We All Raise Our Voices to the Air: Live Songs 04.11.08 Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The two-disc live album collects 20 live songs from the band's tour for its 2011 album, The King Is Dead.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    Normally, a live album without a ton of rarities would be a hard sell to fans of the band, but We All Raise Our Voices to the Air is such a strong set of performances that even Decemberists diehards might have a hard time passing up on this one.
  2. Mar 10, 2012
    As a first achievement, the album it manages to inject a degree of zest into the songs from The King is Dead, jolting them from the somnolence which occasionally bogged their studio equivalents down.
  3. Mar 12, 2012
    All in all, We All Raise Our Voices ... is a fun listen, and one that really makes the case for the Decemberists as a powerful force, despite what you might have felt about those last two studio albums.
  4. Mar 13, 2012
    The Decemberists remain an energetic, underrated live unit, though the versions of the band's more straightforward tracks don't vary radically from their studio versions, nor add much to them.
  5. Apr 6, 2012
    The band lives up to its rep as a tight live act. [#86, p.53]
  6. Apr 12, 2012
    The excellent Sara Watkins joins on fiddle, guitar and vocals for an eclectic mix of songs.
  7. Mar 13, 2012
    This is a surprisingly crisp live LP, even at two discs: taut and driving, full of Celtic and country flourishes, held together by richly melodic tunes.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 27, 2012
    The Decemberists are one of these bands that I like a lot but don't quite love yet. I didn't expect this band to release a live album but I guess now was as good a time as any on the back of the success of the The King is Dead. Fans of the band will enjoy and it is a record for those already converted, that said, it's not a bad place to start if your not familiar with this band and want to take a look. For the most part, the songs sounds as strong live as they do in studio and at times the sound even better live. Collapse