Want Two - Rufus Wainwright
Want Two Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singer's fourth album features the same producer (Marius deVries) and backup musicians as his previous outing, 'Want One.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Demanding and artful, he just may be this generation's Joni Mitchell. [5 Dec 2004]
  2. 90
    More, and even better, of the same--one of the dead-cert Albums Of The Year. [Album of the Month, Apr 2005, p.96]
  3. 80
    A little too much. [Apr 2005, p.90]
  4. Want Two disposes of almost all of the commercial elements that had been blamed for One's downfall without revealing a satisfying work in the process.
  5. A quieter, more intimate, and more demanding set than its predecessor, Want Two offers few of Want One's sweeping pleasures, but it cultivates a creeping beauty that's as satisfying in its own right.
  6. 67
    Sounds like the morning after, confused and calm all at once. [Jan 2005, p.100]
  7. Where Want One emphasized his ability to soar, Want Two drowns him in costumes; his range actually sounds restricted when you hear the same droopy-lidded croon against such varying backdrops.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. SarahW
    Jan 5, 2005
    10
    I'm listening to it now and I adore it. On the whole, not quite as opulent as Want One, but the quieter moments on this album are what I'm listening to it now and I adore it. On the whole, not quite as opulent as Want One, but the quieter moments on this album are what make it one of his best to date. Collapse
  2. PhilJ
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    This is possibly the best album i have ever heard, since Want one.
  3. AndyH
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    He's up there with Nick Drake and this proves it.
  4. JessicaK
    Nov 17, 2004
    9
    I don't believe that I've ever heard anything quite like this before. The scope of this album is amazing; the lyrics and I don't believe that I've ever heard anything quite like this before. The scope of this album is amazing; the lyrics and orchestrations, beautiful, haunting, and tragic. Want Two is unusual, different from Wainwright's other work, but the difference shows the artist's progression and daring. I have waited long for this album, and Want Two has proved well worth the wait. Expand
  5. GaryR
    Dec 6, 2004
    8
    Very interesting - especially the uncompromising opening track "Agnus Dei", it sounds like Rufus is singing a raga alapana co-written by Very interesting - especially the uncompromising opening track "Agnus Dei", it sounds like Rufus is singing a raga alapana co-written by Richard Strauss or Wagner - definitely not for those looking for any kind of "modern" sensibility. Expand
  6. madsl
    Dec 1, 2005
    7
    Sure rufus is a great talent but he still has a problem of how to use it to the best effect. His singing voice is obviously very good but the Sure rufus is a great talent but he still has a problem of how to use it to the best effect. His singing voice is obviously very good but the way he uses it is tiring as well...plus the melodies on Want two is not as sharp as his earlier material. Still we are lucky to have people like him working in music and contributing to the musical education of todays younger generation Expand
  7. EyeballTickler
    Jun 29, 2006
    0
    absolutely bo****ks!!!!

See all 18 User Reviews