Warning - Green Day
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 63
  2. Negative: 3 out of 63

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. j30
    Sep 21, 2011
    9
    Really an underrated album. A departure in a sound they've been so comfortable with. It's my second favorite album from them. Up to this point they had been rehashing ideas from Dookie. This, poor critically received record, was their much needed creative breakthrough.
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    Excellent work by Green Day. I think it's better than Nimrod, although there isn't a real masterpiece (like Good Riddance). However Minority, Waiting and Macy's Day Parade are nice. I also like Warning and Castaway.
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    Green Day ventures out of of the punk arena into folk rock and pop rock. The album is enjoyable and well-written. Thematically, their music remains the same but musically different. They show newfound maturity and development in their new style. "Minority" is full of 1-liners and catchy lyrics without going too pop.
  4. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    Green day has always given albums where every song is good, and this is no different. Great lyrics, and catchy beats. Every song will be etched into your memory.
  5. Feb 1, 2011
    9
    I really love this album! Even though its not Green Day's best to date, I enjoy it for being different and fresh. When everyone wanted them to just make another Dookie album and return to their roots they put out a very smart and mature record that captured what was going on with them at the time in their lives. Warning starts off with acoustic guitars and ends with a beautiful ballad. AllI really love this album! Even though its not Green Day's best to date, I enjoy it for being different and fresh. When everyone wanted them to just make another Dookie album and return to their roots they put out a very smart and mature record that captured what was going on with them at the time in their lives. Warning starts off with acoustic guitars and ends with a beautiful ballad. All the way this album is solid and Billie wrote some amazing lyrics for this record! Its very different from their previews albums but a great experimental album for the time! Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2014
    7
    For me, clearly worst album from Green Day since they become popular, Little disappointing, especially after great "street" pop-punk album Insomniac, when they`re elevating their self-loathing and by american symbols-powered sense of loyalty to place, where they`re grown. But still not bad, even, very good. The sound and pace of songs are too much not-punk, but, well, it was an album ofFor me, clearly worst album from Green Day since they become popular, Little disappointing, especially after great "street" pop-punk album Insomniac, when they`re elevating their self-loathing and by american symbols-powered sense of loyalty to place, where they`re grown. But still not bad, even, very good. The sound and pace of songs are too much not-punk, but, well, it was an album of ex-rockers, in time, when their glory looks gone forever. Expand
  7. Jun 11, 2014
    8
    Green Day, Green Day, Green Day. No wonder you never attempt anything new. For years in the 90s, Green Day released album after album of short, mediocre punk rock music. Their 1997 album Nimrod began to change things up a bit, but it was still, for the most part, punk. Then, Green Day made this album; an album which, in my opinion, is one of their best records, and is by far my personalGreen Day, Green Day, Green Day. No wonder you never attempt anything new. For years in the 90s, Green Day released album after album of short, mediocre punk rock music. Their 1997 album Nimrod began to change things up a bit, but it was still, for the most part, punk. Then, Green Day made this album; an album which, in my opinion, is one of their best records, and is by far my personal favorite Green Day record. It's so different, and not-punk. It doesn't have useless cursing every other lyric, and when cursing is there it feels entirely necessary, and it feels like it's there to prove a point. Musically it's great, like usual. Guitar-wise it's one of their best;with Billie Joe Armstrong relying less on power-chords, and more on finger-pick-y, major/minor chords. Bass-wise it's equally as good, but that's just because bassist Mike Dirnt is one of the best bassists that doesn't rely solely on slapping to be great (i.e Flea). It's not drummer Tre Cools best album, but it does feature some great drumming from one of the best drummers ever (key phrase: one of the best). However, all this in mind, this album is by far Green Day's least successful album; critically, commercially, and fan-wise. It has, however, become one of those albums which people now see the beauty in (like Smashing Pumpkin's Adore), but it's all forsaken by the fact that it's almost ten years after the album came out, it doesn't matter anymore. This is one of two Green Day albums where they tried something totally interesting and new; the other being American Idiot. This album was stylistically new, at least by Green Day standards, and American Idiot was huge, and grandiose, and simply epic. The epic-ness would be repeated on 21st Century Breakdown, and the albums following (Uno!, Dos!, and Tre!), would be their attempt at a return to their punk roots (key word: attempt). This album does, however, have it's share of punk quickies, but very few, with only three that I'd call punk in the sense that it's retreading old territory; "Fashion Victim" (great song), "Castaway" (good song), and "Jackass" (okay song). All the other songs bring something new to the table, from acoustic-y folk rock ("Warning"), to polka-sounding European marches ("Misery"), to early 2000s pop jams ("Waiting"), to simply beautiful acoustic ballads ("Macy's Day Parade"). I'd say there's only one song that doesn't really do much for me, which would be "Jackass". That isn't to say that all the other songs are great either, "Castaway" drags a bit at only 3:53, featuring very repetitive, trite choruses, and "Deadbeat Holiday" is rather unfocused shifting clumsily from verses attempting to sound, for lack of a better word, epic, to pop/punk choruses. However, the other nine songs on the album truly make up for these slight faults. This almost flawless collection of songs, pitted with Green Day's, as always, tight production style, leaves the listener with a solid album, sure to leave him/her with an urge to listen through the albums again.

    There are two songs which didn't really fit in the narrative of my review, which I feel the need to mention; "Church on Sunday" and "Minority". "Church on Sunday" is a song I can connect with a lot, especially (and I know I'm taking it ("If I promise to go to church on Sunday/ will you go with me on Friday night?") too literally, and that's on purpose) because I'm a Jew living in America, a mostly Christian country. Even if I'm not a practicing Jew, it's still very connectable, and is just in general a great song about compromise. "Minority" on the other hand is a great cross between folk rock and punk rock, with, apparently, political undertones. Personally, I've never been able to precisely distinguish said political undertones, and really only see it being political as people constantly describe it as such.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    80
    Old fans who would have enjoyed such messages in the past might not like them packaged with such clean music, but they'd be missing the point. Real old school punks know that punk is about following your own path, and that's just what Green Day are doing.
  2. Crucially, his knack for simple punk tunes remains unchanged; also crucially, these do fine at moderate tempos, and one even gives off a whiff of Brecht-Weill. There are worse ways to come down off a multiplatinum high-lots of them.
  3. Green Day's melodies are as delicious as ever, and the band continues to integrate acoustic guitar into its sound without getting all granola on us. But as a songwriter, Armstrong's neither here nor there, unable to fully abandon his goofball roots but not stretching far enough to score the breakaway great album he's always seemed capable of writing.