We Don't Need To Whisper - Angels and Airwaves
We Don't Need To Whisper Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 260 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first post-Blink-182 recording for Tom DeLonge finds the singer-guitarist in a new group with members of The Offspring and The Distillers.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Whisper encompasses everything a rock band should be in 2006. [Jul 2006, p.202]
  2. Listening to all this Edge-y guitar doodling and whiny wailing, the question remains: Why mess with a fun, 20-million-album-selling formula for this ponderous prog project?
  3. If only DeLonge's nasal vocals were more suited to the Robert Smith romanticism of tracks like "It Hurts." [26 May 2006, p.107]
  4. Many of Angel's midtempo tracks, while well-intentioned, fail to reach the lofty heights to which they aspire.
  5. DeLonge yanks heartstrings with so-so results.
  6. We Don't Need To Whisper feels like 50 long minutes of DeLonge proving himself as an artist.
  7. By aiming to sound like U2 and Pink Floyd, AVA ends up sounding like an emo version of an even more plodding Coldplay.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 192
  1. DJPHONETIC
    May 31, 2006
    10
    Every Album has flaws, and so does this but who gives a fuck. OK COMPUTER had flaws. But this is a beautiful album. It's songs shimmer Every Album has flaws, and so does this but who gives a fuck. OK COMPUTER had flaws. But this is a beautiful album. It's songs shimmer with hope and love. I would be overjoyed to write something as powerful as this. Expand
  2. wisnusXe
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    my fav album.... we don't need to whisper... my fav song : the adventure...
  3. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Tom Delonge has seemed to have developed a massive ego stating this was going to be a massive rock revolution which it really is not. It wasTom Delonge has seemed to have developed a massive ego stating this was going to be a massive rock revolution which it really is not. It was alright but its not blink-182 Expand
  4. phillipg
    Feb 2, 2007
    9
    Tom is a true modern day poet ! More people should realize this
  5. DavidL
    May 26, 2006
    8
    Much like Coheed and Cambria, the vocals will take some getting used to. But eventually you'll discover that this is a very worthwhile Much like Coheed and Cambria, the vocals will take some getting used to. But eventually you'll discover that this is a very worthwhile album and should find a place in anybody's collection. Expand
  6. MattB.
    Jun 1, 2007
    3
    Basically, this is a rubbish album. There isn't much that is good about it. The music is boring and nothing we haven't heard Basically, this is a rubbish album. There isn't much that is good about it. The music is boring and nothing we haven't heard before. The lyrics are basic and weak. And Tom DeLonge is an pretentious, annoying American. And they're awful live. Collapse
  7. TS
    May 23, 2006
    0
    lame.

See all 192 User Reviews