Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    80
    Normally, a live album without a ton of rarities would be a hard sell to fans of the band, but We All Raise Our Voices to the Air is such a strong set of performances that even Decemberists diehards might have a hard time passing up on this one.
  2. Mar 12, 2012
    80
    All in all, We All Raise Our Voices ... is a fun listen, and one that really makes the case for the Decemberists as a powerful force, despite what you might have felt about those last two studio albums.
  3. Mar 10, 2012
    80
    As a first achievement, the album it manages to inject a degree of zest into the songs from The King is Dead, jolting them from the somnolence which occasionally bogged their studio equivalents down.
  4. 80
    The band's mix of intelligence and drive, and their blend of guitar, accordion, organ and violin, echoes Arcade Fire. Certainly, Colin Meloy's songs have a comparable ambition.
  5. 80
    We All Raise Our Voices to the Air is full of raw energy, a palpable, kinetic excitement in Meloy's acoustic strumming, Moen's thundering drums, and especially the impressive low end of bassist Nate Query.
  6. Many live records these days get a bad rap because of the stigma they carry (many reek of contractual obligation), but this is a respectable and enlightening release.
  7. Apr 6, 2012
    75
    The band lives up to its rep as a tight live act. [#86, p.53]
  8. Mar 13, 2012
    75
    The Decemberists remain an energetic, underrated live unit, though the versions of the band's more straightforward tracks don't vary radically from their studio versions, nor add much to them.
  9. Apr 12, 2012
    70
    The excellent Sara Watkins joins on fiddle, guitar and vocals for an eclectic mix of songs.
  10. Mar 12, 2012
    70
    It provides a fine overview of The Decemberists' oeuvre, but this live set adds little to an understanding or appreciation of their music overall.
  11. Mar 12, 2012
    69
    We All Raise Our Voices to the Air sounds less like a tour document than a greatest hits, struggling to sum up the band's career and find some new direction forward.
  12. 60
    This is an unwieldy yet infectious compendium that will satisfy those who need it most.
  13. Mar 13, 2012
    60
    This is a surprisingly crisp live LP, even at two discs: taut and driving, full of Celtic and country flourishes, held together by richly melodic tunes.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 27, 2012
    8
    The Decemberists are one of these bands that I like a lot but don't quite love yet. I didn't expect this band to release a live album but IThe Decemberists are one of these bands that I like a lot but don't quite love yet. I didn't expect this band to release a live album but I guess now was as good a time as any on the back of the success of the The King is Dead. Fans of the band will enjoy and it is a record for those already converted, that said, it's not a bad place to start if your not familiar with this band and want to take a look. For the most part, the songs sounds as strong live as they do in studio and at times the sound even better live. Full Review »