Wasting Light - Foo Fighters
Wasting Light Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 167 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Wasting Light isn't perfect, but its flaws are essential to its being.
  2. 90
    To date, the Foo Fighters have never tried to reinvent the wheel, per se; they just want to keep it rolling. And that's just what Wasting Light does. For that purpose, Foo Fighters give us a solid record from open to close. The drought is over. Rock is back.
  3. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    Add in a clutch of terrific songs that perfectly balance leader Grohl's gift for pairing earworm melodies with both chunky power-pop guitars and thrashy screamers and you've got the most vital, stem-to-stern enjoyable Foo Fighters album in quite some time.
  4. Sounds like his band are having too much fun.
  5. Apr 12, 2011
    75
    If nothing else, Wasting Light is Foo Fighters' first generally good record in six years, solid from top to bottom without the filler that marred the band's early records.
  6. Apr 11, 2011
    70
    Even after several listens there's little here to really strike a chord with the long-standing Foos fan. That's not to say it's poor - it's far from that.
  7. 40
    The three-year gap between albums will ensure this tops next week's album chart, but it's a drab, unrewarding experience.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    rarely have i been so enthusiastic about an album as i have been for Wasting Light. easily the best record i have listened to in the lastrarely have i been so enthusiastic about an album as i have been for Wasting Light. easily the best record i have listened to in the last couple years. can't give it anything but a straight 10/10. well done boys you are well and truly back to your best. keeping rock alive since 1995! Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    That's for sure the best record by Foo Fighters. And it is also the best album of 2011, with R.E.M.'s Collapse Into Now. The sound is veryThat's for sure the best record by Foo Fighters. And it is also the best album of 2011, with R.E.M.'s Collapse Into Now. The sound is very good and I think Walk is one of their best song ever. Foo Fighters are most of the present of rock. Very well done! Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    After listening to this album, I can safely say that the Foo Fighters are back and better than ever! All the songs made me feel excited orAfter listening to this album, I can safely say that the Foo Fighters are back and better than ever! All the songs made me feel excited or angry or even sorrowful. And that to me makes a great album, so congrats on the return Foo's! And may your legend of a band continue to rock on! Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    I regret doubting Foo fighters. This is there best work in a long time. There bringing back rock ever since hip hop took the food chain. FooI regret doubting Foo fighters. This is there best work in a long time. There bringing back rock ever since hip hop took the food chain. Foo Fighters should of won Album of the Year @ the Grammy's but it didnt. You know i'll be listening to this album for years Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    one of the best foo fighters albums in recent memory every single song is worth to hear and pretty much single material. also for the firstone of the best foo fighters albums in recent memory every single song is worth to hear and pretty much single material. also for the first time in foo's history it feels like a masterpiece Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2012
    8
    The Foo Fighters churned out this gnarly LP in a garage, and with it claimed the title of the best rock band of 2011. Granted, being the bestThe Foo Fighters churned out this gnarly LP in a garage, and with it claimed the title of the best rock band of 2011. Granted, being the best rock band in 2011 is like being the best athlete at a performing arts high school. It Collapse
  7. Feb 12, 2012
    3
    Another in a long list of formally phenomenal rock bands that is lightyears past their expiration date. If you're rocking out to this albumAnother in a long list of formally phenomenal rock bands that is lightyears past their expiration date. If you're rocking out to this album it's purely because you haven't heard that much music yet or you listen to music as background to your commute. I'd tell you what I think this album lacks, from the glossed-up production that Grohl said was going to be really raw but wasn't to the totally unoriginal everything but I won't get into that. I'll just let you know, from one fan to another fan, this is an album you're embarrassed you liked at one point five or six years down the road because you're not a teenager anymore and your horizons have been broadened. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews