Warrior - Ke$ha
  • Band Name: Ke$ha
  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Dec 4, 2012
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 195 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 195

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 30, 2013
    8
    Ke$ha não abandonou totalmente suas origens, mas criou novas raízes, como as do Rock'n'Roll, seu vocal deixa a desejar, mas isso compensado com as letras envolventes e profundas... o que se pode dizer que um album bem dirty, com destaque para, Dirty Love (feat. Iggy Pop), Wonderland (feat. Patrick Carney), Only Wanna Dance With You (feat. The Strokes).
  2. Jul 15, 2014
    7
    I believe the album cover says it all. Ke$ha stands, like a ferocious Eve teleported from the first week of creation, shrouded in sparkles. Ke$ha’s ready to kick some ass and she isn’t going to let anyone even try to stop her.
    Although this album resembles Animal and Cannibal, Ke$ha ups the ante this time by throwing some pop-rock into her songs. Ke$ha had stated that “people say that
    I believe the album cover says it all. Ke$ha stands, like a ferocious Eve teleported from the first week of creation, shrouded in sparkles. Ke$ha’s ready to kick some ass and she isn’t going to let anyone even try to stop her.
    Although this album resembles Animal and Cannibal, Ke$ha ups the ante this time by throwing some pop-rock into her songs. Ke$ha had stated that “people say that rock and roll is dead, and it’s my mission and my goal to resurrect it in the form of pop music…” and she really does do a damn decent job of fitting it in.
    My favorite song on here, hands down, without question, is “Wonderland”. Not because of the lack of Auto-Tune or the fact that Patrick Carney of the Black Keys plays the drums, but because it is the first time I’ve heard Ke$ha slow life down and let the listeners know that even though she is a bonafide badass, her life is much more complicated. And get this: Ke$ha wishes she could back to the time where life was simple before the fame, where she had close friends, when she was young, reckless, and hopeful, when she called her car “home”, and most of all, when she faced an uncertain future and didn’t give a ****
    Ke$ha just wants to be a kid for her entire life. And that was when I instantly fell in love with her music, because I feel the same exact way.
    Who doesn’t want to party 24/7, have sex, ingest unknown drugs, and drink countless amounts of alcohol with no lasting repercussions? In the end, it’s the only thing our heart desires until the day we die.
    If I may, we all…want to make the most of the night like we’re gonna die young.
    Right?
    I would say that Ke$ha stepped aside from her usual “I don’t give a let’s party” attitude a little in Warrior and opened up to us. It’s not often that you hear celebrities wish for the days before fame. It’s not often you hear punk-rock and pop-rock being incorporated into a album these days. I mean come on, Iggy Pop is on this album! When was the last time you heard Iggy Pop on the radio? And the Strokes?!? My third favorite band is on a Ke$ha album! I don’t care if all they have is Julian Casablancas singing “I just want to dance with you” over and over again, it’s brilliant! Not to mention the kick-ass guitar solo…and Gold Trans Am is a horny, obnoxious, and hilarious ballad of having sex in the back of a gold sports car. Would you expect anything else from her?
    Ke$ha created a fine piece of work with Warrior. I laughed, I danced, I pondered existence. Ke$ha only added to her reputation as being the hardest female rocker today, and sounds like she had a real fun time doing it.
    Expand
  3. Dec 16, 2014
    9
    It's hard to know what the best album of her because all are good, but this can be overcome some of the other, the quality in every song, her vocals that improve and all the songs that make you want to hear them insatiably, a great undoubtedly album.
    Highlights: Gold Trans Am and Supernatural
    Lows: Past Lives and Love Into The Light
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    Desculpa para a maioria do público, o auto tune nesse álbum vem em uma taxa bem menor do que em trabalhos antigos. Warrior nada mais é que um álbum forte, com músicas feitas para hitar, letras e batidas animadas e surpreendentes. Supernatural, All The Matters e Crazy Kids mostram fortemente a personalidade musical de Ke$ha que em nenhum momento foiDesculpa para a maioria do público, o auto tune nesse álbum vem em uma taxa bem menor do que em trabalhos antigos. Warrior nada mais é que um álbum forte, com músicas feitas para hitar, letras e batidas animadas e surpreendentes. Supernatural, All The Matters e Crazy Kids mostram fortemente a personalidade musical de Ke$ha que em nenhum momento foi corrompida durante os anos em que ela esteve presente no mercado musical . A balada Last Goodbye, com uma composição simples, porém unida com o instrumental e a voz, soa como um "love song adolescente", o suficiente para produzir pequenos apertos no coração de quem ouve. Ke$ha, mais do que nunca, se demonstrou uma grande artista, merecedora de bons charts. Expand
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    After two long years of waiting, Ke$ha is back and better than ever. I was skeptical at first when I read that she would be dropping auto-tune and bring in guitars and rock infused sound to make a whole new genre: **** pop. But after listening to it, I am impressed! Her first album Animal was just the generic pop album where auto tune overshadowed her singing skills. I can really hear theAfter two long years of waiting, Ke$ha is back and better than ever. I was skeptical at first when I read that she would be dropping auto-tune and bring in guitars and rock infused sound to make a whole new genre: **** pop. But after listening to it, I am impressed! Her first album Animal was just the generic pop album where auto tune overshadowed her singing skills. I can really hear the rock sounds especially in Dirty Love and in Gold Trans Am (one of my favorites). Stand out tracks include: Warrior, Crazy Kids, Wherever You Are, Supernatural, Love Into The Light and Gold Trans Am. You can really tell how much work Ms. Ke$ha put into this album over the past two years, and I can now say that it is one of the best pop albums of the past 5 years, it was worth the wait. 9/10 Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Without a doubt one of the best albums of the year. Although it's disappointing that the best tracks on the album were on the deluxe version, Gold Trans Am, Past Lives, & Last Goodbye are some of the best songs she's ever made.
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    Well, the party girl is back and with this album she did a great job. with the early singles I didn't expect a good album out of her, but when I listened to the album I said "Wow!!! now it sounds good." there's no doubt that "Warrior" is her best record yet and it's so fun that she gets emotional on some tracks like "Love into the Light" and a deluxe edition track "Our Last Goodbye".Well, the party girl is back and with this album she did a great job. with the early singles I didn't expect a good album out of her, but when I listened to the album I said "Wow!!! now it sounds good." there's no doubt that "Warrior" is her best record yet and it's so fun that she gets emotional on some tracks like "Love into the Light" and a deluxe edition track "Our Last Goodbye". she's still fun. she's here to rock the party. Expand
  8. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    This is by far the best album of Ke$ha's so far. The purpose of what "Warrior" is all about is strongly expressed in the majority of her songs! I liked how she showed her creativity and originality in her music. I'm glad how she decided to use "Die Young" as her debut single before the realise of her album. It captivates the audience that she was aiming for, which obviously captivated me.This is by far the best album of Ke$ha's so far. The purpose of what "Warrior" is all about is strongly expressed in the majority of her songs! I liked how she showed her creativity and originality in her music. I'm glad how she decided to use "Die Young" as her debut single before the realise of her album. It captivates the audience that she was aiming for, which obviously captivated me. I recommend it strongly. Expand
  9. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best albums of the year, and definitely the best pop album of the year. It has so many standout tracks, they are all good. Recommend it strongly.
  10. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    Ke$ha just wanna have fun! With its auto-tune and the dub-step beats, "Warriors" is her best album so far. If there's "Michael Learns to Rock", then I'd say Ke$ha Learns to Rock! My fave tracks are "Warriors", the old hippie rock "Die Young", "C'Mon" and "Supernatural" I like it :)
  11. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Warrior is undeniably one of the best pop rock albums of the year. All tracks are adventurous, amalgamating various genres such as pop, dance, EDM, country, and surprisingly rock; and hey Ke-dollar-sign-ha nailed it this time! The opening song "Warrior" is indeed a perfect song to begin with, and the following tracks "Die Young" and "C' Mon" are fresh party dance anthems. Moreover, who else can rhyme "sabre-toothed tiger" and "warm Budweiser" better than K$? "Crazy Kids" is another standout track, lyrically reminiscent of her previous No. 1 hit "We R Who We R", but sonically adventurous as well.
    The second half of the album is also golden; "Dirty Love" "Wonderland", "Love Into The Light", and "Gold Trans Am" accentuate how she can really sing and belt, and strongly shows that she does not only sing trashy party hits, but also country-rock with deep and honest lyrics. In fact, most of the tracks in her sophomore album are experimental, yet still contain catchy Ke$ha-ish hooks and irresistible beats that everyone loves. With the aid of her totally-i-don't-give-a-f_ck attitude, she really did it this time.
    Expand
  12. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Best. Album. Of. The. Century. Ke$ha cooks up a wild party for everyone with her new album. Rather if it's "War-ior-ior-ior" or "let's make the most of the night like were gonna die young" or even "all that matters is the beautiful life!" You will be jamming your ass off.
  13. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    This is definitely the greatest dance pop album of the year. If Ke$ha hooked you with the album's lead single "Die Young", then you will be blown away with what she delivers with "Warrior". Not only is she able to capture the party in almost every one of her songs, but she is able to take this a step further and make you laugh and make you realize things you probably wouldn't think of onThis is definitely the greatest dance pop album of the year. If Ke$ha hooked you with the album's lead single "Die Young", then you will be blown away with what she delivers with "Warrior". Not only is she able to capture the party in almost every one of her songs, but she is able to take this a step further and make you laugh and make you realize things you probably wouldn't think of on your own. She is a pure blast. "Thinking of You", " Wherever You Are" and "Supernatural" are my new Ke$ha favorites. If you're not the party type, you should definitely check out "Dirty Love" featuring Iggy Pop or even "Wonderland", which are very different from her usuals. The only negative thing I have to say, is the fact that her voice is massively autotuned, but does this really matter when you're listening to the work of a talented song writting legend?I have so much more respect for her since she writes all of her songs and it clearly shows on this album that she knows exactly what the hell she's doing. You go Ke$ha. Expand
  14. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    Well, well, well. What do we have here? We certainly haven
  15. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    Ke$ha's new work is different than the other pop records released this years which tended to be generic as hell, this time Mrs. Serberg bring us some kind of rockish-dancey pop that fits very well with her attitude (Only Wanna Dance With You, Dirty Love) or some dubstepp based tracks, however she's decided to show how funny she is, love her or hate her this is a great album.
  16. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    strangely hypnotic. Ke$ha brought out the big guns on this one and didn't look back, I personally was not aware that she had talent of this magnitude. I hate to bring up an artist's past when judging a new album, but i was not expecting much when reluctantly digging into this piece of work; next thing i know i was humming along, as well as my son, on the first playback to several songs.strangely hypnotic. Ke$ha brought out the big guns on this one and didn't look back, I personally was not aware that she had talent of this magnitude. I hate to bring up an artist's past when judging a new album, but i was not expecting much when reluctantly digging into this piece of work; next thing i know i was humming along, as well as my son, on the first playback to several songs. Sure she can get a bit sexual into some songs, but it is not as bad as her past work. This album gives everyone, even the old and grumpy hags, a peak inside the world of young love, fast life, and just how to have fun wherever you are. Makes everyone want to say " is it summer yet?" standout tracks; "c'mon", "wherever you are", and "thinking of you". also AVOID "crazy kids" around children. awesome tune but drops F bomb constantly Expand
  17. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    Ke$ha has always been scrutinized. Being called a slutty, booze-inducing member of society. But, she's actually a very smart artist. Her lyrics are so funny, but so good. Irresistible and catchy, Warrior is better than Animal and it's re-release, Cannibal. The rock influence in a big part of the album is to die for. The title track and Supernatural are heavily influenced by dubstep andKe$ha has always been scrutinized. Being called a slutty, booze-inducing member of society. But, she's actually a very smart artist. Her lyrics are so funny, but so good. Irresistible and catchy, Warrior is better than Animal and it's re-release, Cannibal. The rock influence in a big part of the album is to die for. The title track and Supernatural are heavily influenced by dubstep and Dirty Love is a garage, punk rock track echoing The Black Keys', Lonely Boy. Wonderland is country-rock song that is the most vulnerable highlight in the standard version of the album. Warrior should have been a 16-track album, because two of the best tracks on the whole album are Gold Trans Am and Last Goodbye, both on the deluxe edition. Gold Trans Am being an electro-rock piece of clever pop and Last Goodbye being a vulnerable, electro-folk pop song with some of K$'s best lyrics. Ke$ha's human and that's what she wants to show people. She wants people to know that all that matters is the beautiful life and to live each day as if you were to die young. Sex is a big theme in the album, but sex is a part of life and Ke$ha just simply embraces it. She knows what she is getting into, she knows that she's a crazy kid and that not everybody will get her, but she doesn't give a **** She is who she is and she won't apologize. Ke$ha's Warrior is probably the best pop album of the year and she sure as hell knows it. ALBUM HIGHLIGHTS: Gold Trans Am, C'mon, Last Goodbye, Only Wanna Dance With You, Crazy Kids, Dirty Love, Wonderland
    SONGS THAT ARE TO BE SKIPPED: Past Lives
    Expand
  18. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    The resurgence of the singer Kesha is a success. His single Die Young is heard on the radio. In whatever kind "missing" from the world of pop, the singer returns with his second album Warrior. The sounds are very electro, but it does not fall into the trap that Björk has fallen. It is not out of his usual style, but it explores other style. It is less trash and more "artist" that canThe resurgence of the singer Kesha is a success. His single Die Young is heard on the radio. In whatever kind "missing" from the world of pop, the singer returns with his second album Warrior. The sounds are very electro, but it does not fall into the trap that Björk has fallen. It is not out of his usual style, but it explores other style. It is less trash and more "artist" that can be called a true Princess of Pop. It is far from Tik Tok, except Die Young. This is probably his best album, she finally size a real place in the world of pop, before that it was a kind of One Hit Wonder, but there it is on fire. Expand
  19. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    Pleasantly surprised with the overall quality of the album. Standout tracks are "Love Into the Light" - which borrows heavily from Collins' "In the Air Tonight" you could almost hum it along - "Dirty Love" and "Last Goodbye". I tend to underestimate Ke$ha's ability to create great records, I've been proven wrong again. And that makes me even happier. Take a listen, and hear the party vibePleasantly surprised with the overall quality of the album. Standout tracks are "Love Into the Light" - which borrows heavily from Collins' "In the Air Tonight" you could almost hum it along - "Dirty Love" and "Last Goodbye". I tend to underestimate Ke$ha's ability to create great records, I've been proven wrong again. And that makes me even happier. Take a listen, and hear the party vibe within it! Expand
  20. Dec 11, 2012
    7
    Warrior most certainly isn't the **** pop" album Ke$ha herself has claimed it to be multiple times, however, that doesn't at all count it to be a bad album. In fact, Warrior has plenty of memorable moments that make it the entertaining pop album it was destined to be. In recommendable tracks such as "Supernatural", Ke$ha retains her electropop style and turns it into a "Wouldn't It BeWarrior most certainly isn't the **** pop" album Ke$ha herself has claimed it to be multiple times, however, that doesn't at all count it to be a bad album. In fact, Warrior has plenty of memorable moments that make it the entertaining pop album it was destined to be. In recommendable tracks such as "Supernatural", Ke$ha retains her electropop style and turns it into a "Wouldn't It Be Good"-esque '80s throwback that talks about - you guessed it - ghost sex whilst tracks such as "Wonderland" find her calling back to her native Nashville roots to go for a more country-pop ballad featuring Black Keys drummer Patrick Carney. But thanks to her mainstream star status, longtime collaborator-producer Dr. Luke refuses to let the singer-songstress expand from her poppy roots, smothering the singer-songstresses' vocals in "Auto-Tune" in plenty of songs even after she wished to prove to everyone that she didn't, in fact, need it. Despite lead single "Die Young"'s infectiously catchy chorus, it falls between the line of formulaic and generic. But overall, Warrior will please her "Animals" more than ever whilst also giving outsiders a taste of what she can really do without the help of Dr. Luke. Expand
  21. Dec 11, 2012
    0
    This album is one of the worst releases of the year. More auto-tune generic pop garbage. This **** can't sing for **** People who are giving this **** high scores are either high, deaf, have terrible hearing, or have ****ty music taste. -10/10
  22. Dec 7, 2012
    0
    It's such a bad album from the first song to last. Uninspiring, recycled, generic garbage that I haven't seen from a pop star since Talk That Talk from Rihanna. I can't believe she would even make this album because it has only TWO passable songs (which isn't saying much at all). I loved Cannibal and was excited for this...not so much now
  23. Dec 9, 2012
    0
    A clear sign of trying to mature from her first album, but in the worst possible way. The music is still bad, only this time it's not anywhere nearly as fun.
  24. Jan 15, 2013
    4
    I don't really apreciate Ke$ha as a singer and her songs are a sloppy and some of then doesn't even make since . But in comparation to her past albuns this is a much better album.
  25. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    People who haven't heard this album are trying to leave negative reviews here to bring Kesha down but it's going to be a lot harder with Warrior than previous albums. Warrior is an excellent pop album that also incorporates some rock and country. And it does it with little or no autotune or other effects. We actually get to hear Kesha's raw vocals more on this album than her previousPeople who haven't heard this album are trying to leave negative reviews here to bring Kesha down but it's going to be a lot harder with Warrior than previous albums. Warrior is an excellent pop album that also incorporates some rock and country. And it does it with little or no autotune or other effects. We actually get to hear Kesha's raw vocals more on this album than her previous efforts, although she also did have nonautotuned songs in previous releases. All the songs on Warrior are good to excellent and will appeal to a wider demographic than her past work. Kids will love the dance tracks, although some like Out Alive and Wherever You Are, are more serious lyrically than her past dance songs. Older buyers will appreciate the ballads Wonderland, Past Lives, Love Into the Light and Last Goodbye. This album really does have something for everyone and with releases like Last Goodbye, Wherever You Are, Supernatural or Thinking of You, she should expand her audience significantly. Expand
  26. Dec 16, 2012
    7
    Ke$ha is in better form than she's ever been with Warrior. She, alongside producer Dr. Luke, update their electro-pop formula for the better, toning down most of Ke$ha's tendencies to sound unforgivably obnoxious and concentrating on almost each track as a solid party anthem. It takes a dive mood-wise from tracks 7-9, but it goes on to even better form past these on the deluxe version.
  27. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    So it's no surprise that K-Dollar sign-ha came up with catchy party anthem tunes once again. But it is a surprise to hear Ke$ha letting go of Auto-tune. From opening track "Warrior" to "Past Lives", the closing track from the deluxe edition, Ke$ha emancipates from the dumb-blonde image she was credited for.
    "Warrior" might be her best effort to date. Not a rock album, definitely, but
    So it's no surprise that K-Dollar sign-ha came up with catchy party anthem tunes once again. But it is a surprise to hear Ke$ha letting go of Auto-tune. From opening track "Warrior" to "Past Lives", the closing track from the deluxe edition, Ke$ha emancipates from the dumb-blonde image she was credited for.
    "Warrior" might be her best effort to date. Not a rock album, definitely, but notable influences can be seen during the album.

    Best tracks: Supernatural, C'mon,Crazy Kids, Gold Trans Am.
    Expand
  28. pdf
    Dec 17, 2012
    8
    Ke$ha has actually released a sophomore album that actually is better than it's predecessor! 'Warrior' is far more varied, more danceable, and a (tiny) bit more mature her previous efforts. I was a little unsure since "Die Young" is very much the same as her previous songs but the Iggy Pop collab 'Dirty Love' is so much fun that it instantly changed my mind! If you are a fan of Ke$ha,Ke$ha has actually released a sophomore album that actually is better than it's predecessor! 'Warrior' is far more varied, more danceable, and a (tiny) bit more mature her previous efforts. I was a little unsure since "Die Young" is very much the same as her previous songs but the Iggy Pop collab 'Dirty Love' is so much fun that it instantly changed my mind! If you are a fan of Ke$ha, it's worth it; if you would rather her just put out same top 40 stuff, then you may be disappointed. Much more rock tempos and electro beats on this one. Party on, party Animals!!! Expand
  29. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    The best album I had heard, she just show to everyone that she can sing, rap and write, get it, this album is better than any pop album of this year. Amazing.
  30. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    This album is catchy, inventive, and fun! There is a huge variety of style when it comes to this album and Ke$ha has shown that she doesn't "always" need autotune. There are those meant-for-radio songs such as "Die Young" and "C'mon" but then there are those more slow paced and alternative type songs. I would definitely recommend getting the deluxe version because those extra tracks areThis album is catchy, inventive, and fun! There is a huge variety of style when it comes to this album and Ke$ha has shown that she doesn't "always" need autotune. There are those meant-for-radio songs such as "Die Young" and "C'mon" but then there are those more slow paced and alternative type songs. I would definitely recommend getting the deluxe version because those extra tracks are some of the best ones. It really is a pop album with alternative and rock influences. I would give this album a listen and see for yourself! Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    60
    The naff raps and Auto-Tuned gloop can't spoil the addictive rush of the air-punching, get-pissed-destroy-a-bus-shelter anthems that abound here. [Jan 2012, p.93]
  2. Dec 11, 2012
    60
    Warrior, a moderate improvement of her disappointing debut Animal. [Jan 2013, p.106]
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    40
    Really, though, her graceless output remains unaffected.