Voxtrot

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TinaC
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    No one should rate this album unless they've listened to it more than 5 times. It takes awhile to get used to but now I can't stop listening. See Voxtrot live if you can.
  2. ChadB
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    I'm so tired of every single reviewer saying "This isn't nearly as good as their EPs..." Did you read that in Rolling Stone, so you all feel the need to post it over, and over, and over again? Everyone is saying these songs aren't as catchy. Did you think that maybe that is because they aren't quite as shallow?? The depth of this album became apparent to me around the I'm so tired of every single reviewer saying "This isn't nearly as good as their EPs..." Did you read that in Rolling Stone, so you all feel the need to post it over, and over, and over again? Everyone is saying these songs aren't as catchy. Did you think that maybe that is because they aren't quite as shallow?? The depth of this album became apparent to me around the 3rd or 4th time through. Listen to the cd in it's entirety, beginning to end. It becomes even better with each listen, as a really great album does. We should all be thanking Voxtrot for an album that isn't "catchy". If you want catchy, go buy Gym Class Heroes. This is real music. Expand
  3. EdgarH
    May 9, 2007
    10
    A pop mastepiece. Really, really good album.
  4. ShaunD
    May 7, 2007
    10
    This is probably some some of the best indie pop I've listened to in quite sometime. The album is loaded with so many wondeful songs, from Ghost, Kid Gloves, Stephen, Easy, Blood Red Blood and the best song on the whole LP, Firecracker. In the end, this is a terrific debut from a very talented Texas band. One of the best albums of 07.
  5. Kirby
    May 7, 2007
    10
    A sweet, charming, energetic album. I highly recommend.
  6. matta
    May 21, 2007
    5
    There is no way that I'm the only one who recognizes not only how much more inferior this is to their first two EP's, but also is just kind of MOR and at times, boring. A very disappointing LP from a band that showed promise. They should have released their first two EP's as their debut, that would have been amazing.
  7. Smith
    May 22, 2007
    10
    Catchy as hell and a joy to listen to.
  8. IanH
    May 25, 2007
    5
    Voxtrot are like an ambitions film student. They made some really amazing short films and felt that they were ready to make a feature. Granted, they really need to have a full length out, but this feels rushed and while there is a lot of merit here, it's really flimsy and unfocused. Plus, instead of sounding like Morrissey, Ramesh now sounds like Dave Grohl (just listen to that howl Voxtrot are like an ambitions film student. They made some really amazing short films and felt that they were ready to make a feature. Granted, they really need to have a full length out, but this feels rushed and while there is a lot of merit here, it's really flimsy and unfocused. Plus, instead of sounding like Morrissey, Ramesh now sounds like Dave Grohl (just listen to that howl on "Kid Gloves"). And am I the only one that thinks "Blood Red Blood" sounds EXACTLY like Ted Leo's "The Angel's Share?" Bah, hopefully they regroup, get their shit together, and put out the masterpiece that they most certainly have in them. Expand
  9. peterc
    May 26, 2007
    9
    High expectations might fool you into thinking their debut LP is not as good as their first three EP's but this album is fantastic. Creative arrangements, perfect blend of pop and rock, and ramesh's songwriting deserves a big fat A+. it isn't a perfect because i think some songs are a little bit overdone but overall, it is a great pick up and i strongly recommend buying this album.
  10. BenjiD
    May 31, 2007
    5
    I loved their EPs, but this album is substandard. The songs aren't nearly as catchy or heartfelt as those on "Mothers, Sisters, Daughters, and Wives" or "Raised by wolves." Save yourself some money and just download "Kid Gloves" and "Steven," as they are the only tracks that come even close to Voxtrot's earlier magic. It's not a horrible album, by any means, but it's I loved their EPs, but this album is substandard. The songs aren't nearly as catchy or heartfelt as those on "Mothers, Sisters, Daughters, and Wives" or "Raised by wolves." Save yourself some money and just download "Kid Gloves" and "Steven," as they are the only tracks that come even close to Voxtrot's earlier magic. It's not a horrible album, by any means, but it's very disappointing considering how great the EPs were. Expand
  11. christianp
    Jun 11, 2007
    9
    why do people have expectations? it appears they have ruined what would otherwise be an exceptional album. voxtrot definately still has it. this is a promising DEBUT full-length. i think they are suffering what arcade fire is putting up with naysayers and the sophomore album. people shouldn't let one album (or 3 eps) define a band. let's see what happens next!
  12. DontrelleM
    May 16, 2007
    10
    Terrific debut! Solid all the way through, not one weak track. The music just lifts my mood. This band is the next big thing! Trust me.
  13. jw
    May 24, 2007
    9
    Great Debut, not as strong as the EPs but still.
  14. DanS
    May 28, 2007
    6
    Completely agree with Matt A. This is sadly nowhere near as great as their first two EPs - Raised by Wolves and Mothers, Sisters, Daughters & Wives. Granted, it is still fairly decent.. but the magic is gone.
  15. ToledoS
    Jun 18, 2007
    5
    Rushed! They didn't gain anything by forcing this record out. In there defense however, they are trying to find themselves, or rather, distance themselves from what made them. Do them a favor, quit comparing them to the Smiths and Belle Sabastian. It will no longer serve them.
  16. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Yep this album is perfect and I'm depressed because it's 2013 and they're gone. Hmmm. now The only question left 2 ask is............................Why
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. There's an undeniable, infectious energy at work here which is put to great use with the self-deprecating humor and immense pop chops.
  2. Under The Radar
    60
    While those EPs were the energetic documents of a hungry band at a creative peak, [this album] too often seems to fall flat. [#17, p.88]
  3. The writing, arrangement, and pacing is deliberate enough to create a sensible package yet light enough to invite a listener in.