We Don't Need To Whisper

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: May 23, 2006
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 268 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 268

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    May 25, 2006
    10
    best album ever
  2. junaida
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Amazing album.
  3. [Anonymous]
    May 25, 2006
    10
    best album ever
  4. SteveN
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Great CD
  5. NathanP
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Excellent album. Truly uplifting and awesome experience!
  6. seana
    May 25, 2006
    10
    one of the best albums i have ever heard in my life!
  7. SandroD
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Holy shit AvA,Blink,and BCR kick ass!!!!!BYE BITCHES
  8. DavidL
    May 26, 2006
    8
    Much like Coheed and Cambria, the vocals will take some getting used to. But eventually you'll discover that this is a very worthwhile album and should find a place in anybody's collection.
  9. MonicaS
    May 26, 2006
    10
    I think the important things here is that Tom did what he wanted. He's proud of his work - is that too much to ask?
  10. MikeF
    May 26, 2006
    10
    Tom Delonge's vocal talents aren't anything to throw a stick at, but after many many years of Blink 182 devotion it just kinda grows on you...I love Angels and Airwaves because when I listen to this disc it chills me out and gives me the most relaxing 50 minutes ever....to each their own I suppose. Tom Delonge haters do your worst, he's still richer than all of you. :P
  11. gg
    May 27, 2006
    10
    greatness
  12. SeanT
    May 28, 2006
    10
    this cd is amazing and passionate and i wish that mark was there to back tom's vocals. Adam Willard did a good job but i still would have rather had travis
  13. DanM
    May 28, 2006
    10
    Truly a great album. Gets better tho more you listen to it.
  14. DJPHONETIC
    May 31, 2006
    10
    Every Album has flaws, and so does this but who gives a fuck. OK COMPUTER had flaws. But this is a beautiful album. It's songs shimmer with hope and love. I would be overjoyed to write something as powerful as this.
  15. Tracey
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    Tom DeLonge is a god. This is the first album in over 2 years that I have bought in which I haved loved every single song. It's perfect.
  16. Kira
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    HONESTLY GUYS, this is the best CD that has come out in ALONG time,and anyone out there that says that Tom can't sing or play guitar, i'd like to see YOU do better, cause personaly i think hes amazing. if you ever read this Tom, (which you probably wont) but, i LOVE ALLYOUR WORK, the old and new Blink-182, BoxCar Racer, and the newest of your projects, Angels and Airwaves, i HONESTLY GUYS, this is the best CD that has come out in ALONG time,and anyone out there that says that Tom can't sing or play guitar, i'd like to see YOU do better, cause personaly i think hes amazing. if you ever read this Tom, (which you probably wont) but, i LOVE ALLYOUR WORK, the old and new Blink-182, BoxCar Racer, and the newest of your projects, Angels and Airwaves, i think you have so much talent and i'm expecting Angels and Airwaves to go further than Blink-182 . So keep it up Love you guys all. -KIRA. Expand
  17. Carly
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    I don't like this album but i'll give it a ten because Blink are my favourite ever band. I love you Tom
  18. ryanw
    Aug 14, 2006
    7
    i totally agree with everything roger said
  19. natasha-leer
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    heyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!! your album is fantastic. it is true...you do reach out to peoples hearts with your singing YOUR MY HERO TOM DELONGE!!
  20. billyk
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    just because the albums different, it doesnt mean its bad. yea, it is a little repetitive, but it is still one of my favoret albums and they are my favoret band right now. im not suprised by everyone elses reaction though...no one seems to be open minded like i am these days...
  21. andyc
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    This is an album which we all have to listen to carefully. Forget that its the "New Tom D." Forget that "They're Overrated." just sit down. and listen.
  22. JasonPH
    Jun 11, 2007
    9
    I really like this album. Guitar work by both DeLonge and Kennedy is very nice. Only downfall of this album is the intros into some of the songs like Valkyrie Missile, its too long and it may entice new listeners to stop listening to the CD. But once you get past the intros you have some very nice music. Exceptional work on The Adventure, Do It For Me Now, and It Hurts. These songs really I really like this album. Guitar work by both DeLonge and Kennedy is very nice. Only downfall of this album is the intros into some of the songs like Valkyrie Missile, its too long and it may entice new listeners to stop listening to the CD. But once you get past the intros you have some very nice music. Exceptional work on The Adventure, Do It For Me Now, and It Hurts. These songs really sold the album. Expand
  23. NickZ.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    This album is amazing in it's entirety. Everyone should give this album a chance!
  24. MárioT
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    Tom Delonge was really reborn through this new music, which is more connected to his essence and stimulates us to discover all the power from our emotions, but he doesn't do it in an obvious way.
  25. TyroneP
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Once you get past the euphoria and PMA attitude inherent on this album, and flow (if you can), with the positive energy- it's fantastic. Criticizing this album is as easy as shooting fish in a barrel. But give it a chance, set your cynicism on a shelf, and try to understand it...
  26. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    i enjoyed this album, the prog feel the everything but this record does have weak points but other than that excellent. delonges vocals are inspiring and on point
  27. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Tom Delonge has seemed to have developed a massive ego stating this was going to be a massive rock revolution which it really is not. It was alright but its not blink-182
  28. Aug 11, 2012
    9
    Intelligent, chilling and beautiful. That's exactly what the first album of Angels & Airwaves is. I wouldn't believe that this is the project of blink-182 singer Tom DeLonge, if I wouldn't recognize his voice. Completely different but also amazing. His voice sounds extremely beautiful here and the songs are really good made. Brilliant musicians made one fantastic album here, which is sadlyIntelligent, chilling and beautiful. That's exactly what the first album of Angels & Airwaves is. I wouldn't believe that this is the project of blink-182 singer Tom DeLonge, if I wouldn't recognize his voice. Completely different but also amazing. His voice sounds extremely beautiful here and the songs are really good made. Brilliant musicians made one fantastic album here, which is sadly very underrated. Expand
  29. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    I remember when I first started listening to Angels And Airwaves I was at 420 Chinkapin Way sitting on the balcony looking at the stars. So this album takes me back.

    Valkyrie Missile (9) This song really introduced the band in a great way by showing off their new-age space rock sound. I really love it when the instruments hit and the song picks up. The guitar along with the electronica
    I remember when I first started listening to Angels And Airwaves I was at 420 Chinkapin Way sitting on the balcony looking at the stars. So this album takes me back.

    Valkyrie Missile (9) This song really introduced the band in a great way by showing off their new-age space rock sound. I really love it when the instruments hit and the song picks up. The guitar along with the electronica is really great. The harmony instrumentals hit later in the song and it really sends the song off to the races with a faster tempo and a more positive vibe. I like how they announce in the end they are, Angels And Airwaves.

    Distraction (8) I really like this song because it really promotes the ideology of love between two individuals. The song to me is about how certain people find each other and help each other getting through the monotony of life. This song has guitar riffs somewhat similar to the Blink 182 style but the lyrics are way above Blink 182.

    Do It For Me Now (8.5) This track adds more elements of love to the whole Angels And Airwaves persona. I think the chorus is really great and it has a really great harmony. The melody changes near the end of the song and really makes the song better.

    The Adventure (9.25) This was Angels And Airwaves first single and really got me excited about them back in the day. Looking back at the last few years of my life, I do classify it as an adventure so this is one of my theme songs even though I try not to be mainstream. The secondary guitar elements they add in the beginning really give the opening riff a really great sound. The track does a great job at slowing down and speeding up which makes it unique. My favorite line of the whole song is 'I can't live I can't breathe unless you do this with me.'

    A Little's Enough (9) This song is a really great song to promote being positive to the people your associated with even if you don't like them. The chorus has the best line in the song which is 'the cure is if you let in just a little more love, I promise you this, a little's enough.' The instrumentals are very soothing and relaxing and they are slowed down to change the tempo of the record from the previous track which is more upbeat.

    The War (9.25) Angels And Airwaves promoted a 1940's WWIIesque theme with this record in their documentary Start The Machine. This is a great track for someone who feels like brighter days are coming around the corner and they have won the war of sadness or bitterness against whatever was causing them. The instrumentals are very energetic and can give anyone who listens to it a positive attitude.

    The Gift (9.25) I really love this song because of how I can identify with it. The entire song has a great positive vibe and when Angels And Airwaves goes into the chant, it really gives the listener a good feeling. Another great song to promote good things.

    It Hurts (7.5) This song really threw me off after got accustomed to Angels And Airwaves. The instrumentals are fine, but the 'It Hurts' chant is different along with the talking about alcohol, your best friend not being your girlfriend. It's just a song that doesn't flow as well as the other material in the album.

    Good Day (8.5) This song start out like It Hurts but then the normal Angels And Airwaves harmonics kick back in. The title of the song is a great song to play on a good day but not a beautiful day because then you should play U2. Near the end of the song, the normal sounds that blow me away from Angels And Airwaves show up and really show why they are one of the best bands out there for people who like music that builds.

    Start The Machine (9) This song describes how alot of people in their twenties feel about life I feel in many different dimensions. I think it represents the whole working machine and how alot of people tell themselves that life has begun, and it is depressing. My two phrases in this song are 'I won't say sorry' and 'If love's a word, that you say, say it I will listen.' The instrumentals really pick up later in the song and it really is a great way to finish up the album.

    The Machine (8) This song is a remake or a remix of Start The Machine with more traditional electric guitar sounds and instrumentals. While personally I like the space rock sound better, I think Angels And Airwaves did it to draw Blink 182 fans over.
    Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Blender
    40
    The resulting batch of songs... just pad out the duller bits of blink, then add walls of mid-'80s-era U2 guitar chimes. [Jun 2006, p.136]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    If only DeLonge's nasal vocals were more suited to the Robert Smith romanticism of tracks like "It Hurts." [26 May 2006, p.107]
  3. Many of Angel's midtempo tracks, while well-intentioned, fail to reach the lofty heights to which they aspire.