Watch the Throne - Kanye West
Watch the Throne Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 292 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jay-Z and Kanye West join forces to form their own group and release their collaborative new album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Aug 12, 2011
    100
    Perhaps the most extraordinary achievement of this funny, hard-hitting, thrilling album is that it actually sounds like a coherent and purposeful piece of work, a statement of what hip hop can mean, and where it can go.
  2. Aug 11, 2011
    85
    On Watch the Throne, they push each other and have fun doing it, and the result is a stadium-sized event-rap spectacle that still sounds like two insanely talented guys' idiosyncratic vision. That's worth celebrating.
  3. Aug 15, 2011
    80
    It's better than West's last, impressive album, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. With fantastically varied production, Watch the Throne marches hungrily forward, belying its genesis in a series of swanky hotel rooms.
  4. 75
    The two kings prove much more nimble and disciplined, displaying a confidence that suggests they're not going anywhere.
  5. Aug 11, 2011
    70
    On a record this ambitious, this sonically bold, it's a shame two of music's greatest storytellers don't extend their gaze beyond their own luxe lives.
  6. 67
    They sound like they're on the same page only during fleeting moments, and when those slip by, listening inevitably is more frustrating than fulfilling.
  7. 40
    Watch the Throne is more notable for its general lack of impact. Neither as compulsively neurotic as Eminem, as languidly characterful as Snoop Dogg, nor as furiously articulate as Nas, the raps here represent a pretty mediocre, cardboard kind of throne, truth be told.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 85
  2. Negative: 8 out of 85
  1. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    This is incredible album jay z & kanye west did a masterpiece. My favorite tracks are no church gotta have it, n in paris,otis, ham,liftThis is incredible album jay z & kanye west did a masterpiece. My favorite tracks are no church gotta have it, n in paris,otis, ham,lift up,who gon stop me,murder to excellence,joy,prime time and ham. Don't waste your time with the reguler version do yourself a favor get the deluxe trust me its worth it. Kanye is differently the producer of year with this and dark fantasy. I go further and say artist of the year. This best duo of songs put together since the great outkast bless us the speakerbox and love below masterpiece. Thanks for no leaks Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is one of the best I've heard, there are some some songs I like and don't like, but Kanye West and Jay-Z are a good rap duo. Also, the production of the album was awesome, it was some of the best beats I've heard. Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2011
    9
    Fantastic album. Musically, it feels like an extension of the new, less soul-music reliant, production style that Kanye West perfected onFantastic album. Musically, it feels like an extension of the new, less soul-music reliant, production style that Kanye West perfected on MBDTF. I'm normally not a fan of Jay-Z, but his talents are well utilized throughout the album, and I found myself enjoying some of his verses more than West's. Most of the tracks maintain a consistently high level of quality. My only gripes lie with two songs, "Lift Off," and "Made in America," both of which feel forced and ruin the stylistic cohesion found throughout the rest of the album. My top song picks so far include, "N*ggas in Paris," "That's My B*tch," "Gotta Have It," and "Who Gon Stop Me." Highly Recommended. Expand
  4. Dec 25, 2011
    8
    The singles chosen off the album feature Kanye West and Jay-Z at their best. "Otis" is the main event. The album has a few fillers to it'sThe singles chosen off the album feature Kanye West and Jay-Z at their best. "Otis" is the main event. The album has a few fillers to it's name. However, it is one of the best albums of 2011 and it nearly delivered on the hype. Expand
  5. Sep 11, 2011
    8
    It was one of the greatest albums of 2011, but quite overrated to say the least. Needless to say, not one bad track, but the hype was a littleIt was one of the greatest albums of 2011, but quite overrated to say the least. Needless to say, not one bad track, but the hype was a little too much. Jay Z and Kanye rule the throne together with an amazing album. Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2012
    7
    While this is not my favorite album of 2011, this has got to be the most important album of 2011. Any album with Jay-z and Kanye will just beWhile this is not my favorite album of 2011, this has got to be the most important album of 2011. Any album with Jay-z and Kanye will just be historic. And we got Otis and Ni**as In Paris out of it! The rest is pretty damn good too. Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2012
    0
    i can't believe people like this guy. the beats are ok, not hard, acually just soft, and i just can't believe this is cool to listen 2, whati can't believe people like this guy. the beats are ok, not hard, acually just soft, and i just can't believe this is cool to listen 2, what about immortal technique, or anything but this, i really can't believe people would buy a kanye album or listen 2 a song or admit that they like it, id rather say i like hannah montanna then kanye, i mean seriously kanye's rap lyrics are so weeak you would thinkl a second grader wrote them, man whatever the critics are sayin, kanye west is not cool, and neither are drugs,this album is terribel, jayz's old stuff is ok get that instead but don't buy this garbage,and user reviews i can't believe people like this , I REALLY CAN'T -1 out of 10 awful sounding, and awful music, no message, but people still buy this, i can not figure out how anyone can like kanye , i really can't Collapse

See all 85 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2011 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2011 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: November 29, 2011
    Between now and January, we'll be collecting top 10 lists published by major music critics, publications, and websites, and tallying their cumulative picks to determine the best albums of 2011. Check back here daily to get an updated scorecard.