Warnings/Promises

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BenJ
    Mar 21, 2005
    8
    I've been rather surprised at the critical reception of Idlewild's latest album. Whilst it's taken a further step away from the band's early thrash/punk roots, it's just another intelligent and melodic record from a band not quite willing to become another dull Coldplay clone. It also shows a strong progession from "100 Broken Windows" and "The Remote Part". I've been rather surprised at the critical reception of Idlewild's latest album. Whilst it's taken a further step away from the band's early thrash/punk roots, it's just another intelligent and melodic record from a band not quite willing to become another dull Coldplay clone. It also shows a strong progession from "100 Broken Windows" and "The Remote Part". Mature, yes - but impressive with it! Expand
  2. OliverP
    May 30, 2005
    8
    It is certainly as good as 100 Broken Windows or The Remote Part, but there are some good songs here amongst a few that are admittedly not up to their usual high standards.
  3. AndrewJ
    Nov 6, 2005
    9
    Extremely listenable with outstanding harmonies at the root of all the best songs. 'Not just sometimes but always' and 'I understand it' are outstanding highlights. Fairplay to Idlewild.
  4. LinusO
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    It's a monumental grower, just give it time! Maybe not as good as 100 Broken Windows but no records in the world are...
  5. NikiM
    Sep 10, 2005
    9
    Having had this album for sometime now I can't recommend it highly enought. Idlewild continue to improve with each recording for me. While I was initially disappointed with this album the more I hear each track the more I fall in love with it. Their best yet!
  6. HenryJ
    Oct 26, 2005
    9
    Idlewild's "Warnings/Promises" brings a lot of variety to the band's style; the album's diversity really reflects the band's ability to try new things.
  7. NeilY
    Apr 21, 2005
    9
    A great refinement of the sound the band developed on The Remote Part. Well worth listening to and deserving a wider audience than it will likely get.
  8. ChelseaM
    Sep 22, 2006
    8
    This is not their best CD, I don't know if they'll ever top The Remote Part, but it still inherently Idlewild. No one else could capture their sound. Best song of the year, afterall...
  9. RossD
    Mar 25, 2005
    9
    Critics of this record seem to want Idlewild to make the same record over and over again. But you can't listen to "I Understand it" or "Love Steals us From Loneliness" without realzing that Idewild have grown tremendously in their songwriting: and I'm damned glad! This record will seep into your brain. Long live Idlewild!
  10. ScottA
    Mar 28, 2005
    7
    Look, sometimes you have to like a record simply for what it is, rather than hating it for what you wanted it to be. Which is very much the case with this, Idlewild
  11. keithn
    Aug 31, 2005
    8
    Listen to it. Let it grow. an excellent album well worth listening to again and again
  12. matta
    Sep 21, 2005
    8
    While not as good as The Remote Part, this is a solid outing for the band and even though there is no song like American English or Live in a Hiding Place, the album is very consistent.
  13. Aug 15, 2011
    9
    "Don't tell me your afraid of the past, its only the future that didn't last" This lyric made me see my whole life in a different perspective and this whole album just like The Remote Part is full of these lyrical gems.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Woomble’s lyrics, while literate, are never quite as clever as his supporters would like to believe.
  2. ‘Warnings / Promises’ is the work of a band pushing itself to the limits of its generous, but ultimately not boundless musical ability.
  3. Mojo
    60
    There are times when their admiration for R.E.M. burns a little too brightly... but overall this marks another step forward. [Mar 2005, p.100]