Walking On A Dream - Empire of the Sun
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Dec 13, 2011
    80
    This is the sound of the Noughties – electro enough without being harsh, interesting without being over-cool, quirky without being weird. Empire Of The Sun have cracked the perfect blend of fond reflection and sexy new frontier frisson. If this is what the future sounds like, then it's going to be beautiful.
  2. They're silly but their songs demand to be taken seriously, just like Prince, Ultravox and Bowie. And yes, they're like MGMT--in that they're great.
  3. The group's debut album, Walking On A Dream, is a highly visual experience. [Spring 2009, p.71]
  4. His latest spin-off project sees Steele's musical wanderlust pay dividends. [Mar 2009, p.98]
  5. Although Empire tries mightily, they collapse underneath too many ideas before the record is even half over.
  6. Dec 13, 2011
    60
    When they are on, they are very good, as their relaxing – yet strangely dance-worthy – grooves seem almost effortless. Yet, way too often, the duo simply bite off more than they can chew, meaning that when they are off, a 2nd listen almost seems like a chore.
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    60
    Is Walking On A Dream the sound of things to come then? Clearly not. Empire Of The Sun's grand ambitions are certainly worth applauding, but unfortunately they amount to nothing more than a cold and pale facsimile of the superior conquests of others who have trod these lands before.
  8. 60
    The opening tunes are strong, but in the later half mannered singing and pretentiousness bring back memories of the Thompson Twins. [Mar 2009, p.110]
  9. 60
    'Half Mast' and the 'Without You' are exquisite pangs of millionaire's melancholy, even if there aren't enough of them to sustain a whole album. [Mar 2009, p.85]
  10. 60
    Walking on a Dream initially sounds as familiar as montage music in an HBO midday movie, but it will haunt your dreams.
  11. Empire of the Sun's debut offering of electro-pop experiments and dancefloor daydreams is well timed indeed, arriving just as the buzz surrounding MGMT's "Oracular Spectacular" has started to recede.
  12. Their debut sounds like Europop on Special K.
  13. I applaud the duo's unpredictability but wish they would calm down a bit.
  14. It's obvious that they've spent a while cultivating a specific look, but they seem to have only spent half of that time on the album.
  15. The album's surfaces gleam, but its flower-power proselytising never quite dispels the notion of Empire of the Sun as MGMT copyists with pretensions.
  16. Much of the album bathes radio-friendly funk-rock in a kind of Balearic after-glow--it conjures that feeling of bittersweet triumph many will have felt as last night becomes this morning, the conquering of a dark that is now needed if sleep and recovery from such an act is to be possible.
  17. Unfortunately, despite the well-developed '80s image, the music emulated is not anything worth reviving.
  18. 40
    Thankfully this album is only 10 tracks long, otherwise I don't think I could have sat all the way through it. I had trouble enough as it is.
  19. Sadly, the intrigue and theatricality wane midway through "Delta Bay" and never return.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    3
    Walking On a Dream is the perfect example of why arrangement of songs matters on an album. Overall, this has to be the worst arrangement of tracks I have ever seen, which completely destroys any chance the album had of being listenable. Nonetheless, the arrangement could not have even helped Walking On a Dream enough to be great. In truth, the only good tracks on the whole album are the first four, which, after the roughest transition between tracks ever, is followed by nothing better than mediocrity. The only except to this mediocrity is "Swordfish Hotkiss Night" (I would have rather had another mediocre track), which I hope this band is ashamed of. After all, I am ashamed to say I have listened to it. Full Review »
  2. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    amazing album one of my favourite of thew 21st century Every song is decent and there are about 6 songs that could be singles Been listening to this album for years Full Review »
  3. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Absolutely top album, full of banging tunes and rabid experimentalism aplenty. Recommended for all. And that includes the second half of the album - Country and Tiger By My Side being two of thier best tracks. Maybe give Without You and Tiger By My Side a miss, but everything else is simply sublime. Full Review »