Watch The Fireworks

  • Record Label: 4AD
  • Release Date: Sep 11, 2007

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. A warm, quiet and graceful listen, Watch The Fireworks is definitely reminiscent of Pollock's former creations in its beguiling melodies, beautiful harmonies, soothing vocals and soaring choruses which seemingly seep out of nowhere.
  2. 80
    All the songs are so glassy, beautiful and seemingly perfect.
  3. Simply put, Watch the Fireworks is a record of pop beauty.
  4. She’s constantly tuneful in settings from ringing folk-rock to piano-pumped music hall to breathy ballad. Yet her perpetually graceful, uplifting music doesn’t come with a sugary worldview.
  5. Pollock is clearly in her comfort zone here, both vocally and musically.
  6. Vocalist/guitarist Emma Pollock has crafted one the group's [the Delgados] finest efforts to date, albeit as a solo artist.
  7. Watch The Fireworks is undoubtedly a determined and brave step-outwards for Pollock.
  8. Out with the old and in with the new, so to speak. Which is exactly what Pollock has attempted and, for the majority of Watch The Fireworks, achieved.
  9. Under The Radar
    Most of the time the more streamlined approach works for the benefit of the songs, but there are a couple misteps.[ Summer 2007, p.76]
  10. Take this album to your heart and cherish it as the sweet, accomplished, and skilfully made, underappreciated little gem that it is

There are no user reviews yet.