• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Mar 20, 2007
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 237 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 237

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DK
    Mar 19, 2007
    5
    So disappointing. I didn't think Modest Mouse was capable of making a boring record. March Into the Sea is a great tune and there are a few others that are decent to good, but there are about 5 songs that sound nearly exactly alike (Education, Fly in a Jar, Steam Engenius, etc) that drag the album to a halt in the second half. Spitting Venom is a good tune but I only make it that far So disappointing. I didn't think Modest Mouse was capable of making a boring record. March Into the Sea is a great tune and there are a few others that are decent to good, but there are about 5 songs that sound nearly exactly alike (Education, Fly in a Jar, Steam Engenius, etc) that drag the album to a halt in the second half. Spitting Venom is a good tune but I only make it that far through the album on about 10% of the spins. Missed the Boat is embarrassing and I can't believe Brock would ever make such a ridiculous tune. It sounds like a Matchbox 20 tune and would fit well during a "sentimental" moment in some vapid teen flick like American Pie 5. I had the same horrible feeling of embarassment the first time I heard "Love Boat Captain" by Pearl Jam. That moment when you know that one of your favorite bands has officially jumped the shark. I love all of Modest Mouse's earlier albums and have appreciated their progression through Good News. But this is a misstep. I hope Brock is able to regain his mojo for the next album. Expand
  2. BillyG
    Mar 19, 2007
    4
    While there is some quality content on this album, most of the songs are disconnected and non-continuous. The goodwill that Modest Mouse had coming into this album (especially with Johnny Marr) is squandered by several blatant attempts at creating another "Float On". Unlike "Moon And Antarctica", the songs come off as watered-down, over-produced and non-genuine. I'm not making any While there is some quality content on this album, most of the songs are disconnected and non-continuous. The goodwill that Modest Mouse had coming into this album (especially with Johnny Marr) is squandered by several blatant attempts at creating another "Float On". Unlike "Moon And Antarctica", the songs come off as watered-down, over-produced and non-genuine. I'm not making any kind of claim that the band has "sold out" in any way, but it is clear that the anticipation of this album ultimately lowered the quality of the work. The band needs to go back to what they were best at, a non-compromising song writing attitude and the energetic presentation to legitimize it. Expand
  3. MelvinT
    Mar 23, 2007
    6
    The worst of Modest Mouse is still much better than most bands are capable of, but I gotta say I'm disappointed with this album. Anyone who's ever listened to Moon & Antarctica, Lonesome Crowded West, Building Nothing Out of Something, or This is a Long Drive...know that one of the key elements that made Modest Mouse a great band was Isaac Brocks way with words. There are so The worst of Modest Mouse is still much better than most bands are capable of, but I gotta say I'm disappointed with this album. Anyone who's ever listened to Moon & Antarctica, Lonesome Crowded West, Building Nothing Out of Something, or This is a Long Drive...know that one of the key elements that made Modest Mouse a great band was Isaac Brocks way with words. There are so many memorable lines from those albums that it would be impossible to list them here, but they're few and far between on We Were Dead. Hell, half the time you can't even understand what he's trying to say. Expand
  4. [Anonymous]
    Mar 30, 2007
    6
    A good album, but a predictable step for Modest Mouse, it's structure and style is very similar to Good News. There are a couple of tracks, with the help of Mercer and Marr, that seem to tread new ground; some of the best songs they've written since The Moon and Antarctica are present here -- Florida is a brilliant song. Too bad Dashboard is Float On v2.
  5. zachs
    Feb 25, 2007
    6
    what happened to issac brock's creativity.with the exception of "march into sea" the album is dull. James Mercer is completely out of place on the album. Brock's lyrics are perhaps the most disappointing aspect of the album. One of my generations greatest lyricist has seemed to lost his touch. Hopefully for just one album.
  6. RickE
    Feb 27, 2007
    6
    Modest Mouse have made a mistake here I feel, they have relied too heavily on knowing that we like the shouty tracks, however the shouty tranks only really work with the 6-10 minutes of isolation before hand it ends up sounding like an argument between mother and child
  7. JennM
    Mar 20, 2007
    4
    I feel like crying for the Modest Mouse we once knew.
  8. SteveE
    Mar 27, 2007
    6
    I think it's OK. It seems kind of formulaic to me. I've listened to it 3-4 times now and while it does seem to be growing on me I'm still pretty disappointed.
  9. KennyM
    Apr 13, 2007
    5
    modest mouse, who used to be pure magic, have now become what we all feared -- consistently okay.
  10. nicoleh
    Mar 14, 2007
    5
    I must be going bananas because everyone else loves this album where as I see it as a one of there worst. I find the album to be too poppy, sloppy, and unbalanced. Some say its there most approachable album but is that a good thing? Issac's talent for songwriting has always stood out to me and I feel this time around he isnt writing music that means something to him- but instead for I must be going bananas because everyone else loves this album where as I see it as a one of there worst. I find the album to be too poppy, sloppy, and unbalanced. Some say its there most approachable album but is that a good thing? Issac's talent for songwriting has always stood out to me and I feel this time around he isnt writing music that means something to him- but instead for the masses and that troubles me. Expand
  11. RyanM
    Mar 16, 2007
    5
    So this what Modest Mouse sounds like mainstream? After GNFPWLB you had to figure this was the direction they were headed.
  12. fwa
    Mar 19, 2007
    4
    this album is painfully mediocre. Worst mm album yet.
  13. MichaelC
    Apr 17, 2007
    6
    Not as good as I first though. Dashboard was pretty darn catchy (and how about that music video?) and Florida is one of their best. But the rest of the cd? Too forgettable. They lack the style they had years ago. It's too bad. Modest Mouse is one of my favorites. And by the way TBone (hopefully your parents didn't actually name you that) don't you dare talk trash about Tv Not as good as I first though. Dashboard was pretty darn catchy (and how about that music video?) and Florida is one of their best. But the rest of the cd? Too forgettable. They lack the style they had years ago. It's too bad. Modest Mouse is one of my favorites. And by the way TBone (hopefully your parents didn't actually name you that) don't you dare talk trash about Tv on the Radio. There's a band that actually still rocks. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 90
    Is there another "Float On"? It scarcely matters: 10 years into their career, Modest Mouse have stumbled into their best album yet. [Mar 2007, p.137]
  2. Not just an album that revisits the dancey guitar-pop that made "Float On" an unlikely #1 hit, but sharpens and emboldens it for their most accessible album to date. [#16, p.93]
  3. Like everything the band has released since signing with Epic in the teeth of a millennial panic, it's louder and somewhat less twisty than the group's indie output.