Wasting Light

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Wasting Light Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 189 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Wasting Light isn't perfect, but its flaws are essential to its being.
  2. Apr 7, 2011
    90
    Wasting Light is much more than a salad-days nostalgia trip -- it's Grohl's most memorable set of songs since 1997's The Colour and the Shape.
  3. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    Add in a clutch of terrific songs that perfectly balance leader Grohl's gift for pairing earworm melodies with both chunky power-pop guitars and thrashy screamers and you've got the most vital, stem-to-stern enjoyable Foo Fighters album in quite some time.
  4. Sounds like his band are having too much fun.
  5. Apr 12, 2011
    75
    If nothing else, Wasting Light is Foo Fighters' first generally good record in six years, solid from top to bottom without the filler that marred the band's early records.
  6. Apr 11, 2011
    70
    Even after several listens there's little here to really strike a chord with the long-standing Foos fan. That's not to say it's poor - it's far from that.
  7. 40
    The three-year gap between albums will ensure this tops next week's album chart, but it's a drab, unrewarding experience.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    rarely have i been so enthusiastic about an album as i have been for Wasting Light. easily the best record i have listened to in the lastrarely have i been so enthusiastic about an album as i have been for Wasting Light. easily the best record i have listened to in the last couple years. can't give it anything but a straight 10/10. well done boys you are well and truly back to your best. keeping rock alive since 1995! Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2015
    10
    This is hands down the best Foo Fighters album ever made (The Colour & the Shape is a very close 2nd)! Every song is raw but melodic. TheThis is hands down the best Foo Fighters album ever made (The Colour & the Shape is a very close 2nd)! Every song is raw but melodic. The songs range from haunting (I Should Have Known) to hardcore (White Limo) and everything in between. Check out the bonus song "Better Off" on the deluxe version of the album - it's AMAZING. Dear Rosemary with Bob Mould is an incredible song, These Days was a huge hit when it came out, as was Walk, and with good reason. If you look on YouTube there's a video of them in Studio 606 performing the whole album live, if you can check that out as well. I could listen to this album over & over every day! Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Best thing I have heard in the last couple of years. Also, their use of three distinctly different guitars is magic without feeling clutteredBest thing I have heard in the last couple of years. Also, their use of three distinctly different guitars is magic without feeling cluttered and messy. Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    The foo's are officially back on track with this brilliant album.
    Filled with raw rock intensity that their last few albums slightly lacked.
    The foo's are officially back on track with this brilliant album.
    Filled with raw rock intensity that their last few albums slightly lacked. Not bad for an album taped in a garage
    Expand
  5. May 1, 2011
    9
    Quite simply, this album really rocks from start to finish and if you are at all interested, you need to pick it up. There's not a bad trackQuite simply, this album really rocks from start to finish and if you are at all interested, you need to pick it up. There's not a bad track on it. Waisting Light is the first Foo Fighters album since the Color and the Shape that seems to hit all the right notes at the right time but without sounding like a sellout. Walk, Times Like These, Rope, White Limo and These Days are 5-star great in my book. Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    My favorite Foo Fighters album since The Colour and the Shape, Wasting Light is the only hard rock album I have liked since One-X (2006). ItsMy favorite Foo Fighters album since The Colour and the Shape, Wasting Light is the only hard rock album I have liked since One-X (2006). Its raw and very catchy, I love the aggression of almost every song on this albums, White Limo comes into mind when I say aggression. My fav songs are Walk and Bridge Burning, which rank up with Everlong and My Hero as my favs by the band. Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2012
    3
    Another in a long list of formally phenomenal rock bands that is lightyears past their expiration date. If you're rocking out to this albumAnother in a long list of formally phenomenal rock bands that is lightyears past their expiration date. If you're rocking out to this album it's purely because you haven't heard that much music yet or you listen to music as background to your commute. I'd tell you what I think this album lacks, from the glossed-up production that Grohl said was going to be really raw but wasn't to the totally unoriginal everything but I won't get into that. I'll just let you know, from one fan to another fan, this is an album you're embarrassed you liked at one point five or six years down the road because you're not a teenager anymore and your horizons have been broadened. Collapse

See all 43 User Reviews