User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LeahT.
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Brilliant, although not at first - Los Campesinos! requires always a few listens - and then you wonder how you ever lived without them.
  2. jimim.
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    IT is a flawless album, from start to finish.
  3. MattH.
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    Excellent follow-up within a year (!) of their fantastic debut, Hold on Now, Youngster... My only complaint is its brief running time.
  4. MikeT
    Jan 18, 2009
    10
    I'm a realist, i'm insatiable. That being said, this album is incredible and by far my favorite of the year. Just saw them live in Carrboro NC and it was the best show I've seen in ages.
  5. PaulC
    Nov 30, 2008
    9
    Not as great as Hold On Now, Youngster, but still a fantastic album. Los Campesinos have put out 2 of the 10 best albums of 2008.
  6. JohnH.
    Dec 20, 2008
    9
    Energetic and sincere, the most fun you'll have being depressed.
  7. KevinS.
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    Very good.
  8. PeterM.
    Dec 4, 2008
    9
    One of the few good rock bands right now.
  9. Clayw.
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    This album blows me away. I enjoyed HON, Y immensely, but i think that this just explodes them to a higher place. Los Campesinos! has done everything that a band shouldnt do, and it has worked perfectly. I loved this from beginning to end, and i hope that the world gets on the Los Campesinos! band Wagon, before it gets going too fast.
  10. PeteW
    Dec 15, 2008
    9
    Lovely. More heartfelt than the first. Roll on the next 8 months.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 80
    They’ve upped the sonic oomph a notch, leaning on the piano, violin, xylophones and perfectly mangled Pavement-style guitar mess.
  2. So while it is more of the same, when that same is such an unpretentious joy to listen to it's churlish to complain. That's not to say it's perfect though: one or two tracks are slightly stretched beyond their natural life.
  3. Los Campesinos! continue to compose intelligent, well thought out songs, endearingly so, and eschew any trends other than the one they're setting for themselves.