Watch The Fireworks

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Watch The Fireworks Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The former singer of The Delgados releases her debut solo album.

Top Track

If Silence Means That Much To You
We live for the greater, We live for the good At least that's what I thought, She understood So why then the phone call, The torrent of words That... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. A warm, quiet and graceful listen, Watch The Fireworks is definitely reminiscent of Pollock's former creations in its beguiling melodies, beautiful harmonies, soothing vocals and soaring choruses which seemingly seep out of nowhere.
  2. Simply put, Watch the Fireworks is a record of pop beauty.
  3. Pollock is clearly in her comfort zone here, both vocally and musically.
  4. Under The Radar
    Most of the time the more streamlined approach works for the benefit of the songs, but there are a couple misteps.[ Summer 2007, p.76]
  5. Mojo
    Fireworks teems with drama. [Oct 2007, p.102]
  6. There is something spectacular hidden in here, it's just that it needs more air to really burn.
  7. There's no denying that Pollock has an uncanny knack for distinctive melodies, but the album's main problem is that she often misjudges the parameters of 'pop' and in doing so errs on the side of safety.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of