lampposts in a romantic swoon. [Jun 2013, p.78]
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Dec 28, 2014
    9
    Although this album doesn't differ greatly from its two predecessors, what I noticed is that this album has a heavier and more commercialAlthough this album doesn't differ greatly from its two predecessors, what I noticed is that this album has a heavier and more commercial sound, but still retains the effortlessness and sweetness of the two previous records. Not really my fave She & Him album, but this is worth a listen. Love this. Full Review »
  2. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    This album is amazing! The first 3 quarters of this album is so wonderful. The last quarter is just ok at worse but it is still really good.This album is amazing! The first 3 quarters of this album is so wonderful. The last quarter is just ok at worse but it is still really good. The singing with Zooey is great as always. She has a very calming and diverse voice. M. Ward does a great job too with his guitar that has that unique surfer feel to it but still very relaxing. I wish there were more louder songs and this had a little more quiet ones but even the quiet ones sound calming and meaningful. I want to say this is my favorite She & Him album but I feel volume 2 beats this just by a little. I'd still listen to this anything.

    Favorite tracks: Never wanted your love, I could've been your girl, Turn to white, and way more

    not my favorite: Sunday Girl
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 10, 2013
    5
    As a fan of their first two original albums I was slightly disappointed. I do not hate the album and I even like some of the songs listeningAs a fan of their first two original albums I was slightly disappointed. I do not hate the album and I even like some of the songs listening to them from time to time. The highlight of the album to me is ("Turn To White"). As a complete album though I find it very dull and more of the same but in a lazy way. Upon my first complete listen to it I was waiting for it to get on it's feet hoping it just had a sluggish start once "Turn To White" played that was my glimmer of hope that it would get better but it never got it's groove for me. I have listened to the whole thing a couple of times and my mind has not changed. Volume 1 is by far their best album and Volume 2 has great moments so it kept the entire album afloat but this just didn't do it for me as an album. Maybe the disappointment also comes from waiting years for a new album from them (didn't really care about a christmas cover album) .Love Zooey and I'm still a fan but I hope the duo can deliver something more elevated in their next album. Full Review »