Walking With The Beggar Boys Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: On this sixth album, the Athens, GA band's lineup has been expanded to include guitarist Eric Harris (Olivia Tremor Control) and bassist Craig McQuiston (The Glands). Vic Chesnutt guests on the title track.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Elf Power has made its most straightforward album--and, perhaps not coincidentally, cooked up its most winning batch of songs.
  2. Walking With the Beggar Boys has so few bells and whistles that it might not make it through your earwax on the first listen, but these songs are the most rewarding the band has created.
  3. After a few listens Walking With the Beggar Boys reveals itself as a near perfect little pop record.
  4. Walking emphasizes songwriting over gimmickry; even divorced from the studio fireworks, the tunes are engaging, hummable, memorable, and will only grow more so with repeat spins.
  5. Elf Power seems to be confined by the pop formula rather than doing much to improve upon it. [#7]
  6. About as riveting as a glass of water. [Jun 2004, p.97]
  7. Heavily influenced by the stylings of '60s and '70s groups like the Byrds and the guitar rock of T. Rex, Elf Power's effort at mature songwriting simply plays out as FM-lite.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. BrianM
    Apr 12, 2004
    This album was my first exposure to Elf Power. There's not a bad song from beginning to finish. Solid album and beautiful melodies that'll keep you humming for hours. Best album released this year. Expand