• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: May 23, 2006
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 268 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 268

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Garrett
    Jun 8, 2006
    3
    hey, we're the emo U2, buy our album. Not the worst thing I've ever heard, but it's bad. Tom's bragging about how revolutionary this dull album would be only makes it worse.
  2. RobertP
    Jun 8, 2006
    8
    great record.
  3. Dave
    Jun 9, 2006
    0
    Someone said "Amazing cd. just dont expect the old blink." that person gave it a 10...so does old blink get an 11 or something? I swear Tom cant do anything b by himself...wheres Mark when you need him... someone also said "Great, consistant album, Toms voice is amazing" Just how amazing is his voice? so amazing I could sing instead of him and probably sound better. I think i was back in Someone said "Amazing cd. just dont expect the old blink." that person gave it a 10...so does old blink get an 11 or something? I swear Tom cant do anything b by himself...wheres Mark when you need him... someone also said "Great, consistant album, Toms voice is amazing" Just how amazing is his voice? so amazing I could sing instead of him and probably sound better. I think i was back in the 80's when I starting listening to it...I think boy bands music is more tolerable then this crap =) Expand
  4. incubus3389
    Jul 15, 2006
    9
    Its truely beautiful.. epic.. there is something truely granduer about its sound.. love
  5. AlR
    Jul 21, 2006
    9
    To me, its the best album of the year so far. I do think its epic and all the rest of what Tom claimed and wanted it to be. There isnt a bad track on the album, which i think is an extremely difficult thing to do. I think people, and critics especially, should read the lyrics in the songs. There all so deep and meaningful and like Blink and Boxcar tracks were, you can totally relate to To me, its the best album of the year so far. I do think its epic and all the rest of what Tom claimed and wanted it to be. There isnt a bad track on the album, which i think is an extremely difficult thing to do. I think people, and critics especially, should read the lyrics in the songs. There all so deep and meaningful and like Blink and Boxcar tracks were, you can totally relate to them and feel inspired by a song to go out and do anything you want to. Tom has definatley proved he can create great music on his own again, just like in Boxcar, with some awesome tracks like The Adventure, It Hurts and to me one of the greatest tracks iv ever heard, Valkyrie Missile. Even though it last nearly 7 minutes, you cant get bored of it! But that is just how i feel and i am a massive fan of his work. I do think if the was a blink album it would have got much more recognition and with maybe Mark and certainly Travis input, then this would be even more bigger then it is. But this is Toms individual work and i personally think its amazing he's done a great job and become an overall better musican, so well done and keep up the good work! Dont let anyone put you Tom, your the best there is!! Expand
  6. RockSucks
    Jul 22, 2006
    0
    Thank god for Hip-Hop
  7. DrewB
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    This is the best album I have heard in over a decade. I can't believe RS gave it such a bad review. Do the reviewers listen to an album once and roll with their review? I know I have to hear an album 3 times, over 3 days before making a judgement, and this album is sensational. Catchy hooks, outstanding production, and they rock. I love it. Can't wait for more!
  8. Beck
    Jul 30, 2006
    9
    Lives up to the hype Tom Delonge surrounded it with and then gives you a bit more. I agree that some songs do sound a little similar, but other than that it's wonderful.
  9. k.tk.t
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    hey you guys give them a chance..... they feel great with thier new band.... they are really good... and i think that they will be better than blink 182...
  10. MadelineH
    Aug 21, 2006
    8
    cool but no blink 182
  11. Louise
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    This album is the best ever! Screw the boring old farts who can't get into anything new and different. Tom is, was and always will be an absolute god! Who cares if it's emo/punk/rock... all i care about is if it's good... and it isn't... it's even better. In the words of Tom Delonge... 'It's the raddest!'
  12. MatthewH
    Aug 27, 2006
    2
    Somewhere between the part where Tom sung the lyric "It hurts" twenty times in a row, to the point where I realized that each song was composed of a single 4 second sample being repeated over and over again; I kind of missed the half of the album that God wrote.
  13. NjoiF
    Aug 28, 2006
    9
    An amazing album. Simply one of the best that i have ever heard. Better then blink and boxcar racer, Tom has done it again. Every single song is great, particularly valkarye missile, the adventure and Start the Machine. Everyone who hates this album should jump off a building
  14. PaulM
    Sep 3, 2006
    9
    Very good music, but Tom's voice doesn't seem to fit in with the music at some points. Otherwise, a good CD
  15. RyanF
    Nov 1, 2007
    5
    A few songs are alright-notably Valkyrie Missile-but it seems like Tom ran out of ideas before he was even halfway through the album. Tom: You're not gonna make revolutionary music when you use stuff you and others have done in the past. It's the worst feeling when you're listening to the CD and you think "Haven't I heard this before?"
  16. ChuckH
    Nov 2, 2007
    0
    Yeah, when i listened to this album, all I heard was cure bass lines, its a complete cure and U2 ripoff. This is just another shit american record, if you want real music you need to look elsewhere!
  17. ErlingS
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    probably the best album ever released. At first, the album seems boring, but after you have listened to it a couple of times, you understand how fantastic this shit is! God, tom is a genious
  18. justafanblink
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    Delonge is on his way of changing music for the better."We Don't Need to Whisper," is a start to something great.Although Mark and Travis are left doing their own thing.I wish best of luck to Delonge,knowing he was born for greatness.Blink will forever be missed.
  19. MichaelS
    Nov 5, 2007
    8
    This is not and never will be blink-182. This is also nothing around. Stick with it and many will love it.
  20. BobJ.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    If Tom was never in Blink-182, everyone would agree that this is an amazing album, but everyone's still stuck on the whole Blink thing. This is more of an alt/prog album, and people should forget the whole pop-punk thing that happened in the past.
  21. ColinT
    Feb 14, 2007
    7
    While entertaining, there's really nothing at all new about the sound. I liked the album but I can't say much good about it because it was pretty average. I like AVA better than Blink, though.
  22. phillipg
    Feb 2, 2007
    9
    Tom is a true modern day poet ! More people should realize this
  23. Nant14
    Mar 15, 2007
    9
    Improvement for Tom.Improvement for the whole music.Really heart-stopping album.I wish AVA to continue their music experiments.I don't understand critics that gave this album mediocre scores.
  24. RanC
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    i dont understand the people that is stuck in the same pattern like u2, or another alike band. i mean you should get outside the box and give an oportunity to this band that change my own music style. After listening very careful to AVA i really realised whats my style,my way of life. AVA is the best that could happend in the worlds music. jus pay attention and wait...you will see. dont i dont understand the people that is stuck in the same pattern like u2, or another alike band. i mean you should get outside the box and give an oportunity to this band that change my own music style. After listening very careful to AVA i really realised whats my style,my way of life. AVA is the best that could happend in the worlds music. jus pay attention and wait...you will see. dont stay in the box.....give the band and your self a chance...ENJOY...its better!!! Expand
  25. LeongL
    Apr 8, 2007
    7
    You know, it's on of those things that does JUST enough to keep your attention. It's not the best album, but a good first attempt. Overall, I more or less enjoyed it, but let's hope for a better album next time.
  26. EvaC
    May 3, 2007
    0
    This album is horrible. It is a bunch of pretentious ambient garbage, trying to be Blink 182 meets a prog band and ends up with a lot of filler crap. And they suck live.
  27. TaylorS.
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    This abulm not only focuses on party and stuff but it expresses what is actually happening in todays world This band may just revolutionize music i am looking foward to I-empire
  28. PunkD.
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    This album is mind-blowing. I can easily see why reviews are mixed as they were reviewing the album on first listen. The album is themed, and it would be hard to distinguish between some of the songs on first listen. However, this album is a serious grower, and once you get to know the songs, sit back and play this album from start to finish, the soundscapes, the lyrics, the story, This album is mind-blowing. I can easily see why reviews are mixed as they were reviewing the album on first listen. The album is themed, and it would be hard to distinguish between some of the songs on first listen. However, this album is a serious grower, and once you get to know the songs, sit back and play this album from start to finish, the soundscapes, the lyrics, the story, everything will blow you away. Expand
  29. ToddD.
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    This album is a daring and amazing new style of music, incorporating atmospheric rhythms, catchy vocals and lyrics, great bass and drums, and echoey, spacy, and perfect sounding guitar lines.
  30. SteveS.
    Sep 25, 2007
    0
    Tom is a pretentious li'l bitch, and this is no musical revolution, regardless what he says.
  31. PatrickM.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    This album came out just after my mother died, so I was more open to it than those reeling over the breakup of blink-182. I am a huge blink fan, and I am stunned that so many other blink fans completely dismiss this album. This album is very powerful and I don't find any of these tracks to be 'whiny' or 'emo' as some reviewers have indicated. This is not an emo This album came out just after my mother died, so I was more open to it than those reeling over the breakup of blink-182. I am a huge blink fan, and I am stunned that so many other blink fans completely dismiss this album. This album is very powerful and I don't find any of these tracks to be 'whiny' or 'emo' as some reviewers have indicated. This is not an emo album, it's uplifting amidst a real description of the world today. And anybody who is open to it can enjoy it. Expand
  32. DannyR
    Jan 15, 2009
    10
    This album was simply inspring during one of the lowest points of my life. A lot of people will underappreciate this album, but it truly is something ambient and incredible for those who desire a message in their music. It's well worth your time.
  33. John
    Jun 27, 2009
    2
    An album that is ruined by its own poorly laid foundation. Tom Delonge was meant for one thing. Silly, poppy, satirical, poop joke, punky music. i.e. Blink 182. This CD is good for one time listening, if that. Space sounds, unbearably whiny vocals, and Tom Delonge's LOOK AT ME I'M AN INNOVATIVE ARTIST FOR REAL attitude doom this ridiculous album from the start. Leave it alone An album that is ruined by its own poorly laid foundation. Tom Delonge was meant for one thing. Silly, poppy, satirical, poop joke, punky music. i.e. Blink 182. This CD is good for one time listening, if that. Space sounds, unbearably whiny vocals, and Tom Delonge's LOOK AT ME I'M AN INNOVATIVE ARTIST FOR REAL attitude doom this ridiculous album from the start. Leave it alone Tom. Go back to what you are good at. Not giving a shit. Expand
  34. andrewt
    Nov 22, 2006
    1
    tom said during his time with blink: "people care about things too much" not only contradicting this statement, he managed to do it in the worst way possible by making a shit album. any blink fans or people who listen to decent music go grab +44 album its really good
  35. JakeM
    Dec 14, 2006
    4
    Every song is too long, it gets too boring...good try though
  36. Zanriel
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    This album continues the trend started in Blink-182's last album. It's moodier, more progressive, and less punk, but still has plenty of upbeat tracks. It's probably not the best for fans of straight up rock/punk, but it's great for fans of melodic rock like Jimmy Eat World, Collective Soul, etc. I love it!
  37. Anon82
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    Best rock vocal.mr tom delonge
  38. NickS
    Dec 6, 2006
    5
    The album definitley had high expectations. Unofortunatley is falls to just an okay cd. Delonge does do a good job with the writing, but not a great job. Album could of been a lot better. I put it in when Im relaxing. Don't put it in during a party or you probably will be laughed at.
  39. MarcoP
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    My favorite album of all time....... Tom Delonge Forever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  40. EddieL
    May 23, 2006
    10
    This is the best CD to come out in a really long time!
  41. StephenM
    May 23, 2006
    10
    Critics are being too hard on Tom Delonge with his latest album- this cd is packed full of emotion, intrigue, and plenty of power. It's the sound of U2 (c'mon, without Bono U2 would be nothing but stellar) mixed with the pop-punkness of blink-182 (duh) to make a fantastic mix that deserves plenty of good reviews. Buy this album.
  42. daves
    May 23, 2006
    3
    didn't quite make it with me and i really wanted to like it!
  43. JC
    May 24, 2006
    8
    I think it's a really refreshing album and enjoy it a lot.. it's not an all time favorite yet, but that takes time.
  44. Matt
    May 24, 2006
    10
    I really enjoyed this. While not a huge fan of Blink 182, I found myself enjoying this album immensely. I'm not sure about the whole "best album in decades" description, but it is DEFINITELY a good start. The lyrics are really amazing. Critics are being way too harsh. My suggestion is to sit down and listen to the CD for what it is, minus all the outside input, and decide for I really enjoyed this. While not a huge fan of Blink 182, I found myself enjoying this album immensely. I'm not sure about the whole "best album in decades" description, but it is DEFINITELY a good start. The lyrics are really amazing. Critics are being way too harsh. My suggestion is to sit down and listen to the CD for what it is, minus all the outside input, and decide for youreslf what it is and what it means. Expand
  45. drewb
    May 24, 2006
    0
    why the hell does he think adding different guitar effects and a synth make an album sound better? everyone on the entire damn planet is doing it. no way in hell is this original or be considered a mildly decen album.
  46. AdamA
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Amazing cd. just dont expect the old blink.
  47. DougW
    May 25, 2006
    9
    I think that a lot of people trash this album because it's not what they had anticipated. It was very over-hyped which caused a lot of people to be underwhelmed. But behind all of the obviously outragious statements lies an album that is truly great. Is it original? No, nothing is. Is it the best music made in the last 2 decades? That's completely an opinion answer. But whether I think that a lot of people trash this album because it's not what they had anticipated. It was very over-hyped which caused a lot of people to be underwhelmed. But behind all of the obviously outragious statements lies an album that is truly great. Is it original? No, nothing is. Is it the best music made in the last 2 decades? That's completely an opinion answer. But whether it's "revolutionary" or not, it deserves some credit for being what it is Expand
  48. J2Schoch
    May 25, 2006
    10
    It's possibly the best album i've ever listened too
  49. KevinD
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Amazing
  50. TrevorH
    May 25, 2006
    10
    we dont need to whisper is the best cd ever created and the "experts" that think they know what they are talking about dont know anything.
  51. [Anonymous]
    May 25, 2006
    10
    best album ever
  52. junaida
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Amazing album.
  53. ColbyS
    May 25, 2006
    5
    I would likely have though it was a lot better if it weren't for Tom's (whose music I usually enjoy much more) constant grandstanding about this being an album that would change the face of rock forever. It's not terrible, and the single is actually a nice, U2-ish change from the ordinary, but I won't be buying any of it- the album or Tom's fastly swelling ego.
  54. [Anonymous]
    May 25, 2006
    10
    best album ever
  55. SteveN
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Great CD
  56. NathanP
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Excellent album. Truly uplifting and awesome experience!
  57. seana
    May 25, 2006
    10
    one of the best albums i have ever heard in my life!
  58. SandroD
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Holy shit AvA,Blink,and BCR kick ass!!!!!BYE BITCHES
  59. Alex
    May 25, 2006
    2
    very (very) dissapointing collection of boring U2 inspired tripe - if anything, it makes me wish for a Blink reunion..... sharpish.
  60. DavidL
    May 26, 2006
    8
    Much like Coheed and Cambria, the vocals will take some getting used to. But eventually you'll discover that this is a very worthwhile album and should find a place in anybody's collection.
  61. MonicaS
    May 26, 2006
    10
    I think the important things here is that Tom did what he wanted. He's proud of his work - is that too much to ask?
  62. MikeF
    May 26, 2006
    10
    Tom Delonge's vocal talents aren't anything to throw a stick at, but after many many years of Blink 182 devotion it just kinda grows on you...I love Angels and Airwaves because when I listen to this disc it chills me out and gives me the most relaxing 50 minutes ever....to each their own I suppose. Tom Delonge haters do your worst, he's still richer than all of you. :P
  63. gg
    May 27, 2006
    10
    greatness
  64. SeanT
    May 28, 2006
    10
    this cd is amazing and passionate and i wish that mark was there to back tom's vocals. Adam Willard did a good job but i still would have rather had travis
  65. DanM
    May 28, 2006
    10
    Truly a great album. Gets better tho more you listen to it.
  66. CoreyW
    May 28, 2006
    0
    Just another album from someone who can't be in touch with reality from having lived as a little whiny plastic-pop (no punk to be found in his veins at all) princess who tries to force himself into thinking he's in touch with anyone except his manager and booking agent. Pure drivel.
  67. matta
    May 29, 2006
    5
    I mostly agree with the critics here. Entertainment Weekly has it the closest (although the score is a little high) when they say that there are some fine instrumental moments, but Delonge's vocals are just flat-out whiny and really ruin what could have been an okay album.
  68. MarkH
    May 29, 2006
    2
    just lame dude. I've heard U2 before ok tom
  69. DJPHONETIC
    May 31, 2006
    10
    Every Album has flaws, and so does this but who gives a fuck. OK COMPUTER had flaws. But this is a beautiful album. It's songs shimmer with hope and love. I would be overjoyed to write something as powerful as this.
  70. Jake
    Jun 15, 2006
    0
    Tom's a tool.
  71. Tracey
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    Tom DeLonge is a god. This is the first album in over 2 years that I have bought in which I haved loved every single song. It's perfect.
  72. Kira
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    HONESTLY GUYS, this is the best CD that has come out in ALONG time,and anyone out there that says that Tom can't sing or play guitar, i'd like to see YOU do better, cause personaly i think hes amazing. if you ever read this Tom, (which you probably wont) but, i LOVE ALLYOUR WORK, the old and new Blink-182, BoxCar Racer, and the newest of your projects, Angels and Airwaves, i HONESTLY GUYS, this is the best CD that has come out in ALONG time,and anyone out there that says that Tom can't sing or play guitar, i'd like to see YOU do better, cause personaly i think hes amazing. if you ever read this Tom, (which you probably wont) but, i LOVE ALLYOUR WORK, the old and new Blink-182, BoxCar Racer, and the newest of your projects, Angels and Airwaves, i think you have so much talent and i'm expecting Angels and Airwaves to go further than Blink-182 . So keep it up Love you guys all. -KIRA. Expand
  73. Carly
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    I don't like this album but i'll give it a ten because Blink are my favourite ever band. I love you Tom
  74. ryanw
    Aug 14, 2006
    7
    i totally agree with everything roger said
  75. Davidb
    Aug 19, 2006
    1
    I agreed with everything Amarganth said ;)
  76. V
    Aug 25, 2006
    5
    Better than U2? Please! Don't get me wrong- I loved Blink and Tom, but A&A don't even belong in the same room... I really liked Do It For Me Now and Adventure, but the rest of the album sounds like a variation on those songs...Maybe next time the band can give us more than a meloncholy, Cure-like U2 rip-off.
  77. natasha-leer
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    heyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!! your album is fantastic. it is true...you do reach out to peoples hearts with your singing YOUR MY HERO TOM DELONGE!!
  78. Andy
    Aug 31, 2006
    2
    Grow up Tom please, you still sound like your 16. This album is absurd.
  79. billyk
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    just because the albums different, it doesnt mean its bad. yea, it is a little repetitive, but it is still one of my favoret albums and they are my favoret band right now. im not suprised by everyone elses reaction though...no one seems to be open minded like i am these days...
  80. andyc
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    This is an album which we all have to listen to carefully. Forget that its the "New Tom D." Forget that "They're Overrated." just sit down. and listen.
  81. JasonPH
    Jun 11, 2007
    9
    I really like this album. Guitar work by both DeLonge and Kennedy is very nice. Only downfall of this album is the intros into some of the songs like Valkyrie Missile, its too long and it may entice new listeners to stop listening to the CD. But once you get past the intros you have some very nice music. Exceptional work on The Adventure, Do It For Me Now, and It Hurts. These songs really I really like this album. Guitar work by both DeLonge and Kennedy is very nice. Only downfall of this album is the intros into some of the songs like Valkyrie Missile, its too long and it may entice new listeners to stop listening to the CD. But once you get past the intros you have some very nice music. Exceptional work on The Adventure, Do It For Me Now, and It Hurts. These songs really sold the album. Expand
  82. NickZ.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    This album is amazing in it's entirety. Everyone should give this album a chance!
  83. MárioT
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    Tom Delonge was really reborn through this new music, which is more connected to his essence and stimulates us to discover all the power from our emotions, but he doesn't do it in an obvious way.
  84. WillM
    Nov 22, 2006
    3
    Absolutely horrible. Blink was amazing, this is just utter crap and drivel.
  85. TyroneP
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Once you get past the euphoria and PMA attitude inherent on this album, and flow (if you can), with the positive energy- it's fantastic. Criticizing this album is as easy as shooting fish in a barrel. But give it a chance, set your cynicism on a shelf, and try to understand it...
  86. ColtonM
    Dec 19, 2006
    5
    from what mark said on Blink182.com Tom sounds like a selfish prick. If you're not a musician i suggest you shut your mouth, because you don't know what you're talking about. I think the album is alright, but Tom is definatly more of a Punk type singer and guitar player.
  87. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    2
    My high expectations of a Queen/progressive album (as promised by Tom Delonge) were shot down after a first listen. And the more I listened to it, the less I liked it. They really tried to make stadium rock here, but it sounds like amateurs trying too hard to be famous. Maybe I set my standards too high, regardless, I can't think of anyone I'd recommend this to.
  88. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    i enjoyed this album, the prog feel the everything but this record does have weak points but other than that excellent. delonges vocals are inspiring and on point
  89. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Tom Delonge has seemed to have developed a massive ego stating this was going to be a massive rock revolution which it really is not. It was alright but its not blink-182
  90. Aug 11, 2012
    9
    Intelligent, chilling and beautiful. That's exactly what the first album of Angels & Airwaves is. I wouldn't believe that this is the project of blink-182 singer Tom DeLonge, if I wouldn't recognize his voice. Completely different but also amazing. His voice sounds extremely beautiful here and the songs are really good made. Brilliant musicians made one fantastic album here, which is sadlyIntelligent, chilling and beautiful. That's exactly what the first album of Angels & Airwaves is. I wouldn't believe that this is the project of blink-182 singer Tom DeLonge, if I wouldn't recognize his voice. Completely different but also amazing. His voice sounds extremely beautiful here and the songs are really good made. Brilliant musicians made one fantastic album here, which is sadly very underrated. Expand
  91. motal
    May 25, 2006
    0
    a horror, a waste that al this talent that's is the band brich up such sh*t
  92. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    I remember when I first started listening to Angels And Airwaves I was at 420 Chinkapin Way sitting on the balcony looking at the stars. So this album takes me back.

    Valkyrie Missile (9) This song really introduced the band in a great way by showing off their new-age space rock sound. I really love it when the instruments hit and the song picks up. The guitar along with the electronica
    I remember when I first started listening to Angels And Airwaves I was at 420 Chinkapin Way sitting on the balcony looking at the stars. So this album takes me back.

    Valkyrie Missile (9) This song really introduced the band in a great way by showing off their new-age space rock sound. I really love it when the instruments hit and the song picks up. The guitar along with the electronica is really great. The harmony instrumentals hit later in the song and it really sends the song off to the races with a faster tempo and a more positive vibe. I like how they announce in the end they are, Angels And Airwaves.

    Distraction (8) I really like this song because it really promotes the ideology of love between two individuals. The song to me is about how certain people find each other and help each other getting through the monotony of life. This song has guitar riffs somewhat similar to the Blink 182 style but the lyrics are way above Blink 182.

    Do It For Me Now (8.5) This track adds more elements of love to the whole Angels And Airwaves persona. I think the chorus is really great and it has a really great harmony. The melody changes near the end of the song and really makes the song better.

    The Adventure (9.25) This was Angels And Airwaves first single and really got me excited about them back in the day. Looking back at the last few years of my life, I do classify it as an adventure so this is one of my theme songs even though I try not to be mainstream. The secondary guitar elements they add in the beginning really give the opening riff a really great sound. The track does a great job at slowing down and speeding up which makes it unique. My favorite line of the whole song is 'I can't live I can't breathe unless you do this with me.'

    A Little's Enough (9) This song is a really great song to promote being positive to the people your associated with even if you don't like them. The chorus has the best line in the song which is 'the cure is if you let in just a little more love, I promise you this, a little's enough.' The instrumentals are very soothing and relaxing and they are slowed down to change the tempo of the record from the previous track which is more upbeat.

    The War (9.25) Angels And Airwaves promoted a 1940's WWIIesque theme with this record in their documentary Start The Machine. This is a great track for someone who feels like brighter days are coming around the corner and they have won the war of sadness or bitterness against whatever was causing them. The instrumentals are very energetic and can give anyone who listens to it a positive attitude.

    The Gift (9.25) I really love this song because of how I can identify with it. The entire song has a great positive vibe and when Angels And Airwaves goes into the chant, it really gives the listener a good feeling. Another great song to promote good things.

    It Hurts (7.5) This song really threw me off after got accustomed to Angels And Airwaves. The instrumentals are fine, but the 'It Hurts' chant is different along with the talking about alcohol, your best friend not being your girlfriend. It's just a song that doesn't flow as well as the other material in the album.

    Good Day (8.5) This song start out like It Hurts but then the normal Angels And Airwaves harmonics kick back in. The title of the song is a great song to play on a good day but not a beautiful day because then you should play U2. Near the end of the song, the normal sounds that blow me away from Angels And Airwaves show up and really show why they are one of the best bands out there for people who like music that builds.

    Start The Machine (9) This song describes how alot of people in their twenties feel about life I feel in many different dimensions. I think it represents the whole working machine and how alot of people tell themselves that life has begun, and it is depressing. My two phrases in this song are 'I won't say sorry' and 'If love's a word, that you say, say it I will listen.' The instrumentals really pick up later in the song and it really is a great way to finish up the album.

    The Machine (8) This song is a remake or a remix of Start The Machine with more traditional electric guitar sounds and instrumentals. While personally I like the space rock sound better, I think Angels And Airwaves did it to draw Blink 182 fans over.
    Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Blender
    40
    The resulting batch of songs... just pad out the duller bits of blink, then add walls of mid-'80s-era U2 guitar chimes. [Jun 2006, p.136]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    If only DeLonge's nasal vocals were more suited to the Robert Smith romanticism of tracks like "It Hurts." [26 May 2006, p.107]
  3. Many of Angel's midtempo tracks, while well-intentioned, fail to reach the lofty heights to which they aspire.