We Are The Pipettes

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrendanD
    Feb 7, 2007
    7
    I really don't get why everybody's so ga-ga over the Pipettes. "Pull Shapes" is catchy as hell, and contrary to the prevailing Spector references, it's much closer to early '60s R&B, as if Little Eva's doing the Locomotion on amphetamines. But what's great, or special, about the rest of the record? Bubblegum pop is supposed to be about the chorus; everyone I really don't get why everybody's so ga-ga over the Pipettes. "Pull Shapes" is catchy as hell, and contrary to the prevailing Spector references, it's much closer to early '60s R&B, as if Little Eva's doing the Locomotion on amphetamines. But what's great, or special, about the rest of the record? Bubblegum pop is supposed to be about the chorus; everyone from ABBA to the Ramones will show you that. With the extremely notable exception of "Pull Shapes," the choruses don't gel all that well, the most notorious offender being "Judy," which is an average pop song disguised as genius. However, what's really disheartening about the Pipettes is that the come so very, very close to perfection but, like the acid-eaters of the mid-'60s, miss the target entirely. For evidence of this, look no further than "Why Did You Stay?" It's got all the makings of a perfect get-you-outta-my-head tune akin to ABBA's "Waterloo." It falls apart, however, with a mundanely average chorus, which should be the strongest part of the song. Now, that's not to say this is a bad record by any stretch. It's got some catchy hooks, and "Pull Shapes" is worth the price of admission alone. Couple that with production reminiscent of the Go! Team's first record, and you've got some impressive stuff here, a debut that hints at the possibility of good things to come. But those calling this genius really need to go back and listen to those Spector and Gordy records from the early '60s, along with some ABBA and very early Ramones, to find out what pop is REALLY about. Collapse
  2. craigb
    Jul 26, 2006
    10
    best album of the summer, by far
  3. BeckyS.
    Aug 1, 2006
    8
    Like matt sez: it's a very solid record, much better than some of the "official" reviews say it is. It's weird that Art Brut gets away with what's clearly a novelty record and reviewers like it, but Pipettes make a much more listenable and consistent album and get dissed....
  4. OndraL.
    Jul 20, 2006
    10
    I love them...perfect pop
  5. JohnnieM
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    pop perfection
  6. AtalG
    Jul 22, 2006
    8
    I like it. Its a great pop album for the summer. The highlight is clearly Your Kisses, but its all good.
  7. justinb
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    what is there to dislike about this? can someone please tell me.
  8. Shane
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    Oh man.
  9. anna
    Jul 28, 2006
    9
    this album is fun and and refreshing. The Pipettes reinvigorate pop music.
  10. MusicMaven
    Sep 18, 2006
    7
    An enjoyable revival of the girl group sound, updated with modern lyrics. The pure pop melodies and arrangements rival the 1960's originals. But the melodramatic teen pathos sounds a bit studied and the songs lack emotional depth. In the end, though, it doesn't really matter. They capture the form, and enough of the spirit to make the album a success. As they sing in 'Pull An enjoyable revival of the girl group sound, updated with modern lyrics. The pure pop melodies and arrangements rival the 1960's originals. But the melodramatic teen pathos sounds a bit studied and the songs lack emotional depth. In the end, though, it doesn't really matter. They capture the form, and enough of the spirit to make the album a success. As they sing in 'Pull Shapes' -- "I just want to move, I don't care what this song's about". When you're craving some lightweight ear candy, this will fit the bill. Expand
  11. mike
    Sep 29, 2006
    10
    great great great!!
  12. [Anonymous]
    Sep 5, 2006
    8
    It's not going to change the world, but it's fun to listen and sing along to. Sometimes a little self-conscious cheese is a good thing.
  13. martina.
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    I love them, great songs, great album, great band, different style, I like it, cute girls
  14. matta
    Jul 24, 2006
    9
    Wait, are these publications giving this band bad reviews just because they puroport to be a 1960's style novelty act? Who gives a flying fuck. This cd is solid from beginning to end without a single dull moment. Don't listen Uncut and Dot (seriously, does Dot have any credibility at all?), listen to Playlouder and cokemachineglow and get this record immediately.
  15. barrym
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    absolutely amazingly addictive album. As a guy, I normally am turned off by anything even remotely similar to this but the Pipettes made an incredible album that I simply can't pull out of my player. congrats to them on one of the best debuts I have ever heard. Album plays more like a greatest hits than a debut album.
  16. BradP
    Aug 24, 2006
    7
    Good, fun pop but nothing the least bit "deep". They have succeeded in making a record that sounds great at the beach but doesn't reveal anything more upon repeat listenings. I enjoy it for exactly what it is: good quality sugar. When I want some grit and real stories I look elsewhere.
  17. time
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    Adorable! There looks alone win me over. Reminds me of ABBA, Camera Obscura and Phil Spector.
  18. Beelay
    Jun 28, 2007
    8
    Not usually a huge fan of sugary, bubbly stuff like this, but the Pipettes are like a sweet, syrupy virus that gets in your head and is tough to shake. I don't think they take themselves too seriously, and neither should anyone else. They are a (guilty?) pleasure to have some fun with.
  19. kevina
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    14 songs all under 3 minutes... and half of those under two! In a little more than half an hour the Pipettes restored my faith in rock and roll. This cd has not left my player since the day I bought it. ALBUM OF THE YEAR!!!!
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Every song is laced with harmonies that will weave their way deep under your skin.
  2. And while every song contains allusions to forgotten surf rockish guitar chords and Duke Ellington violins, the real fun is in the way the Pipettes play off each other in harmony.
  3. We Are The Pipettes is possibly the only pure-pop record you need own this year.