Warrior - Ke$ha
  • Band Name:
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Warrior Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Iggy Pop sings a duet on the second full-length release produced by Dr. Luke for the dance-pop singer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 88
    By stomping just at the edge of parental propriety and sneaking in (mostly) well-crafted lyrics, her new record confirms her place as the loosest of the dance divas, one who not only preaches on the art of the party like few since Andrew W.K., but who also delivers the message through inventive, beat-heavy musical cannonballs, most produced by hitmaker Dr. Luke, that pummel with pleasure.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    80
    It's a wall-to-wall party for the freaks, burnouts, outcasts, and misfits and if you don't get it that's your fault, not hers.
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    75
    Anyone up for giving her a second chance--or recognizing she has actual singing, writing, and performing talent--just might be pleasantly surprised.
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    70
    Taken as a whole, this is another surprisingly enjoyable album from a pop singer who has managed to broaden her approach without losing her USP.
  5. 70
    There's no revelation here, only strong fun.
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    60
    Warrior, a moderate improvement of her disappointing debut Animal. [Jan 2013, p.106]
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    40
    Auto-Tune, deployed all over the record, turns Kesha's voice into a robo-squawk, and not in a good way.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 64
  2. Negative: 5 out of 64
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best albums of the year, and definitely the best pop album of the year. It has so many standout tracks, they are all good.This is one of the best albums of the year, and definitely the best pop album of the year. It has so many standout tracks, they are all good. Recommend it strongly. Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    The Great American Pop Album... well at least in the eyes of a reckless teenager, such as I. Ke$ha just about proves herself as more than justThe Great American Pop Album... well at least in the eyes of a reckless teenager, such as I. Ke$ha just about proves herself as more than just that hung-over party girl who threw up in Paris Hilton's closet. Warrior's opening track sets the score, as this can be said to be the perfect intro to an album like this. Ke$ha manages to establish herself as a carefree, american rebel, impressive for happening just 4 minutes into the album. Everyone's Favourite Die Young pumps through our speakers, making us just want to get up and go crazy, a fun up-tempo track. C'mon, Thinkin' of You, GoldTransAm and Dirty Love allow Ke$ha to re-introduce that funny teenager we first saw on 2010's Animal, however this time its an upgraded, more smart and likeable character, easy to relate to. We are then treated what could be said to be Ke$ha's first ever ballad 'Wonderland' - a auto-tune free, breeze of fresh air, filled with nostalgia and meaningful lyrics. Ke$ha then experiments with even more sounds such as dubstep, electronic and techno on tracks like Out Alive, Supernatural and Crazy Kids. Overall a great albums with guest such as will.i.am and Iggy Pop, Warrior feels like Ke$ha's first legit album. 9/10 Expand
  3. May 24, 2013
    10
    One of the best pop albums of the past year. Her last album was generic and her vocals were overshadowed by her use of auto tune. She createsOne of the best pop albums of the past year. Her last album was generic and her vocals were overshadowed by her use of auto tune. She creates a new genre of music..... ****-pop. She gives everything you want and more. She gives you heavy rock experimental influenced songs like Gold Trans Am, Wonderland, and Dirty Love; dance songs that we love like Die Young, C'mon, Thinking Of You, Wherever You Are, Supernatural,All That Matters (The Beautiful Life), Out Alive; pop-rock songs that sound like P!nk could do like Thinking Of You, Only Wanna Dance With You, Love Into The Light, and Last Goodbye; and experimental alternative, indie pop songs like Warrior, and the power ballad Past Lives. This album has the Ke$ha we all fell in love with, as well as a new improved rock star side of her we've never seen. This album was also good for the produced Dr. Luke. He usually produces generic hits but this album shows his diversity. Animal/ Cannibal is abut a 5/10 but this album makes me see Ke$ha in a totally different light and have so much love and respect for her. Every single track is different and I love every one. The songs are relatable, can make you cry, can make you dance, etc. She is honestly more talented than people give her credit for. Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    Great follow-up to Animal, and while it hasn't taken off like Animal did I really hope people start to fall in love with it. It has some greatGreat follow-up to Animal, and while it hasn't taken off like Animal did I really hope people start to fall in love with it. It has some great dance tracks and, so far, the right singles have been chosen :) Expand
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    Desculpa para a maioria do público, o auto tune nesse álbum vem em uma taxa bem menor do que em trabalhos antigos. Warrior nadaDesculpa para a maioria do público, o auto tune nesse álbum vem em uma taxa bem menor do que em trabalhos antigos. Warrior nada mais é que um álbum forte, com músicas feitas para hitar, letras e batidas animadas e surpreendentes. Supernatural, All The Matters e Crazy Kids mostram fortemente a personalidade musical de Ke$ha que em nenhum momento foi corrompida durante os anos em que ela esteve presente no mercado musical . A balada Last Goodbye, com uma composição simples, porém unida com o instrumental e a voz, soa como um "love song adolescente", o suficiente para produzir pequenos apertos no coração de quem ouve. Ke$ha, mais do que nunca, se demonstrou uma grande artista, merecedora de bons charts. Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    Pleasantly surprised with the overall quality of the album. Standout tracks are "Love Into the Light" - which borrows heavily from Collins'Pleasantly surprised with the overall quality of the album. Standout tracks are "Love Into the Light" - which borrows heavily from Collins' "In the Air Tonight" you could almost hum it along - "Dirty Love" and "Last Goodbye". I tend to underestimate Ke$ha's ability to create great records, I've been proven wrong again. And that makes me even happier. Take a listen, and hear the party vibe within it! Collapse
  7. Dec 9, 2012
    0
    A clear sign of trying to mature from her first album, but in the worst possible way. The music is still bad, only this time it's not anywhereA clear sign of trying to mature from her first album, but in the worst possible way. The music is still bad, only this time it's not anywhere nearly as fun. Expand

See all 64 User Reviews