We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace & Magic Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Record Label: Jagjaguwar
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Rock, Lo-Fi, Indie Pop, Neo-Psychedelia, Indie Folk
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Jan 25, 2013
    90
    In the end, however, the album's coherence comes in its incredible architecture of all these ideas, and the way the band sells them with everything they've got, taking what could be incredibly obtuse music back into the realm of pop from which it was born.
  2. 83
    With We Are The 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace and Magic, Foxygen is a breath of fresh air, reviving a vintage style of songwriting in a new and creative fashion.
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    80
    It's a bit frantic, but always spot-on; the band nails each retro style closely, and yet manages to channel them all into one new vision that's wholly Foxygen.
  4. 80
    The more intelligible lyrics and mid-fi production keep things entertaining and give it the feeling of a fully fleshed-out work.
  5. 70
    For a band that just started writing pop songs, this sophomore LP is an impressive outing.
  6. Jan 29, 2013
    70
    It's sugar-rush shambolic, somewhat shallow, it won't change your life and pours nothing new into the Cauldron Du Rock. But it's also an entertaining riot of gleeful joy and youthful energy.
  7. Jan 23, 2013
    30
    There's certainly scant magic here.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    Great album, one of the best psychedelia album of this year (so far). Foxygen incorporates many element from sixties to seventies psych scene,Great album, one of the best psychedelia album of this year (so far). Foxygen incorporates many element from sixties to seventies psych scene, basically revisiting their roots. A kind of album you want to played during the summer. Highlight track: San Francisco, We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace & Magic, No Destruction, Oh No 2 Collapse
  2. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    Foxygen are nothing short of a revivalists indie rock duo. They have a knack for catchy choruses and loose-knit guitar licks, not to mentionFoxygen are nothing short of a revivalists indie rock duo. They have a knack for catchy choruses and loose-knit guitar licks, not to mention vocals that sound very similar to Mick Jagger in his hey-day. But is any of this a bad thing? Actually, quite the opposite. In Foxygen's case, this couldn't of come at a better time. This is probably the best record I've heard this year so far. In terms of songwriting, musicianship, and production, this record couldn't be any better. All In All, Foxygen (which is a really badass name for a band) weave together a great record that pays homage to classic bands like The Rolling Stones and such, but also create their own style that leaves me wanting more. A- Expand
  3. May 31, 2013
    9
    Foxygen whips up a fantastic blend of psychedelic rock, indie rock and singer-songwriter elements in their latest album. I can say forFoxygen whips up a fantastic blend of psychedelic rock, indie rock and singer-songwriter elements in their latest album. I can say for certain that this album is much more accessible than Take The Kids Off Broadway; the production is clearer, the choruses are catchier and the songwriter is all-around stronger. Despite its accessibility, Peace & Magic cements itself in indie-rock history with an excellent, fresh sound that is sure to become a classic for indie rock bands in the future. Expand
  4. May 11, 2013
    8
    New to me. I started with On Blue Mountain and felt good. Uplifting, playful and sixties-inspired fun. There were also echoes of T.RexNew to me. I started with On Blue Mountain and felt good. Uplifting, playful and sixties-inspired fun. There were also echoes of T.Rex somewhere. Flowers in your hair... Expand
  5. Jul 27, 2013
    8
    Lots of pleasant listening here but the sound is very derivative. The best track, No Destruction, is very, very reminiscent of Pavement.Lots of pleasant listening here but the sound is very derivative. The best track, No Destruction, is very, very reminiscent of Pavement. Throughout, you'll hear Bowie, MGMT, Dylan.... None of that is all that bad but this does peeter out on the last two tracks. It's all likable, certainly, but I don't quite mistake it for greatness. Expand
  6. Sep 14, 2013
    7
    Foxygen make music that could have been at woodstock. I like psychedelic music with pop sensibilities then you will enjoy this, I do, and IFoxygen make music that could have been at woodstock. I like psychedelic music with pop sensibilities then you will enjoy this, I do, and I did. The album evokes images of a sunset flower-strewn stage with everybody having a whale of a time, probably under the influence. Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2013
    6
    Strictly by its own merits, We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace & Magic is not a bad album. In fact it is quite decent, as tracksStrictly by its own merits, We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace & Magic is not a bad album. In fact it is quite decent, as tracks like "San Francisco", "No Destruction", and "On Blue Mountain" are very entertaining and unique in the modern music landscape, even if the rest of the album gets a bit too close to fellow psychedelic rockers, Tame Impala. However, after listening to their earlier work on Take the Kids Off Broadway, I have to say this album is a great disappointment. That previous album had been nothing short of a grand masterpiece, and rather than expand on its ideas, Foxygen decided to abandon its wild experimentation for far too tame tracks that are inside the box rather than out of it. Therefore, while this album is not bad, I know they can do much better. Expand