User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 47
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 47
  3. Negative: 0 out of 47

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 28, 2013
    6
    Strictly by its own merits, We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace & Magic is not a bad album. In fact it is quite decent, as tracks like "San Francisco", "No Destruction", and "On Blue Mountain" are very entertaining and unique in the modern music landscape, even if the rest of the album gets a bit too close to fellow psychedelic rockers, Tame Impala. However, after listening toStrictly by its own merits, We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace & Magic is not a bad album. In fact it is quite decent, as tracks like "San Francisco", "No Destruction", and "On Blue Mountain" are very entertaining and unique in the modern music landscape, even if the rest of the album gets a bit too close to fellow psychedelic rockers, Tame Impala. However, after listening to their earlier work on Take the Kids Off Broadway, I have to say this album is a great disappointment. That previous album had been nothing short of a grand masterpiece, and rather than expand on its ideas, Foxygen decided to abandon its wild experimentation for far too tame tracks that are inside the box rather than out of it. Therefore, while this album is not bad, I know they can do much better. Expand
  2. Sep 14, 2013
    7
    Foxygen make music that could have been at woodstock. I like psychedelic music with pop sensibilities then you will enjoy this, I do, and I did. The album evokes images of a sunset flower-strewn stage with everybody having a whale of a time, probably under the influence.
  3. Jul 27, 2013
    8
    Lots of pleasant listening here but the sound is very derivative. The best track, No Destruction, is very, very reminiscent of Pavement. Throughout, you'll hear Bowie, MGMT, Dylan.... None of that is all that bad but this does peeter out on the last two tracks. It's all likable, certainly, but I don't quite mistake it for greatness.
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    Great album, one of the best psychedelia album of this year (so far). Foxygen incorporates many element from sixties to seventies psych scene, basically revisiting their roots. A kind of album you want to played during the summer. Highlight track: San Francisco, We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace & Magic, No Destruction, Oh No 2
  5. May 31, 2013
    9
    Foxygen whips up a fantastic blend of psychedelic rock, indie rock and singer-songwriter elements in their latest album. I can say for certain that this album is much more accessible than Take The Kids Off Broadway; the production is clearer, the choruses are catchier and the songwriter is all-around stronger. Despite its accessibility, Peace & Magic cements itself in indie-rock historyFoxygen whips up a fantastic blend of psychedelic rock, indie rock and singer-songwriter elements in their latest album. I can say for certain that this album is much more accessible than Take The Kids Off Broadway; the production is clearer, the choruses are catchier and the songwriter is all-around stronger. Despite its accessibility, Peace & Magic cements itself in indie-rock history with an excellent, fresh sound that is sure to become a classic for indie rock bands in the future. Expand
  6. May 11, 2013
    8
    New to me. I started with On Blue Mountain and felt good. Uplifting, playful and sixties-inspired fun. There were also echoes of T.Rex somewhere. Flowers in your hair...
  7. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    Foxygen are nothing short of a revivalists indie rock duo. They have a knack for catchy choruses and loose-knit guitar licks, not to mention vocals that sound very similar to Mick Jagger in his hey-day. But is any of this a bad thing? Actually, quite the opposite. In Foxygen's case, this couldn't of come at a better time. This is probably the best record I've heard this year so far. InFoxygen are nothing short of a revivalists indie rock duo. They have a knack for catchy choruses and loose-knit guitar licks, not to mention vocals that sound very similar to Mick Jagger in his hey-day. But is any of this a bad thing? Actually, quite the opposite. In Foxygen's case, this couldn't of come at a better time. This is probably the best record I've heard this year so far. In terms of songwriting, musicianship, and production, this record couldn't be any better. All In All, Foxygen (which is a really badass name for a band) weave together a great record that pays homage to classic bands like The Rolling Stones and such, but also create their own style that leaves me wanting more. A- Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    67
    Every subtlety comes steeped in retro classicism.
  2. Feb 15, 2013
    80
    It’s a rewarding mixture of romance, wit and fantasy.
  3. Feb 15, 2013
    78
    This unpredictable first effort is a stirring paean to the golden age of rock.