Warrior

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Warrior Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 252 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Iggy Pop sings a duet on the second full-length release produced by Dr. Luke for the dance-pop singer.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 88
    By stomping just at the edge of parental propriety and sneaking in (mostly) well-crafted lyrics, her new record confirms her place as the loosest of the dance divas, one who not only preaches on the art of the party like few since Andrew W.K., but who also delivers the message through inventive, beat-heavy musical cannonballs, most produced by hitmaker Dr. Luke, that pummel with pleasure.
  2. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    Warrior is never dull, always fun, and frequently a thrillingly unpredictable ride.
  3. 80
    Ke$ha too reaches for a savage base pull, lifting from the low-end, high-reward arena rock spectrum, a place of soaring peaks and valleys that still float above heads even at their most subdued, music meant to be blasted from towering stacks of speakers, so the stage appears bookended by the Willis Tower and the John Hancock Center and that finds its artistic beauty in the sheer size and ferocity of its scope and emotional appeal.
  4. Dec 3, 2012
    70
    Warrior is likable enough, but not only can't it match its predecessor, it's not nearly as exhilarating or disruptive as what fellow slizzered California trashdancer Dev or assorted K-poppers have done in the past two years with basically the same raw materials.
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    70
    Warrior doesn't hit the giddy peaks of 2010's Animal, but it has a crackpot sense of rock history.
  6. Mojo
    Dec 17, 2012
    60
    The naff raps and Auto-Tuned gloop can't spoil the addictive rush of the air-punching, get-pissed-destroy-a-bus-shelter anthems that abound here. [Jan 2012, p.93]
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    40
    Auto-Tune, deployed all over the record, turns Kesha's voice into a robo-squawk, and not in a good way.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 65
  2. Negative: 3 out of 65
  1. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    Best album from Ke$ha without doubt ! Each song really shows who she is ... Warrior, Crazy Kids, Love Into the Light and Past Lives: theseBest album from Ke$ha without doubt ! Each song really shows who she is ... Warrior, Crazy Kids, Love Into the Light and Past Lives: these tracks are those that relate more to the personality of the singer and this time the fans really had a greater perspective about Ke$ha. Amazing record, perfectly blending the styles ''rock'', ''country'' and ''dance pop'', masterpiece ! Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    A great pop/dance album! I think is the best of Ke$ha.

    Best songs: Only Wanna Dance with You, Supernatural and All That Matters (The
    A great pop/dance album! I think is the best of Ke$ha.

    Best songs: Only Wanna Dance with You, Supernatural and All That Matters (The Beautiful Life).
    Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best albums of the year, and definitely the best pop album of the year. It has so many standout tracks, they are all good.This is one of the best albums of the year, and definitely the best pop album of the year. It has so many standout tracks, they are all good. Recommend it strongly. Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2013
    9
    This is an album entirely driven on guilty pleasure for me. Every song is generic pop (which is why it's 9 and not 10) but it's all done soThis is an album entirely driven on guilty pleasure for me. Every song is generic pop (which is why it's 9 and not 10) but it's all done so well in my opinion. I really wish it got more attention than it did Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    strangely hypnotic. Ke$ha brought out the big guns on this one and didn't look back, I personally was not aware that she had talent of thisstrangely hypnotic. Ke$ha brought out the big guns on this one and didn't look back, I personally was not aware that she had talent of this magnitude. I hate to bring up an artist's past when judging a new album, but i was not expecting much when reluctantly digging into this piece of work; next thing i know i was humming along, as well as my son, on the first playback to several songs. Sure she can get a bit sexual into some songs, but it is not as bad as her past work. This album gives everyone, even the old and grumpy hags, a peak inside the world of young love, fast life, and just how to have fun wherever you are. Makes everyone want to say " is it summer yet?" standout tracks; "c'mon", "wherever you are", and "thinking of you". also AVOID "crazy kids" around children. awesome tune but drops F bomb constantly Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    this album is more deep than animal and its full of hits , kesha proved she is not only party singer she is real pop megathis album is more deep than animal and its full of hits , kesha proved she is not only party singer she is real pop mega staaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaar Expand
  7. Dec 9, 2012
    0
    A clear sign of trying to mature from her first album, but in the worst possible way. The music is still bad, only this time it's not anywhereA clear sign of trying to mature from her first album, but in the worst possible way. The music is still bad, only this time it's not anywhere nearly as fun. Expand

See all 65 User Reviews