Waiting For The Sirens' Call

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 43
  2. Negative: 5 out of 43

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChuckH
    May 20, 2005
    8
    I like the disc more now than when I first heard it. More importantly I can appreciate this disc for what it is; a band that remembers its roots and isn't affraid to grow. On my first run through I didn't care for much for it until I came across "Guilt..." then I parked the CD player on 'track repeat' for that one a few times (okay 10 times) and soaked it in like a I like the disc more now than when I first heard it. More importantly I can appreciate this disc for what it is; a band that remembers its roots and isn't affraid to grow. On my first run through I didn't care for much for it until I came across "Guilt..." then I parked the CD player on 'track repeat' for that one a few times (okay 10 times) and soaked it in like a starving plant soaking up sun and rain. That track is brilliant and what I've always loved about the band. Then I gave a better listen to the rest of the album. After a few more run throughs I found myself getting hooked on the other pieces and tracks. Soon I was thinking about different tracks in my head when I wasn't listening which is usually a good indication that I like a track. And the final measure of how good a song or disc is in the fact that it ends before you think it should. I put in "Get Ready" to compare it and I feel that "Sirens'" is stronger and more in depth musically, but we'll see if that changes in a few months when the new-ness wears off. Expand
  2. MacM
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    Admittedly, my first few listens resulted in a somewhat disappointed agreeability. It's GOOD but from my favourite band in the world I really hoped for GREAT. Gone was the immediate urgency of Get Ready. But further listening revealed a true 'grower' (remember those, pop fans?). The lushness is there, the urgency is not and what we actually have is an albu of great Admittedly, my first few listens resulted in a somewhat disappointed agreeability. It's GOOD but from my favourite band in the world I really hoped for GREAT. Gone was the immediate urgency of Get Ready. But further listening revealed a true 'grower' (remember those, pop fans?). The lushness is there, the urgency is not and what we actually have is an albu of great pop-sensibility that rewards repeated listens. However I fear it may be overlooked by the decreasing attention spans of Generation i-Pod. Expand
  3. SteveM
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    Fantastic, as usual. New Order never dissapoint. Very solid album, some songs stronger than others, highlight tracks include Who's Joe, Turn, and the title track.
  4. MAttR
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    The first listen of Sirens was a bit diappointing but after some time in the car this album began to evolve into a winner. The title track not often mentioned is a classic to be. I feel this album will have a lasting impression on how NO will be remembered.
  5. FredF
    Apr 29, 2005
    5
    Pleasant but innocuous. Bernard Sumners poorest lyrics to date, plus the fact that you've heard all these songs before maybe 20 years ago. Self reference turns into ripping ones self off. Still glad they are making music however.
  6. KerryB
    May 10, 2005
    10
    I also didn't like this latest issue from New Order, but after a few more listens, I can't get enough. I personally like "Who's Joe" much better than "Krafty". Also "Guilt is a Useless Emotion" has the hook that I remember so well from when I first discovered them in the 80s.
  7. JenS
    May 2, 2005
    9
    A great CD.. the New Order style, melodies and hooks you are used to, which is a great thing!
  8. DC
    May 3, 2005
    10
    Waiting for the Sirens Call, Turn, Morning Night and Day...some great New Order classics in the making.
  9. [Anonymous]
    May 4, 2005
    10
    It's too good to stop and listen to anything else.
  10. MFalcon
    May 5, 2005
    10
    New Order is still one of my favorite bands. I loved "Get Ready" and this album is just as great. I have all of their stuff, and I like them better than ever.
  11. MusicMaven
    Jun 1, 2005
    8
    As many have already said, this is their best batch of songs in the last 15 years. The band sound loose and relaxed, and even Barney's lyrics aren't too bad! As it goes with groups that have been around this long, this doesn't reach the heights of their classics, but it does stand up to the best from the new bands that owe them a large debt. (Interesting fact: Did you know As many have already said, this is their best batch of songs in the last 15 years. The band sound loose and relaxed, and even Barney's lyrics aren't too bad! As it goes with groups that have been around this long, this doesn't reach the heights of their classics, but it does stand up to the best from the new bands that owe them a large debt. (Interesting fact: Did you know the Killers were named for a fictional band in a New Order video?) Expand
  12. MCD
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    Love every track.
  13. PauloD
    Jun 2, 2005
    2
    for a band that have done so much hits and returned in 2001 with such a great and inspired album (called Get Ready), this one is really awful. i can only describe as "poor pop". maybe "krafty" is the only song that survive from this bad album.
  14. AndiA
    Jan 25, 2006
    3
    How the mighty have fallen! WAITING FOR THE SIRENS' CALL, unfortunately, lacks any semblance of inspiration or passion. Barney and Mr. Hook have never sounded more generic; New Order have made an album that is as vapid, dull and thoroughly uninteresting as the lyrics to "Krafty." Avoid this one at all costs.
  15. jyo_tirmayad
    Sep 2, 2006
    7
    It is a good solid effort. I don't play it very often because it's just not my fave New Order CD, but when I do play it, I wonder why I don't play it more. Isn't that weird?
  16. DanD.
    Apr 26, 2005
    9
    Solid effort all around. All songs are at worst listenable and at best, evoke memories of their 80's heyday. There is one sure fire brand new NO classic on the disc, Turn. Go buy it, you cheapskate.
  17. RussellES
    Apr 28, 2005
    9
    In this new millennium, if Get Ready was a revamped New Order
  18. Sean
    May 4, 2005
    2
    This is the worst thing they have ever done!
  19. Lochie
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    I had never heard of this band before i came to university, but after reading some reviews i thought i should get it and have a listen. I'm so glad i did, this album is incredible. And the weirdest thing is that I can't define why this album is so good, it just seems to fit together so well. My current album of the year...get it now, if a NO newbie likes it so much, imagine how I had never heard of this band before i came to university, but after reading some reviews i thought i should get it and have a listen. I'm so glad i did, this album is incredible. And the weirdest thing is that I can't define why this album is so good, it just seems to fit together so well. My current album of the year...get it now, if a NO newbie likes it so much, imagine how good it really is! Expand
  20. DavidM.
    Jun 5, 2005
    9
    Brilliant music from this band that continues to deliver well into their 3rd decade.
  21. DJohnson
    Jul 6, 2005
    9
    It's a great album
  22. dons
    Aug 17, 2005
    10
    the best!!
  23. DB
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    loved it
  24. MarkC
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    2 Words !!!!!! Pure Genius After going mad when listening to there previous album GET READY i thought those boys could not beat that but....... I think this album has just gone slightly past it i was sceptical at first as they turned down there guitars riffs a bit and incorporated a bit more of there TECHNIQUE style electronics. WHAT a lovely mixture after a few listens to the album i 2 Words !!!!!! Pure Genius After going mad when listening to there previous album GET READY i thought those boys could not beat that but....... I think this album has just gone slightly past it i was sceptical at first as they turned down there guitars riffs a bit and incorporated a bit more of there TECHNIQUE style electronics. WHAT a lovely mixture after a few listens to the album i Loved it. So uplifting but at the same time so heavy. Ok so New orders Lyrics have never made much sense but most bands talk crap on there songs but afew bands can pull it off by making the poor lyrics mix in well with the songs. when you have great tunes you just sing along to them anyway Who cares !!!! New order are getting Better. Nice One Boys carry on the good work A++ Expand
  25. JeffD
    Apr 26, 2005
    4
    Is this really from the same band responsible for some of the best music of the 1980's? Nearly every track sounds like it was written over a couple of drinks in an hour or so, and the album as a whole lacks a single highlight. Listenable pop music perhaps, but for something really memorable look at Brotherhood or Republic. Disappointing.
  26. vermindeathstack
    Apr 27, 2005
    5
    I really loved Get Ready, an album that I thought out shone even Technique. But this one is a bit of a disappointment. Most of the songs sound uninspired, and pass by like background music. The title track, however, is a real gem, classic New Order that rivals anything they
  27. KhanW
    May 12, 2005
    9
    On first listen I wasn't that into it, but after the third time through the hooks finally got me and I haven't stopped listening to it since! Have been a New Order fan since the early '80's -- more than half my life, and while this may not be quite up to the standard of their early work, it's still a rockin good time.
  28. SakesonT
    Jul 19, 2005
    9
    Clearly & Perfectly Britpop
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. New Musical Express (NME)
    60
    Touted as half 'Get Ready', half 'Technique', it lives up to every predictable stylistic retread that entails, to the point of self-parody.... Thank Christ, then, that the songs are so good. [26 Mar 2005, p.49]
  2. Blender
    60
    Zigzags between immensely beautiful and crushingly ordinary with disorienting regularity. [May 2005, p.122]
  3. Their best since Technique.