We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Mar 20, 2007
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 247 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 247

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DylanS
    May 30, 2007
    9
    Another quality release from Modest Mouse. A nice mix of the Good News and Moon and Antartica sound to create the second best release of their career and one of this years best. Don't be afraid of the accesibility of their sound, it's still Modest Mouse, just with exceptional song structure + Johnny Marr was a great addition.
  2. Djimi
    Jun 14, 2007
    10
    More pure quality from Modest Mouse. I think some critics are just being pathetic and trying to go against the grain by giving it mediocre reviews just because they've become popular and had good sales, 'cos it really is a great band on top form.
  3. JohnnyD
    Apr 26, 2007
    10
    Great record. There's so many hooks on this album, every track sounds like it could be a single.
  4. Jan 6, 2011
    7
    We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank has some really good tracks on it. Modest Mouse has made another solid album. The sound of it is a little different from their previous work "Good News For People Who Love Bad News". It sounds pretty good for the most part. My favorite song on the album is "Spitting Venom". Amazing song. And "Dashboard", "Little Motel", and "Fire It Up" are all greatWe Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank has some really good tracks on it. Modest Mouse has made another solid album. The sound of it is a little different from their previous work "Good News For People Who Love Bad News". It sounds pretty good for the most part. My favorite song on the album is "Spitting Venom". Amazing song. And "Dashboard", "Little Motel", and "Fire It Up" are all great tracks. All In All, a solid album with a handful of great tracks. B Expand
  5. EduardoA
    Feb 25, 2007
    8
    Good album, sometimes they start wandering around, but it's the least of the times. It's great to be able to hear a whole Modest Mouse album without feeling like something is just noisy and giving me an earache as it happened to me with 'Good news from people who love bad news'. P.S: 8 because the record sometimes seems overproduced.
  6. theboneykingofnowhere
    Mar 17, 2007
    7
    Blender: Is there another "Float On"? It scarcely matters: 10 years into their career, Modest Mouse have stumbled into their best album yet. Ok their seminal work is the Moon and Antarctica, hands down. This cd is ok but that's it, ok. I do think they have improved upon the sound that they developed for Good News however, I remember a time when Modest Mouse didn't need guest Blender: Is there another "Float On"? It scarcely matters: 10 years into their career, Modest Mouse have stumbled into their best album yet. Ok their seminal work is the Moon and Antarctica, hands down. This cd is ok but that's it, ok. I do think they have improved upon the sound that they developed for Good News however, I remember a time when Modest Mouse didn't need guest spots from James Mercer or that dude from the Flaming Lips on the last album to make an incredible album. Also, Isaac, what the hell happened to the whammy bar dude? Expand
  7. JeffV
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    Yeah, it doesn't sound like Lonesome Crowded West, but that came out ten years ago. I've listened to WWDBTSES a lot in the past month. It seems to be a mix or GNFPWLBN and tM&A. There are a couple really catchy songs that you'll probably be hearing a lot on your college radio station, just like the last two albums. There are few of the bipolar songs that sound more like a Yeah, it doesn't sound like Lonesome Crowded West, but that came out ten years ago. I've listened to WWDBTSES a lot in the past month. It seems to be a mix or GNFPWLBN and tM&A. There are a couple really catchy songs that you'll probably be hearing a lot on your college radio station, just like the last two albums. There are few of the bipolar songs that sound more like a medly of two songs than one unified track, but they are also some of the best tracks on the album. The presence of Marr is felt, but doesn't distract. I was kinda disappointed by their last album, so I was skeptical. I'm glad I was proven wrong. This is right up there with LCW and tM&A. It will be on lots of top ten lists in December. Expand
  8. JCCaird
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    Fantastic album. Stand out tracks are "Parting of the Sensory" and "Spitting Venom".
  9. SeanC
    Jun 20, 2007
    9
    I loved it. At first I felt it was a little..... easier than the other albums Mouse has done, as Good News for People Who Love Bad News was. After giving it a week or two it found it's way back on my playlist, again, just like Good News.
  10. JamesboF.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    This album is so damn catchy. It reminds me of 80s new wave-it has that vibe-and almost every song is great. It's just so catchy and perfectly set up. I love this album!
  11. LainieR
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    Yesssss
  12. AndrewC
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    Finally it leaked
  13. Albert
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    I love the part that makes me smile!
  14. Patty
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    If you like this album you are a good person
  15. NikolasJ
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    I've read some reviews that claim the new Modest Mouse album sounds rushed, as if Brock was just trying to satisfy a contract, but I highly disagree. To me, it's an angry album, no doubt, but a great album nonetheless. "We were dead" is about not growing and/or learning from mistakes. It's about not feeling trapped by history, and that speaks to Mouse's listeners on I've read some reviews that claim the new Modest Mouse album sounds rushed, as if Brock was just trying to satisfy a contract, but I highly disagree. To me, it's an angry album, no doubt, but a great album nonetheless. "We were dead" is about not growing and/or learning from mistakes. It's about not feeling trapped by history, and that speaks to Mouse's listeners on many levels. The album is speaking to the people who are constantly upset they don't sound like "Lonesome Crowded West" anymore as well as any listeners who feels upset with their own life but does nothing to change it. It's a brilliantly angry album, and rightfully so. Everyone, including your favorite band, has to change if they mean to make any progress. People who want the same thing repeated, in music or life, are not going to grow, and that's who they are speaking to. The album is sharp, and Brock & company are as acute as always. They are growing and have accepted the fact that some of their earliest fans may not grow with them, but they're at peace with that. After all, we all know the tragedy of history repeating itself. Expand
  16. ZayneF
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    This album is flawless. It revisits almost all of the periods theyve gone through, and adds more texture to the sound. Each song has its purpose, and each song serves that purpose.
  17. LucasK
    Mar 17, 2007
    7
    it's alright. not that good or not that bad. Only bad thing is that... IT's so damn dancy, I mean, listen to that beat...
  18. OliverC
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    This album is outstanding. A great follow up to good news. I would say a good deal better than arcade fire's neon bible (if for some reason you want to compare the two.)
  19. ChrisC
    Mar 19, 2007
    8
    WWDBTSES is Modest Mouse's most dense and clamorous album yet, for sure... it pulls you in and then moves forward with power, all push and shove. The only thing this album lacks is some of the quiet thoughtfulness found on Good News and even more prominent on The Moon and Antarctica. Towards the end of the album, I find myself craving the beauty and humility of songs like "Gravity WWDBTSES is Modest Mouse's most dense and clamorous album yet, for sure... it pulls you in and then moves forward with power, all push and shove. The only thing this album lacks is some of the quiet thoughtfulness found on Good News and even more prominent on The Moon and Antarctica. Towards the end of the album, I find myself craving the beauty and humility of songs like "Gravity Rides Everything", "Lives", or "Blame It On The Tetons", and this desire is never quite met. Expand
  20. Myles
    Mar 19, 2007
    7
    It is put together quite well, but it's not the same Mouse I've come to know. This is over the hill Modest Mouse. I understand how they all need to pay their electric bills and I do think it sounds great, but it lacks intensity and those amazing lyrics that make you wonder and you have to think long and hard about what he's saying, instead of repeating the same chorus about It is put together quite well, but it's not the same Mouse I've come to know. This is over the hill Modest Mouse. I understand how they all need to pay their electric bills and I do think it sounds great, but it lacks intensity and those amazing lyrics that make you wonder and you have to think long and hard about what he's saying, instead of repeating the same chorus about 4 times. Expand
  21. DanM
    Mar 21, 2007
    7
    I've been nervous about this album for months. I'm one of the few long time fans who actually enjoyed "Good News...", specifically "Ocean Breathes Salty." Still, I felt it to be the weakest of their albums mainly do to less interesting and challenging lyrics, which were always the highlight of the band to me. Ironically, the poppier songs had better lyrics than most of the I've been nervous about this album for months. I'm one of the few long time fans who actually enjoyed "Good News...", specifically "Ocean Breathes Salty." Still, I felt it to be the weakest of their albums mainly do to less interesting and challenging lyrics, which were always the highlight of the band to me. Ironically, the poppier songs had better lyrics than most of the more "traditional" Modest Mouse songs. Strangely, that holds on this album as well. The music is far more accessible than ever before... meaning that it isn't as experimental and inspiring as say "Lonesome Crowded West" and "Antarctica and the Moon." Still, Brock writes some amazing songs on this album that are honest, poignant, intelligent, and intoxicating enjoyable that nearly top that of their penultimate "Antarctica and the Moon." I feel if this album had the brilliant music work of "Lonesome Crowded West" instead of what ended up here, it would probably be by far their best album. Sadly, that is an impossibility. The music itself isn't bad per sé, but it just seems to lack the true essence of Modest Mouse. They don't seem to be even trying anymore in that area anymore outside of "Invisible", "Steam Ingenius," and "Spitting Venom." Still, Isaac Brock proves once again that he can arrange words to form one amazing song... lyrically at least. Expand
  22. NigelB
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    Fantastic, Modest Mouse delivered everything I had been anticipating for and possibly more. Enough new twists to keep me interested, but not too many to distance me from their sound.
  23. MichaelK
    Mar 21, 2007
    8
    For all the die-hard Modest Mouse fans who cringed at the success of "Float On," do yourself a favor and please don't just write this album off. All the elements are here that make Modest Mouse what they are- Brock's charismatic growl, clever wordplay and lyrics, the obtuse and the catchy always warring with each other, and even a hint of "Moon and Antarctica" style darkness. For all the die-hard Modest Mouse fans who cringed at the success of "Float On," do yourself a favor and please don't just write this album off. All the elements are here that make Modest Mouse what they are- Brock's charismatic growl, clever wordplay and lyrics, the obtuse and the catchy always warring with each other, and even a hint of "Moon and Antarctica" style darkness. Sure, it may be hummable enough to drive away the elitists, and off-kilter enough to alienate some casual listeners, yet that was what Modest Mouse have always been- they never sit easy, and it's this that makes them unique. Sure to be one of the best indie-rock releases of this year. So you know, however, this comes from a MM fan who considers "Good News" to be their best album ;) ... Expand
  24. MattA
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    Listened to it on my way home from work... and loved it on my first listen. ...its not too often i like a whole CD on its first run through. haha... and it struck even more of a chord knowing Johnny Marr, and James Mercer helped make this possible. Kudos.
  25. BenA
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    Actually, this one is much more like "lonesome crowded west" than anything else they have done. The return of their original drummer I think helped them get back to their daring and explorational roots. Spitting Venom is pure old-school modest mouse. All these morons crying about how modest mouse sold out need to shut up. This album is not any more accessible than their early work. Modest Actually, this one is much more like "lonesome crowded west" than anything else they have done. The return of their original drummer I think helped them get back to their daring and explorational roots. Spitting Venom is pure old-school modest mouse. All these morons crying about how modest mouse sold out need to shut up. This album is not any more accessible than their early work. Modest Mouse always wrote catchy songs. What about "Heart Cooks Brain"? That one's insanely catchy, and then they masterfully put together "dashboard" which is denser and more detailed, but get shot at for getting too mainstream?? please. Modest Mouse are following their own artistic curve, experimenting with new instrumentation and production techniques, but all you naysayers forget that modest mouse always wrote a mean catch pop tune, and thats why we all liked them in the first place. This is yet another great album from a great band. A+ Expand
  26. LukeH
    Mar 24, 2007
    10
    How many other bands have been around for over a decade and have never released a bad album? Fucking Great.
  27. jm
    Mar 24, 2007
    8
    I didn't expect to like this album as much as I do. it has the mainstream qualities of good news but the sound is much more reminiscent of their older work, of which I have been a long-time fan. if there is anything wrong with the album, is that modest mouse stays in their comfort zone, instead of trying to be a little out-there, which means there aren't really any awful tracks, I didn't expect to like this album as much as I do. it has the mainstream qualities of good news but the sound is much more reminiscent of their older work, of which I have been a long-time fan. if there is anything wrong with the album, is that modest mouse stays in their comfort zone, instead of trying to be a little out-there, which means there aren't really any awful tracks, but nothing incredible either. also I don't really like the affectation isaac brok's voice picked up on good news, but that comes and goes on the disc. overall a suprise album for a long-time fan. Expand
  28. AndrewK
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    March Into The Sea: 9.0 Dashboard: 8.0 Parting of The Sensory: 10. (Very diverse.) Florida: 7.0 (Meh.) Fire It Up: 8.5 Missed The Boat: 10 (Very fun.) We've Got Everything: 7.0. (Meh.) Little Motel: 10 (Relaxing and calm.) Fly Trapped In A Jar: Unconfirmed. Education: 9.0 Steam Engenius: 8.0 Spitting Venom: Unconfirmed. People As Places As People: 8.5 Invisible: 10 (Great ending.)
  29. matto
    Mar 20, 2007
    8
    Great record all around. Sure, some of the songs try a little to hard to be the next FLOAT ON, but others are very true to their roots. Best effort they have made in a while.
  30. ClaytonS
    Mar 30, 2007
    9
    Another great Modest Mouse album!
  31. NellieB
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    An amazing band makes another amazing album.
  32. KevinD
    Apr 18, 2007
    9
    Too many people today say that Modest Mouse has changed for the worse. This is of course not true. They have been inconsistant with the way the sound from the start. Play "The Moon and Antarctica" and then "The Lonesome Crowded West" and you'll notice big differences. Hell the only two things they have been consistant at are; being inconsistant and and quality. Each of their albums Too many people today say that Modest Mouse has changed for the worse. This is of course not true. They have been inconsistant with the way the sound from the start. Play "The Moon and Antarctica" and then "The Lonesome Crowded West" and you'll notice big differences. Hell the only two things they have been consistant at are; being inconsistant and and quality. Each of their albums have ranged from good to great, this album is of no exception. While it has some flaws and probably doesn't deserve the "9" I gave it, plenty of the songs such as, "Missed the Boat", "Spitting Venom", "Florida", and "March into the Sea" are amaing. Pick this up if you are a fan of Alternative Rock. Expand
  33. GuyH
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    Fantastic album. I really didn't get on with Good News but this is like a perfectly refined version of what they were attempting with that album. It flows, it has at least 12 great songs - come on chaps, why the middling reviews? This is stunning stuff.
  34. johns
    Apr 4, 2007
    7
    Some say that good news was modest mouses first step towards irrelevancy. It was not. This however is a truly incredible bands first mediocre record. March into the sea as well as spitting venom are modest mouse at their finest however the rest of the album finds lyrical genius issac brock writing the most embarssing lyrics of his carreer.maybe hes lost it.
  35. MatthewB
    Apr 5, 2007
    9
    A great addition to the MM discography. It's not as drawn out and soloish as other earlier records were, which I felt they were trying to do. The songs such as "Florida," "Dashboard," and "We've Got Everything" have great crossover appeal and are very enjoyable. It's not a "Lonesome Crowded West" but it's definitely an improvement over "Good News," just not as introverted.
  36. TBone
    Apr 9, 2007
    9
    This site baffles me. What do Yoko Ono and Modest Mouse have in common? They both scored 76 from the critics. Ok the metascore is retarded. If MM gets a 76, then Yoko gets a 3, and yes I listened to it. Then you look at last year's top 30. this album is better than Bob Dylan, Tv On the Radio, Tom waits and the Ali Farka Toure. That's not even questionable. Listen to Dashboard or This site baffles me. What do Yoko Ono and Modest Mouse have in common? They both scored 76 from the critics. Ok the metascore is retarded. If MM gets a 76, then Yoko gets a 3, and yes I listened to it. Then you look at last year's top 30. this album is better than Bob Dylan, Tv On the Radio, Tom waits and the Ali Farka Toure. That's not even questionable. Listen to Dashboard or Fly Trapped and you decide. FYI to find good music on this site, look for stuff in the 70's, maybe low 80's or high 60's. Expand
  37. CraigO
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    This band is now my guilty pleasure. It's catchy music that's more or less just meant to be catchy. It's all I expect, it's what I get, so I love it.
  38. Matthew
    Jun 18, 2007
    7
    It loses a bit after repeated listens, but it delivers several great tracks that almost have a "Lonesome Crowded West" era feel to them. We Were Dead mixes accessability with typical Modest Mouse idiosyncracies to create what is perhaps their most listenable album yet.
  39. DanL
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    Another truly great album from a very talented band. Nothing reaches the mainstream appeal of "Float On" from Good News, but that's not a bad thing. Modest Mouse seem to be revisiting their roots with this album, which is nearly as accomplished as their best album (in my opinion), 2000's The Moon & Antarctica. Brock's songwriting is at its best on "Dashboard," "Parting of Another truly great album from a very talented band. Nothing reaches the mainstream appeal of "Float On" from Good News, but that's not a bad thing. Modest Mouse seem to be revisiting their roots with this album, which is nearly as accomplished as their best album (in my opinion), 2000's The Moon & Antarctica. Brock's songwriting is at its best on "Dashboard," "Parting of the Sensory" and "Missed the Boat." We Were Dead... is at times carefree, and emotionally charged at others. It's right up there with the best Indie records of recent years. Expand
  40. AlexP.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Amazing. It's almost as good as anything they've done. Brock is an irreverent screaming genius. He's never boring and never pretentious. This album is excellent all the way through. My special faves are March into the Sea, Florida, Parting of the Sensory, Fly Trapped in a Jar and Spitting Venom. Marr is a nice addition. He and Brock obviously hit it off well musically. I Amazing. It's almost as good as anything they've done. Brock is an irreverent screaming genius. He's never boring and never pretentious. This album is excellent all the way through. My special faves are March into the Sea, Florida, Parting of the Sensory, Fly Trapped in a Jar and Spitting Venom. Marr is a nice addition. He and Brock obviously hit it off well musically. I saw them live on May 6th and was absolutely blown away. Expand
  41. JohnG
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    its great when all of your friends argue over what the best song is.
  42. RossP.
    Jan 14, 2008
    9
    well gee, an album that is too long? omg, thats the worst complaint about an album i could ever conceive! those people must be sacked. ok i have to say this isn't an album of epic tracks, it is an epic album, the title completely suits the lyrical context. I have never chose to listen to one song of this album by itself, always the album as a whole and thats where my joy lies. The well gee, an album that is too long? omg, thats the worst complaint about an album i could ever conceive! those people must be sacked. ok i have to say this isn't an album of epic tracks, it is an epic album, the title completely suits the lyrical context. I have never chose to listen to one song of this album by itself, always the album as a whole and thats where my joy lies. The emotion swells, alas depressing sentimental misgivings is not something i ever dwell on, but in such a poetic delivery, with so much heart, deserves a nod of respect. Something that deserves at least 3 listens thru, and from there you will want to listen again and again. Expand
  43. JCF.
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    This album is perfect, so many shades ... I like it a lot
  44. JohnS
    Feb 16, 2007
    9
    solid album
  45. CarolN
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    Brilliant!!!
  46. issacb
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    does not dissapoint
  47. MermaidOnland
    Feb 22, 2007
    9
    An amazing effort at points. A few weaker spots, but otherwise consistently inventive, clever, and rocking. Ranks up there with their best work, if not their absolute best at certain moments (Parting of the Sensory, Little Motel, Spitting Venom).
  48. MartyMcfly
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    Easily, some of the best work they've done ever, and has shown how much the band has matured since they began. Buy this album and listen to it over and over again.
  49. CalebR
    Feb 25, 2007
    9
    Almost as good as Lonesome Crowded West. Rocking. New. Excellent. Johnny Marr brings the funk, Isaac Brock continues the insanity. A collection of well-executed pop songs.
  50. Chelsey
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    This album feels like your riding in a huge pirate ship. Yarrrrr!
  51. Chuck
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    I would like to thank modest mouse for another perfect album. Everything you would want from an album
  52. cody
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    This is a great album to sail to.
  53. Shorty
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    I love modest mouse so much
  54. Tim
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    I get off the plane and my name is in flashy lights everywhere
  55. nyome
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    Best one yet!
  56. Luke
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    This album is quite possibly in my top ten favourites list now, what an amazing album.
  57. AndyM
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    Long Awaited with baited breath and WOW what a punch this MM album packs - dark, angry and brock doing waht he does best 'Spitting Venom', reckong this surpasses GNFPWLBN!
  58. AndrewM
    Mar 16, 2007
    7
    "Dead" is a delightful album. While many draw comparisons to "Good News", it truly harkens back to what some consider their best album, "The Moon and Antarctica". "Dead" may have that poppier sound that is often associated with the first few tracks off of "Good News" in places (a sound that didn't quite jive at times with the rest of the album's tracks, such as "Bukowski"), but "Dead" is a delightful album. While many draw comparisons to "Good News", it truly harkens back to what some consider their best album, "The Moon and Antarctica". "Dead" may have that poppier sound that is often associated with the first few tracks off of "Good News" in places (a sound that didn't quite jive at times with the rest of the album's tracks, such as "Bukowski"), but it picks up the pieces where "Good News" fell apart by being a cohesive album rather than a, albeit great, disjointed collection of songs. "Dead" isn't as deep as their previous works, such as "Building Nothing Out of Something" or, again, "The Moon and Antarctica" and it may not have the consistently angry drawl of "Lonesome Crowded West" that many fans associate with the group, but it stands on its own merits all the same, namely with the opening track titled "march into the sea", "parting of the sensory", and the incredible closing track "invisible". Again, unlike "Good News", these heavier tracks are Supported by the peppier sound of tracks such as "Dashboard" (which I did not enjoy particularly by itself), rather than hindered, because this time around, as a whole the album sticks to a theme pretty well which lends it a sense of coherence. So why the 7? That's the problem with reviewing music. I listened to the album repeatedly after getting it and enjoyed it immensely, but over time it starts to wear itself out and show some of its inadequacies as an album. Who knows though, I may just not be in a mood for the music and so what I consider inadequacies may later be considered positive attributes. I will say, for reference, that Lonesome Crowded West is my favorite album, which, if the people I've spoken with are any indication, is kind of a rarity for modest mouse fans and hopefully offers some insight into the score. Expand
  59. IanR.
    Mar 16, 2007
    8
    When I first heard this album, I was really dissappointed. I've been a Modest Mouse fan for a long time, and I felt that these songs just weren't as fully developed as some of their other stuff. But the more I listened to it, the more I started noticing some really great things going on. Right now, it's really the only thing I've been listening to (I haven't When I first heard this album, I was really dissappointed. I've been a Modest Mouse fan for a long time, and I felt that these songs just weren't as fully developed as some of their other stuff. But the more I listened to it, the more I started noticing some really great things going on. Right now, it's really the only thing I've been listening to (I haven't listened to Neon Bible nearly as much as We Were Dead...). There is a lot of the angular funk guitar like on "The View" from Good News ("Florida," "Dashboard," "We've Got Everything," "Fly Trapped in a Jar," "Steam Engenius"). The songwriting definitely hasn't gotten any poppier since Good News. I'd say there isn't a "Float On" anywhere on the album, but there is a "Gravity Rides Everything" in "Missed the Boat." I personally like James Mercer's guest spots. They're not too extensive (he provides vocal harmonies on "Missed the Boat," a fun "whoooooa" type of thing on "Florida," and an echo to Brock's vocals on "We've Got Everything") but they add a nice flavor while they last. Johnny Marr's guitar is more cosmetic than anything, and I feel like it simply adds some texture as opposed to changing Modest Mouse's sound at all. "Spitting Venom" is my favorite track at the moment, an eight-and-a-half-minute long song that starts off like one of the weirder acoustic tracks off of Good News and eventually rocks as hard as any of the heavier tracks off of The Moon and Antarctica. I don't know, I like the album a lot. It's probably not as great as The Lonesome Crowded, The Moon and Antarctica, or Building Nothing Out of Something, and I think it's too early to tell if it's better than Good News. If you didn't like the last album, you most likely won't like this one. But if you're open-minded and give We Were Dead a good amount of listens, it will sink in. Expand
  60. RicardoO
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    The Best Indie Rock Album for this century...maybe not, but for sure is the best Indie Rock Band
  61. benc
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    absolutly awesome
  62. DavidW
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    this cd is surprisingly wonderful. i guess not really surprising, but after good news, i didn't think this would so splendid. but i just love it so much.
  63. PhilipM
    Mar 18, 2007
    9
    I'd give it a ten but it's not 1996 anymore. These guys rock but don't knock me on my ass, which isn't a bad thing. I have to believe that now that they're getting rich that this might be their apex, hopefully not, They're great chill music especially with your sister. YOUR sister not mine.
  64. MattM.
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    Simply awesome. Isaac's vocals are weirder than ever, and the songs are damn catchy. Favorites: "March Into the Sea", "Florida", "Fly Trapped In A Jar". Least Favorites: "Fire it Up", "Little Motel".
  65. EronL
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    Modest Mouse doesn't sell out or change it's sound significantly for the mainstream. Johnny Marr's influence is evident throughout, but Isaac Brock is still Isaac Brock. He sings, yelps, growls, and talks his way through a very enjoyable album. It isn't The Moon and Antartica (which if you don't own, you should have rushed out to the store to buy 5 minutes ago), Modest Mouse doesn't sell out or change it's sound significantly for the mainstream. Johnny Marr's influence is evident throughout, but Isaac Brock is still Isaac Brock. He sings, yelps, growls, and talks his way through a very enjoyable album. It isn't The Moon and Antartica (which if you don't own, you should have rushed out to the store to buy 5 minutes ago), but it is a better overall album then Good News. Expand
  66. Mick
    Mar 20, 2007
    7
    Good album, not as good as their last though
  67. ChrisM
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    When i heard dashboard I had pretty grim expectations for the album, but the rest of the album turned out to be amazing. Marr's copmlex guitar work underneath Brock's powerful voice makes for and odd but equally compelling mix. a very consistent album
  68. timm
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    First off, i'm a hardcore modest mouse fan. That being said, this album has reinvigorated within me my almost drowned love for them. This cd is by far their best ever, mixing in the raw, bone-crushing soul from their earlier work with elevated structures and more elaborate instrumentation. You will not be able to phathom the power of this cd til you hear it 3 or 10 times. This does First off, i'm a hardcore modest mouse fan. That being said, this album has reinvigorated within me my almost drowned love for them. This cd is by far their best ever, mixing in the raw, bone-crushing soul from their earlier work with elevated structures and more elaborate instrumentation. You will not be able to phathom the power of this cd til you hear it 3 or 10 times. This does not get old for me, and every time i hear it i like it more... which cements Isaac's status as a true contemporary American musical genius, at least in my eyes. Good News was like a venture into different sounds, while this cd brings it all together in freakin awesomeness. There are 1 or 2 tracks i could do without, (tracks 4 and 7 don't catch me til the breakdowns), but overall this is a work of art. Couldn't have hoped for better. Can't wait to see where they tread next. Expand
  69. PhillipV
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    I can finally say that Modest Mouse has come back with a song as good as "float on". Dashboard is excellent and so is the rest of the CD. Good job guys!
  70. BrianF
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    Great album. No tracks to skip on this one. Pick it up.
  71. SmoereB
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    Oh, my golly, this is an amazing record.
  72. DrewP
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    Comparisons to their other material are inevitable, but not necessary. This is a great album--I guarantee that 10 years from now, this album will still be cool. Parting of the Sensory alone makes me feel good about the state of music.
  73. JeffS
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    don't cry over the new sound, celebrate its awesomeness.
  74. DiabloP
    Mar 23, 2007
    8
    Why do people complain when bands change or don't stay the way that they were when they were young and hungry? Modest Mouse fans seemed to be of two mind thoughts.......blah blah blah blah blah blah. I digress ...good album ...good band...maybe not as "modest", but more than prepared to make you want more.
  75. simonl
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    It feels like Pavement and Nick Cave with some 80's pop. I love Parting of the Sensory, if you like that too check for Pig Lib.
  76. ObsceneMinstrel
    Mar 23, 2007
    7
    At first I was completely put off by this album, but even though I was telling myself I hated it I felt compelled to listen to it over and over again. Even the songs I thought were totally silly like "Fire It Up" and "Spitting Venom" eventually grew on me. This album's problem is that it doesn't flow very well. That's probably because it's essentially about five or six At first I was completely put off by this album, but even though I was telling myself I hated it I felt compelled to listen to it over and over again. Even the songs I thought were totally silly like "Fire It Up" and "Spitting Venom" eventually grew on me. This album's problem is that it doesn't flow very well. That's probably because it's essentially about five or six incredible songs with some interesting filler. Not to say that Modest Mouse got lazy, there are just some experiments that didn't work out as well as I bet they thought they would. Oh, yeah, Johnny Marr played on it and James Mercer guested.. I guess everyone's gotta mention that in their review. Marr's influence is less subtle than I thought originally, and I think Brock can write a great tune without bringing in an idea-less guitarist that hasn't released a damn thing worth listening to since The Queen is Dead (*maybe* Strangeways if I'm in a good mood and feeling generous). James Mercer's smooth voice seems slightly out of place in these "rough sea shanties," but his parts are tasteful and the call-and-reponse vocals he bounces back and forth with Issaac are definitely catchy. Overall an interesting album that is missing something that I can't quite put my finger on. Either way, if you're a fan of quote-unquote indie rock, give it a listen, there are a couple really fantastic songs to be heard. Expand
  77. rustina
    Mar 24, 2007
    10
    I didn't like it right away. After 4 or 5 times listening to it, It really starts to flow, probably because you finally get used to the obnoxious yet brilliant vocals of the band. This is a classic!
  78. EvertonC
    Mar 25, 2007
    7
    ok, but sometimes it makes me tired!
  79. DanielV
    Mar 25, 2007
    9
    Their best record besides Moon and Antarctica. I feel this record is suceeding at what "Good News" tried to do. It's enjoyable from start to finish. Perhaps a track or two too long, but that's of no consequence. Sailing up as my candidate for record of the year.
  80. JosephA
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    Absolutely fantastic.
  81. MikeF
    Mar 29, 2007
    9
    As a mouse fan since the Ugly Casanova days,i gotta give this one a 9,surely a step up from "good news" not my fav album by far,but nor was "moon and antarctica"which most of you claimed as your fav,and that being said,i think you should go check out the older stuff,which "we were dead" has def taken a turn toward,and that makes me happy :-)
  82. BrettN
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    Great album. At first I was skeptical, but the more I listen to it, the more I like it.
  83. RyanO
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    I'd been waiting in unbearable anticipation for this album since they said they were going to release it last december. When they postponed it I almost cried. Now that I've finally heard it.. Wow. one or two tracks lack the modest mouse feel that i obsess over, but thats what happens when you add a guitarist from another already renowned band. the album is still ridiculously I'd been waiting in unbearable anticipation for this album since they said they were going to release it last december. When they postponed it I almost cried. Now that I've finally heard it.. Wow. one or two tracks lack the modest mouse feel that i obsess over, but thats what happens when you add a guitarist from another already renowned band. the album is still ridiculously awesome.Isaac Brock's distinguished lyrics and song writing are still there and in your face. Expand
  84. SamC
    Mar 9, 2007
    8
    so many great tracks. doesn't flow as well some of mm's previous work, but still great. fav tracks are march into the sea, spitting venom and missed the boat. parting of the sensory is great as well. if "we've got everything" and "fly trapped in a jar" did not exist, it would be 10/10.
  85. Stereoxide
    Apr 11, 2007
    9
    I dont know whats wrong with people but MM hasnt lost their touch. Yes theyre more hopeful now than their past albums but whats wrong with that? I think Brock is still as sharp as a knife and his lyrics are still as raw and powerful as the first time he started. The music has also progressed.
  86. johnw
    Apr 2, 2007
    8
    Great album!
  87. EdS
    Apr 22, 2007
    9
    This albumn is phenomenal. It is one of those gems that gets better with every listen. Some reviewers stating that it's a bit of a sellout, but I find all of the elements that make Modest Mouse who they are in this albumn - the exception is that it is much more palatable for the for the average fan.
  88. JohnR
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    man, modest mouse is awesome! Issac Brock just never seems to run out of ideas.
  89. JustinV
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    people are basing their opinions on past albums. Thats stupid. Every band evolves. You guys are just pissed that there will never be another moon and antarctica or lonesome crowded west. We were dead is one of their best. You try writing the lyrics that Isaac writes himself, but it to the music that they make themselves, and put a cd out and stay around for as long as they have. You people are basing their opinions on past albums. Thats stupid. Every band evolves. You guys are just pissed that there will never be another moon and antarctica or lonesome crowded west. We were dead is one of their best. You try writing the lyrics that Isaac writes himself, but it to the music that they make themselves, and put a cd out and stay around for as long as they have. You couldn't. So stop complaining it's a great album. Expand
  90. BenG
    Apr 3, 2007
    8
    Entertaining, eclectic enough to give a few extra listens, but I've begun to give up on the possibility of another 'Lonesome Crowded West'
  91. sammodest
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    takes a couple listen through, but once the songs start resinating in your brain IT'S WELL WORTH IT
  92. AlejandroE
    Apr 9, 2007
    8
    It's pretty great, but what i'm concerned about is that the sound gets a little like, the smiths
  93. AlexL
    May 10, 2007
    10
    Personally I love this album. I don't think people should forge opinions on what they expect to hear, rather on what they do actually hear. As far as selling out is concerned, I have to ask how you would define your argument. You can't be angry with musicians simply on the basis that they've become popular and made some money (it is slightly hypocritical considering that it Personally I love this album. I don't think people should forge opinions on what they expect to hear, rather on what they do actually hear. As far as selling out is concerned, I have to ask how you would define your argument. You can't be angry with musicians simply on the basis that they've become popular and made some money (it is slightly hypocritical considering that it was your fanship that made them so, with the exception of greenday, they are rubbish now). If anything you should be happy that this allows them to develop music with better equipment and produce essentially better music. The best tracks on this album (in my opinion) are Florida, Dashboard, Spitting Venom and We've got everything. Expand
  94. GregS
    May 7, 2007
    9
    I'm disgusted that Marr is referred to as a, "Hook specialist," by the Village voice. Rating this album 60 out of 100 clearly shows some hostility as the Village voice is normally unbiased. My hat goes off to Brock and Marr for putting this album together without expectation. They relied on their talent and intuited their fans would appreciate their music. I enjoy most songs to the I'm disgusted that Marr is referred to as a, "Hook specialist," by the Village voice. Rating this album 60 out of 100 clearly shows some hostility as the Village voice is normally unbiased. My hat goes off to Brock and Marr for putting this album together without expectation. They relied on their talent and intuited their fans would appreciate their music. I enjoy most songs to the point of feeling included on their journey of the human experience. Sometimes assault is the only way to get a point accross. Expand
  95. VidM
    Aug 13, 2007
    8
    Solid.
  96. VinceK
    Feb 26, 2008
    8
    Love the first 6 songs. Rest of the album is good too, but kinda blended together for me. My favorite by far is the last minute of Parting of the Sensory...fiddle-tastic!!!!!!!!
  97. G_do
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    I expected some more Johnny Marr signature in the guitar sound, but it's a great record. Everything sounds so fresh and lively. Not all songs are really great and I think it was even better when 2 or 3 tracks were not included , but the finest moments are simply damn brilliant.
  98. kendallj
    Feb 16, 2007
    9
    modest is pure bliss.
  99. JohnStamos
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    I love this album more than my mom
  100. tylerc
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    Good News was somewhat dissapointing to me but not bad. This album more than makes up for it.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Blender
    90
    Is there another "Float On"? It scarcely matters: 10 years into their career, Modest Mouse have stumbled into their best album yet. [Mar 2007, p.137]
  2. Under The Radar
    90
    Not just an album that revisits the dancey guitar-pop that made "Float On" an unlikely #1 hit, but sharpens and emboldens it for their most accessible album to date. [#16, p.93]
  3. Like everything the band has released since signing with Epic in the teeth of a millennial panic, it's louder and somewhat less twisty than the group's indie output.