Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
Buy On
  1. 100
    The rest of Vows is equally fresh and surprising, its genre leaps held together by Kimbra's pliant coo.
  2. Dec 20, 2012
    80
    The intricate rhythms are the link between these disparate songs, all of which--scattergun or not--are absolutely beguiling.
  3. Q Magazine
    Aug 20, 2012
    80
    Kimbra has created a sparkling, witty debut that hymns commitment at every turn. [Sep 2012, p.102]
  4. Filter
    May 18, 2012
    76
    Vows is a step ahead of your average candy-coated pop. [#48]
  5. Jul 23, 2012
    70
    Vows is a striking, though not impeccable, debut record.
  6. May 30, 2012
    70
    Kimbra's voice is strong, her beats are catchy, and after listening to the full 55-minute album, you're not quite sure what just happened, but you know you kind of liked it.
  7. May 23, 2012
    70
    It's difficult to remember what happened, though you're fairly sure you enjoyed a great deal of it.
  8. May 22, 2012
    70
    Vows gives R&B a wacky art-rock spin, with a cappella vocal chorales mutating into sumptuous funk pop.
  9. 70
    While neither reinterpretations of the past nor genre hopping are unique in the world of pop, it's the effortless way that Kimbra does it all that makes Vows a compelling listen.
  10. May 21, 2012
    70
    Kimbra certainly has the voice, and, at least for now, the production to foment both critical praise and mainstream success, provided she can find an audience with enough patience for such carefully plotted music.
  11. May 18, 2012
    70
    For the most part, Kimbra's invention is a marvel to behold, as her enchanting and swooping jazz-pop tones glide across a veritable feast of sounds
  12. May 18, 2012
    70
    It's at times overwhelming, occasionally downtrodden, but will never leave you feeling bored.
  13. May 22, 2012
    63
    Kimbra's American fame may have come on the heels of someone else's single, but there's a vision here that's entirely her own.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 71
  2. Negative: 3 out of 71
  1. May 23, 2012
    10
    Brilliant. If you're going to judge this album just by it's first 2 poppy singles (which are pretty solid for what they are), Settle Down andBrilliant. If you're going to judge this album just by it's first 2 poppy singles (which are pretty solid for what they are), Settle Down and Cameo Lover, then you're going to miss out on some fantastic soul and funk music. If you can get past the somewhat childish lyrics (she's only 22) and focus in on the music you're doing yourself a huge solid. There's something for everyone on this album, excluding rap and metal fans. Full Review »
  2. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    Kimbra's album is so awesome! She sound like a woman that so much experience to give for all the world. This one made me feel great and I loveKimbra's album is so awesome! She sound like a woman that so much experience to give for all the world. This one made me feel great and I love when I listen 'Something In The Way You Are' and 'Two Way Streets'. I love this album and Kimbra. ♥ Full Review »
  3. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    This was by far the best album I've ever listened to... It has such a great mix of musical trickery while still showing Kimbra's outstandingThis was by far the best album I've ever listened to... It has such a great mix of musical trickery while still showing Kimbra's outstanding vocal prowess. From Settle Down to Limbo, not only is this album worth your money, the deluxe is even more so. It's not often the bonus tracks are just as if not better than some of the albums regular songs, especially with the regular tracks being of such quality. This is a must buy... a MUST BUY Full Review »