Waiting For The Sirens' Call

Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    A satisfying return to the Blue Monday sound of their heyday. [29 Apr 2005, p.147]
  2. This is pristine, state of the art, pop: the usual perfect combination of great melodies and swooping atmospherics that you can dance to.
  3. Under The Radar
    80
    Their most innovative and unified record since Technique. [#9]
  4. A very strong -- albeit front-loaded -- album.
  5. Alternative Press
    80
    A fine distillation of everything New Order have been. [May 2005, p.176]
  6. When it's firing on all cylinders, Sirens' Call offers manic pop thrills that either recall the group's heyday, or slyly recalls the noise made by other people that were touched by New Order
  7. Unsurprisingly, the formula still works just fine, and in more than a couple spots, it’s revitalized and intensified to great effect.
  8. There is nothing here that pushes past what we expect from New Order in their current incarnation, but it is facile, shiny, bright and well-behaved around strangers.
  9. While great songs is something “Waiting For The Sirens’ Call” obviously lacks, it’s still a cracking New Order album - albeit one performed by a group all pushing 50 and mostly written about Bernard Sumner’s yacht.
  10. Uncut
    70
    If nothing here is quite touched by the hand of God, then maybe it's all the more engagingly human. [Apr 2005, p.104]
  11. An extremely catchy collection of solidly crafted pop songs in the familiar New Order idiom.
  12. But even if it's only half as good as it used to be, this Call sounds okay to us.
  13. New Musical Express (NME)
    60
    Touted as half 'Get Ready', half 'Technique', it lives up to every predictable stylistic retread that entails, to the point of self-parody.... Thank Christ, then, that the songs are so good. [26 Mar 2005, p.49]
  14. Blender
    60
    Zigzags between immensely beautiful and crushingly ordinary with disorienting regularity. [May 2005, p.122]
  15. In the context of New Order's catalog, it may sink to the bottom, but listening to a great (or at least once-great) band phone it in can at least occasionally be rewarding enough to make the effort worthwhile.
  16. Unfortunately, however, the adjectives that need to be attached to this record -- workmanlike, customary, unembarrassing -- aren't going to make music fans flood the record stores seeking copies.
  17. Too much of the album passes by in a pleasantly inconsequential blur.
  18. Q Magazine
    40
    A patchy affair. [Apr 2005, p.124]
  19. Mojo
    40
    There's little real sense of progression here... and at times New Order sound dreary and ordinary. [May 2005, p.96]
  20. There's one smashing standout here, and that's the closing remix of "Guilt Is a Useless Emotion," a thumping, serpentine slice of pure New Order circa "Blue Monday," but even that can't save this grave "No."
  21. Maybe their edge was lost in the lukewarm production. Maybe it was lost in Barney’s lyrics, which are as utterly meaningless as they have been for years now. Maybe it was just lost altogether.
  22. For the life of me I cannot fathom how people can claim this album is any sort of return to form.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. DB
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    loved it
  2. jyo_tirmayad
    Sep 2, 2006
    7
    It is a good solid effort. I don't play it very often because it's just not my fave New Order CD, but when I do play it, I wonder It is a good solid effort. I don't play it very often because it's just not my fave New Order CD, but when I do play it, I wonder why I don't play it more. Isn't that weird? Full Review »
  3. AndiA
    Jan 25, 2006
    3
    How the mighty have fallen! WAITING FOR THE SIRENS' CALL, unfortunately, lacks any semblance of inspiration or passion. Barney and Mr. How the mighty have fallen! WAITING FOR THE SIRENS' CALL, unfortunately, lacks any semblance of inspiration or passion. Barney and Mr. Hook have never sounded more generic; New Order have made an album that is as vapid, dull and thoroughly uninteresting as the lyrics to "Krafty." Avoid this one at all costs. Full Review »