Wasting Light - Foo Fighters
Wasting Light Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 155 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Wasting Light isn't perfect, but its flaws are essential to its being.
  2. 90
    To date, the Foo Fighters have never tried to reinvent the wheel, per se; they just want to keep it rolling. And that's just what Wasting Light does. For that purpose, Foo Fighters give us a solid record from open to close. The drought is over. Rock is back.
  3. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    Add in a clutch of terrific songs that perfectly balance leader Grohl's gift for pairing earworm melodies with both chunky power-pop guitars and thrashy screamers and you've got the most vital, stem-to-stern enjoyable Foo Fighters album in quite some time.
  4. Sounds like his band are having too much fun.
  5. Apr 12, 2011
    75
    If nothing else, Wasting Light is Foo Fighters' first generally good record in six years, solid from top to bottom without the filler that marred the band's early records.
  6. Apr 11, 2011
    70
    Even after several listens there's little here to really strike a chord with the long-standing Foos fan. That's not to say it's poor - it's far from that.
  7. 40
    The three-year gap between albums will ensure this tops next week's album chart, but it's a drab, unrewarding experience.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 39
  3. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    rarely have i been so enthusiastic about an album as i have been for Wasting Light. easily the best record i have listened to in the last couple years. can't give it anything but a straight 10/10. well done boys you are well and truly back to your best. keeping rock alive since 1995! Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    Oh my, this album is amazing. While there are a couple duds, the rest of the album is so outstanding I can't help but give it a ten. There are at least 5 or 6 tracks that will get stuck in your head, and are easy to connect with. The melodies are great, and the songs 'Bridge Burning'/'Walk' have a quality that few songs of any genre possess: perfect pacing. Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    "Wasting Light" is an amazing album, and solidifies the Foo Fighters as rock gods. The full out, balls-to-the-wall scale of the album is at once ferocious and also open hearted; we can hear Dave sing his heart out on "I Should Have Known" and have our face pummelled by "White Limo" in the same listen. Although "Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace" is and always will be my favourite Foos album, Wasting Light is a very, very close second, and with its focused sound blows the equally epic "Colour and the Shape" away. Overall, an amazing album from a maturing mammoth that deserves a listen. Oh, and the analog recording does make a difference. The music sounds ALIVE. Expand
  4. May 1, 2011
    9
    Quite simply, this album really rocks from start to finish and if you are at all interested, you need to pick it up. There's not a bad track on it. Waisting Light is the first Foo Fighters album since the Color and the Shape that seems to hit all the right notes at the right time but without sounding like a sellout. Walk, Times Like These, Rope, White Limo and These Days are 5-star great in my book. Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    one of the best foo fighters albums in recent memory every single song is worth to hear and pretty much single material. also for the first time in foo's history it feels like a masterpiece Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    There is a reason why Cobain said Dave Groel one of the most talented muscians he'd known and Foo Fighters is proof of that statement. This album is another quality release from the group in a genre of clutter and crap. I can easily listen to this entire CD from track 1 to the last track and like all of the songs. Favorites include "Rosemary", "Back and Forth" and "Burning Bridges." Would love to see them in concert. Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2012
    3
    Another in a long list of formally phenomenal rock bands that is lightyears past their expiration date. If you're rocking out to this album it's purely because you haven't heard that much music yet or you listen to music as background to your commute. I'd tell you what I think this album lacks, from the glossed-up production that Grohl said was going to be really raw but wasn't to the totally unoriginal everything but I won't get into that. I'll just let you know, from one fan to another fan, this is an album you're embarrassed you liked at one point five or six years down the road because you're not a teenager anymore and your horizons have been broadened. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews