Voyageur

  • Record Label: Rounder
  • Release Date: Jan 17, 2012
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
Buy On
  1. Employing help from not only Vernon, but also Norah Jones and Francis and the Lights among others, Voyageur is a true gem.
  2. 91
    Voyageur is gorgeously weathered ­heartbreak, straight from the gravelliest Ontario roads.
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    90
    The album, as intended to be heard, deftly captures the whiplash mood swings of a volatile relationship, showing how giddy exuberance and bitter despair can intertwine.
  4. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    Both varied and beautifully evocative, Voyageur is the perfect listen for merging wintery wistfulness with ethereal wonder.
  5. Jan 17, 2012
    88
    The indie-leaning direction of the album suggests that the Canadian singer-songwriter is coming into her own.
  6. Jan 18, 2012
    80
    Edwards succeeds in stepping out of the Americana territory where her first three records resided.
  7. Jan 17, 2012
    80
    It's a refined, seasoned effort, alternating between country-tinged folk and leisurely paced rock.
  8. Jan 12, 2012
    80
    The arrangements, though, are far more expansive, all gorgeously produced and delivered with subtlety.
  9. Uncut
    Jan 9, 2012
    80
    It's hard to conceive of a more thrillingly romantic record than this. [Feb 2012, p.85]
  10. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    It's the performances and songwriting, however, which invite most acclaim.
  11. 80
    It's a progression that largely works.
  12. 80
    The result is a work with greater resonance and presence, which might secure her mainstream success.
  13. Voyageur is a very fine record and only a couple of songs short of a great one, with Edwards' vocals and songs plus the warm-yet-crisp production being the main attractions.
  14. Jan 17, 2012
    75
    This is still Edwards' show, though, with appealingly plain-spoken story-songs that share little (in a lyrical sense) with Vernon's willfully opaque word-music.
  15. Jan 17, 2012
    70
    Though at times deeply affecting, Voyageur is not the great statement of a record one might hope for after a four-year absence.
  16. Jan 17, 2012
    70
    Voyageur makes for a captivating, thrilling descent into loneliness and misery.
  17. Jan 17, 2012
    70
    Voyageur resonates with the kind of drama and daring that Edwards has been perfecting all along.
  18. Jan 17, 2012
    70
    Sounds lusher, more dramatic and sometimes riskier than Ms. Edwards's early albums. In places, this record is drowsily beautiful, almost wearily so.
  19. Jan 17, 2012
    70
    Edwards augments the coffeehouse sparseness of her writerly earlier albums with shimmery surfaces, whoosh-y hovering-spaceship bleeps and gently padding beats, which lend her songs an exquisite, widescreen beauty.
  20. Jan 13, 2012
    70
    Whilst Vernon's production does add a glossy sheen, Edwards' captivating character is ultimately untouched and as a result, she can finally stand loud and proud as a truly talented individual.
  21. 70
    Voyageur improves on its predecessor by feeling both more intimate and more boomingly spacious--it helps move her away from the middle.
  22. Jan 17, 2012
    67
    The key, though, is finding balance within this sonic shuffle, something Edwards hasn't done quite yet.
  23. Jan 18, 2012
    64
    Edwards often sounds lost in these new songs.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Dec 22, 2012
    8
    As often happens with albums that come out at the beginning of the year, I find myself getting a little saturated with the songs as theyAs often happens with albums that come out at the beginning of the year, I find myself getting a little saturated with the songs as they appear on my playlist. So I put this album away for awhile and then came back to it fresh. She has such great songs. Period. A little more mainstream than her earlier, but I still love it. Full Review »
  2. Feb 26, 2012
    8
    I've purchased all of Kathleen Edwards albums and feel Voyageur stands with the best of them. I rate Asking For Flowers 1, Failer 2, Back toI've purchased all of Kathleen Edwards albums and feel Voyageur stands with the best of them. I rate Asking For Flowers 1, Failer 2, Back to Me 3 and Voyageur 4 but they are all great. What I like about Voyageur is the clean sound and well written lyrics. Edwards is a great song writer, but we knew that from the beginning. What I don't like are a couple of songs that are really not her style. That pertains to of the poppier songs Mint and Sidecar. Change the Sheets is an Edwards classic and songs like Pink Champagne, Chameleon and Going to Hell take your breath away like her best songs. I find For The Record the last cut monotonous. Overall I was thrilled she released a new album and thrilled she still has the inspiration to keep moving her audience. Full Review »
  3. BKM
    Jan 20, 2012
    7
    Justin Vernon's production on Edwards' latest album gives the proceedings a slightly more indie rock vibe, but the songs are still firmlyJustin Vernon's production on Edwards' latest album gives the proceedings a slightly more indie rock vibe, but the songs are still firmly rooted in rootsy folk rock. Voyageur isn't quite as stunning as 2008's Asking for Flowers, but it is still one of the new year's better releases thus far. Full Review »