User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 54
  2. Negative: 5 out of 54

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    Kimbra is probably one of the best artists out there and this album shows why. It's just amazing!
    She has a great voice and good writing skills and let it out on the album on songs like Posse, Good Intent, Sally I Can See You and The Build Up.
  2. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    Kimbra's album is so awesome! She sound like a woman that so much experience to give for all the world. This one made me feel great and I love when I listen 'Something In The Way You Are' and 'Two Way Streets'. I love this album and Kimbra. ♥
  3. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    This was by far the best album I've ever listened to... It has such a great mix of musical trickery while still showing Kimbra's outstanding vocal prowess. From Settle Down to Limbo, not only is this album worth your money, the deluxe is even more so. It's not often the bonus tracks are just as if not better than some of the albums regular songs, especially with the regular tracks beingThis was by far the best album I've ever listened to... It has such a great mix of musical trickery while still showing Kimbra's outstanding vocal prowess. From Settle Down to Limbo, not only is this album worth your money, the deluxe is even more so. It's not often the bonus tracks are just as if not better than some of the albums regular songs, especially with the regular tracks being of such quality. This is a must buy... a MUST BUY Expand
  4. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    I've never loved an Album so much, Kimbra has brought us a fantastic range of Music and you really do feel the sense of a true legend in the making. Every song is filled with true emotions and with jazz and pop incorporated into it you can't help but listen to all of the songs over and over again. The highlight for me is Settle Down which is probably one of my all time favourite songs.I've never loved an Album so much, Kimbra has brought us a fantastic range of Music and you really do feel the sense of a true legend in the making. Every song is filled with true emotions and with jazz and pop incorporated into it you can't help but listen to all of the songs over and over again. The highlight for me is Settle Down which is probably one of my all time favourite songs. Kimbra your talented and beautiful and those two combined can be a deadly force, keep doing what your doing and you'll rise up to the rank of legend. Expand
  5. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    Vows is a great album. From start to to finish every track never feels the same. One of the best surprises was "Something in the Way You Are". Buy Vows today you won't be disappointed!
  6. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    This album Rocks! Settle down Cameo lover two way street Sally I can see you Home and Warrior are the highlights of the album but the whole album is Awesome!
  7. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    Very Different Style Of Pop Music!
    Kimbra's Album Vow's Is A No Brainer Good!
  8. May 23, 2012
    10
    Brilliant. If you're going to judge this album just by it's first 2 poppy singles (which are pretty solid for what they are), Settle Down and Cameo Lover, then you're going to miss out on some fantastic soul and funk music. If you can get past the somewhat childish lyrics (she's only 22) and focus in on the music you're doing yourself a huge solid. There's something for everyone on thisBrilliant. If you're going to judge this album just by it's first 2 poppy singles (which are pretty solid for what they are), Settle Down and Cameo Lover, then you're going to miss out on some fantastic soul and funk music. If you can get past the somewhat childish lyrics (she's only 22) and focus in on the music you're doing yourself a huge solid. There's something for everyone on this album, excluding rap and metal fans. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Dec 20, 2012
    80
    The intricate rhythms are the link between these disparate songs, all of which--scattergun or not--are absolutely beguiling.
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    40
    When Kimbra acts her age, she's interesting and fun. When she doesn't, you can't help but wonder how much of that vocal showboating is a singer's equivalent to playing dress-up in a glamorous older aunt's closet, all posing and no play.
  3. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    Kimbra has created a sparkling, witty debut that hymns commitment at every turn. [Sep 2012, p.102]