Wait For Me Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Influenced by a talk he heard by David Lynch, Moby recorded the album at home.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. What lyrics there are mourn absence and loss, and many of the effects are achieved by fabricating and then calibrating dirty sonics both electronic and organic.
  2. For anyone wanting to hear a genuine progression from the blueprint laid out by "Play" and to enjoy the calmer, more ethereal and undeniably sadder side of Moby's music, Wait For Me is worthy of further investigation.
  3. So it’s possible that the songs on Wait For Me will end up in the same coffeehouses and car commercials and other small, sterile environments as those on Play, but Hall’s drawing inwards as hard as he can, to the great benefit of his compositions, and Wait For Me is unabashedly majestic.
  4. Moby's most unified and understated album, and all the better for it, Wait for Me is a morose set of elegantly bleary material, quite a shift from the hedonistic club tracks of "Last Night."
  5. 60
    It's a doleful piece, with many trad Moby elements present. [Jul 2009, p.94]
  6. It's too listenable overall to be outright dismissed as some sort of flop. But it's too willfully unobtrusive and happy with its lack of ambition to try and sell as good pop, even in a year thin on the mediocre kind.
  7. It is Moby’s right (as well as his wont) to repurpose the same songs, the same structures over and over again. It is my own right, however, to choose to listen to something else entirely.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. MarceloL.
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    I just cannot understand why those guys qualify this album that bad. is a masterpiece.... for people like me who preferes eluvium and this I just cannot understand why those guys qualify this album that bad. is a masterpiece.... for people like me who preferes eluvium and this type of sounds. Expand
  2. mars75
    Jul 24, 2009
    10
    Moby definitely back to form...his best outing since 18 which is a masterpiece imho.
  3. JayL
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    A beautiful record. Moby at his best.
  4. BrR
    Jul 11, 2009
    7
    I'd give this a 6, but i'm sure it will grow on me. A few listens in, "Wait For Me" is pleasant and well produced, but other than I'd give this a 6, but i'm sure it will grow on me. A few listens in, "Wait For Me" is pleasant and well produced, but other than "Shotin the Back of the Head", having been played numerous times in anticipation of the album release, i can't recall a single track. So, it's diverting and downbeat, but nothing special. Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2010
    6
    Although It's great to see Moby back to doing downbeat stuff again, This album suffers from way too many tracks that don't need to be here -Although It's great to see Moby back to doing downbeat stuff again, This album suffers from way too many tracks that don't need to be here - "Stock Radio" being an example. The songs, although in many places beautiful, suffer from an infuriating lack of progression: "A Seated Night" and "Ghost Return" in particular sound exactly the same at the start as they do at the end. In some places this can be really effective, but a whole album full grates after a couple of listens. The lyrics are also a little too direct for an album of this kind, "Pale Horses" being the main culprit.

    However, about half of this album makes for something really special. "Wait for Me" is haunting, and the euphoric burst of sound halfway through "Shot in the Back of the Head" and the quiet introversion of "Isolate" are Moby at his best - a lack of Focus is what eventually spoils this Album.
    Expand
  6. SamR.
    Jul 9, 2009
    5
    Eh, Whatever. The only good track here is "Shot in the Back of the Head," which isn't even that great.
  7. Jan 10, 2014
    2
    With the exception of "Pale Horses" and "Shot in the Back of the Head", there is very little about this album to admire. Though Moby has neverWith the exception of "Pale Horses" and "Shot in the Back of the Head", there is very little about this album to admire. Though Moby has never been known for big beats or dynamic tracks, he at least kept things interesting on his previous efforts. However, Wait For Me is a boring trudge through tracks that have no emotional impact and even less originality. The most unbelievable part though might be that he released an ambient (as though the original version was not ambient) version of this album, and it managed to actually be better. Still, die hard fans of Moby might still like this album, but I cannot see many other people liking it much better than I did. Collapse

See all 8 User Reviews