VYP: Voice of the Young People Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut album includes Hot 100 single "Lip Gloss" released last year, as well as the Avril Lavigne remix of "Girlfriend."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sure, Voice of the Young People can suffer from overblown production, as on the nursery-rhyming ''G-Slide (Tour Bus).'' But kids will dig smart, quick cuts like the Southern-fried snap of ''Shawty Get Loose,'' featuring Chris Brown, who adds the ''special'' to Mama's sauce.
  2. Such is the catchiness of this generally lovable record that it's easy to miss the bleak thrust of her lyrics.
  3. 80
    [The tracks are] thoughtful enough to help make this one of the year's best rap albums. [June 2008, p.104]
  4. VYP nonetheless shows, perhaps by design, a pretty convincing arc of maturation.
  5. Not a bad debut, finally, but someone should tell her that speaking for the young people doesn't mean merely becoming Shanice with attitude.
  6. The standout is "L.I.F.E.," a raw recollection of an addled childhood ("I ain't got no pictures of my mother/She was a crack fiend/Nothing like crack mother") that proves there's more to her than bubble gum.
  7. 40
    Though there’s slick, occasionally dynamite production from the likes of the Runners and Scott Storch, the lyrics rarely rise above defensive boasting (“One Hit Wonder”), frigid sex raps (“What It Is [Strike a Pose]”) and rote autobiography (“College”).

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of