Wake Up!

  • Record Label: Believe
  • Release Date: Nov 27, 2015
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 34
  2. Negative: 13 out of 34
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2015
    10
    The illest pope this side of heaven drops the dopest tracks since God wrote Silent Night. Immaculately conceived, Wake Up! brings into question why we would ever listen to anything else ever. If you're looking for music to get turnt to, but also be forgiven for getting turnt as you're getting turnt, this is the album for you.
    Preach.
  2. Dec 1, 2015
    10
    Dope Francis delivers with the most savage album of 2015. With his debut album "Wake Up!" he is telling all these non-believers to get their ass up and pray they asses don't get caught lacking in the streets when Dope Francis is driving by. With lines such as, "When I pull out the nine these **** better pray. Cross them up like it was Ash Wednesday," it's hard to say that this isn't anDope Francis delivers with the most savage album of 2015. With his debut album "Wake Up!" he is telling all these non-believers to get their ass up and pray they asses don't get caught lacking in the streets when Dope Francis is driving by. With lines such as, "When I pull out the nine these **** better pray. Cross them up like it was Ash Wednesday," it's hard to say that this isn't an AOTY contender. Dope Francis really surprised me with this one and I hope we hear something of this caliber from him sometime soon. Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2015
    7
    While Francis P cuts his teeth on such free spirited over-the-top block party jams as "Wake Up! Go! Go! Forward!" and soul searching just-try-not-to-cut-yourself anthems as "Por Qué Sufren los Niños?”, his debut doesn’t hold a candle to his obvious inspirations, Public Enemy’s Fear of a Black Planet and Fleetwood Mac’s Rumors.
  4. Dec 1, 2015
    4
    Pretty harmless, but pretty pointless as well. A great opportunity to do something really special and interesting is merely reduced to nothing more than the popular Pope's speeches overlaying some rather mellow easy listening music
  5. Dec 5, 2015
    4
    I enjoyed listening to it more than Coldplay's new album. As far as the grand scheme of things goes---I think I'll stay a Buddhist. Thanks anyway, Padre.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jan 4, 2016
    45
    Although it is difficult to imagine any scenario in which listening to this is entirely appropriate, the album was clearly intended as an inspirational totem. Its total strangeness only complicates that effort.
  2. Dec 22, 2015
    60
    To a casual listener, it might be a little much, but considering the Pope released an album with an electric guitar, he deserves a little credit for having some edge. Whether listeners are religious or not, these are messages that are universally comforting in dark times.
  3. Dec 3, 2015
    50
    Wake Up! exists at a tremendously strange midpoint between a two-hour mass and a corporate recruitment video. It’s like you drank a bunch of cough syrup and went to Live Aid: The Vatican.