• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2004
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 2 out of 27

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SarahW
    Jan 5, 2005
    10
    I'm listening to it now and I adore it. On the whole, not quite as opulent as Want One, but the quieter moments on this album are what make it one of his best to date.
  2. AliceAlice
    Mar 3, 2007
    8
    It's like a magical musical mystery journey...I love it.
  3. GaryR
    Dec 6, 2004
    8
    Very interesting - especially the uncompromising opening track "Agnus Dei", it sounds like Rufus is singing a raga alapana co-written by Richard Strauss or Wagner - definitely not for those looking for any kind of "modern" sensibility.
  4. GoblinskiL
    Jun 1, 2005
    3
    The most self-obsessed, self-indulgent album I have ever heard. It's lavish to the point of being sickly with no effort to write a proper melody, to sing beyond a lazy nasal drone and no compassion towards anyone but Rufus Wainwright.
  5. PhilippeD
    Jul 24, 2007
    9
    Again, a very personnal album. Little Sister, The Art Teacher and Waiting For A Dream are amazing songs. He's voice is simply beautiful and he sounds like nobody else. Keep making those albums Rufus.
  6. JessicaK
    Nov 17, 2004
    9
    I don't believe that I've ever heard anything quite like this before. The scope of this album is amazing; the lyrics and orchestrations, beautiful, haunting, and tragic. Want Two is unusual, different from Wainwright's other work, but the difference shows the artist's progression and daring. I have waited long for this album, and Want Two has proved well worth the wait.
  7. RobertE
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    Amazing
  8. AndyH
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    He's up there with Nick Drake and this proves it.
  9. madsl
    Dec 1, 2005
    7
    Sure rufus is a great talent but he still has a problem of how to use it to the best effect. His singing voice is obviously very good but the way he uses it is tiring as well...plus the melodies on Want two is not as sharp as his earlier material. Still we are lucky to have people like him working in music and contributing to the musical education of todays younger generation
  10. PhilJ
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    This is possibly the best album i have ever heard, since Want one.
  11. JA,Portugal
    Apr 25, 2005
    10
    rich in texture and touching.i love it!
  12. EyeballTickler
    Jun 29, 2006
    0
    absolutely bo****ks!!!!
  13. PattyG
    Nov 18, 2004
    9
    Lush - excitingly different. What a talent!
  14. DonB
    Nov 22, 2004
    8
    An audacious effort, which is saying something after Want One, which I slightly prefer. There are truly brilliant, soaring and moving moments. But at times it suffers under its own ambitious weight; you might be allowed to play some tracks only right before diving into a battle over life and death. Still, if such moments need a soundtrack, they have found one here. Can't wait to hear An audacious effort, which is saying something after Want One, which I slightly prefer. There are truly brilliant, soaring and moving moments. But at times it suffers under its own ambitious weight; you might be allowed to play some tracks only right before diving into a battle over life and death. Still, if such moments need a soundtrack, they have found one here. Can't wait to hear the next one. Expand
  15. joser
    Mar 13, 2005
    10
    Muito Bom. Rufus continua em grande forma.
  16. RobbieC
    Nov 10, 2007
    6
    Good, but not great. The ugly step-sister of Want One, which was amazing, ostentatious, and honest, this album is simply pretentious. But still sometimes good.
  17. christos
    Nov 26, 2004
    7
    it's not his best recording but it has some of his best songs
  18. JonB
    Dec 13, 2004
    10
    Rufus Wainwright makes yet another amazing album. The music is breathtaking and you won't find a more talented artist working in music today. Want two is the best album of 2004.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Demanding and artful, he just may be this generation's Joni Mitchell. [5 Dec 2004]
  2. His voice is beautiful, his phrasing adventurous and his arrangements intense.... But the material could stand a bit of pruning
  3. It didn't seem possible, but Wainwright gets more florid and over-the-top with each new album. [19 Nov 2004, p.82]