User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 39
  3. Negative: 1 out of 39

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    As well as Kurt Vile's infectious songwriting and vocal delivery that charms you with bucketloads of personality, what is most beautiful about this record is the production and the instrumentation. The instrumental section in Goldtone, for example, is heavenly the warm vibraphone and hazy percussion give the track such a nice, summery feel. Over all, this record is a masterpiece ofAs well as Kurt Vile's infectious songwriting and vocal delivery that charms you with bucketloads of personality, what is most beautiful about this record is the production and the instrumentation. The instrumental section in Goldtone, for example, is heavenly the warm vibraphone and hazy percussion give the track such a nice, summery feel. Over all, this record is a masterpiece of production, and succeeds similarly due to Vile himself, who presents himself as a wonderfully engaging singer-songwriter. Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    Great album. A really enjoyable spin from beginning to end. The songs are relaxed and the lyrics are refreshingly original and sometimes humorous. Vile's vocal delivery is unique and it really works.
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Wakin on a Pretty Daze is Kurt Vile’s follow up to the critically acclaimed 2011 release, Smoke Ring for My Halo. I remember reading a Kurt Vile review on Pitchfork by Jayson Greene that summed up his music perfectly. When you go to listen to a Kurt vile record, it is like reaching for a glass of water. It isn’t going to blow you away with anything overly sweet, but it is going to beWakin on a Pretty Daze is Kurt Vile’s follow up to the critically acclaimed 2011 release, Smoke Ring for My Halo. I remember reading a Kurt Vile review on Pitchfork by Jayson Greene that summed up his music perfectly. When you go to listen to a Kurt vile record, it is like reaching for a glass of water. It isn’t going to blow you away with anything overly sweet, but it is going to be satisfying. That is exactly the analogy I would use for the new album as well. There is something about the way it effortlessly flows through the speakers that sounds so natural and just plain cool. This is a man who is confidently making the music that he wants to make and you get the sense that even if no one was listening, he would still be doing it...

    Read more http://www.recomedia.net/music/kurt-vile-wakin-on-a-pretty-daze/
    Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2013
    9
    This is a really good album. Unique and direct. Kurt Vile continues to make music that truly conveys his personality and has no feel of pollutants of producers or commercialism.
  5. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    I joined this website just to write a review for this record. Top notch songwriting from beginning to end, first rate production, and endless creativity and attention to detail. It seems effortless and bland at first, but Wakin' On A Pretty Daze rewards you further with every listen. I haven't heard a better record since Destroyer's Kaputt. This record WILL BE a classic some day. So getI joined this website just to write a review for this record. Top notch songwriting from beginning to end, first rate production, and endless creativity and attention to detail. It seems effortless and bland at first, but Wakin' On A Pretty Daze rewards you further with every listen. I haven't heard a better record since Destroyer's Kaputt. This record WILL BE a classic some day. So get ahead of the times and some day you can tell your children you knew of Kurt Vile before Rolling Stone actually gave him a good review. I'm in love with every second of this beast. It's good to be alive. Collapse
  6. May 8, 2014
    9
    Wakin on a Pretty Daze is an album with long ten minute at the most tunes that remind you of clear blue skies and bright summer mornings, and with a bit of soft rock combined here and there. So the question we must ask is, why must we leave such a refreshing and uplifting album such as this?
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    78
    By the time the album closes on the warm, wandering "Goldtone," Vile and the listener remain dazed and confused, but smiling.
  2. May 15, 2013
    80
    Daze demands time in order to fully appreciate it, promising new discoveries with successive listens.
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    80
    Vile’s drawl communicates isolation with a contradictory urgency. Somehow, Pretty’s spiritual resignation sounds like an invitation.