• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Mar 20, 2007
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 249 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 249

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 23, 2017
    10
    It honestly is, to me, the perfect musical experience. It has a theme, it takes you on a grand adventure, it is musically astonishing by being both catchy and having depth, and it's just plain fun. There is no lack of Isaac Brock's style here; it is Modest Mouse through and through, and it doesn't get better than this.
  2. Sep 22, 2015
    7
    I love "The Lonesome Crowded West". "The Moon and Antarctica" is a great record. "Good News" is a close to the perfect indie rock record as you get. Unfortunately "We Were Dead..." doesn't entice me in the same way as those aforementioned records. Of course it Modest Mouse with the legendary Johnny Marr in tow so we were always going to have a good album but too often the songs (and theI love "The Lonesome Crowded West". "The Moon and Antarctica" is a great record. "Good News" is a close to the perfect indie rock record as you get. Unfortunately "We Were Dead..." doesn't entice me in the same way as those aforementioned records. Of course it Modest Mouse with the legendary Johnny Marr in tow so we were always going to have a good album but too often the songs (and the record) drags. Take "Fire It Up" for example - a great track but it just sounds repetitive after 3 minutes and we still get another 90 seconds of it. There are many other examples like this. It's when the band are sharp and snappy (take "Florida" for example) that they blow you away. It is a record that rewards repeated listens and is a worthwhile listen but primary issue is the fact that it clocks in at over an hour when for me it really only has the stamina and substance to be a 45 minute player. Expand
  3. Jul 7, 2013
    7
    Not as good as "Good News for People Who Love Bad News" or "The Moon & Antarctica", and definitely not as good as "The Lonesome Crowded West", but it's an ok album.
  4. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    This album contains, in its tracklist (14 songs), 4 of my favorite songs and a couple of more awesome songs that everybody should listen to.

    I highly recommend this for anyone who likes to mix songs with feelings.
  5. Jan 6, 2011
    7
    We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank has some really good tracks on it. Modest Mouse has made another solid album. The sound of it is a little different from their previous work "Good News For People Who Love Bad News". It sounds pretty good for the most part. My favorite song on the album is "Spitting Venom". Amazing song. And "Dashboard", "Little Motel", and "Fire It Up" are all greatWe Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank has some really good tracks on it. Modest Mouse has made another solid album. The sound of it is a little different from their previous work "Good News For People Who Love Bad News". It sounds pretty good for the most part. My favorite song on the album is "Spitting Venom". Amazing song. And "Dashboard", "Little Motel", and "Fire It Up" are all great tracks. All In All, a solid album with a handful of great tracks. B Collapse
  6. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    Very good album but to me Good News for People Who Love Bad News was better, although Little motel is one of their best songs IMO. I wish Autumn beds was released in this album.
  7. VinceK
    Feb 26, 2008
    8
    Love the first 6 songs. Rest of the album is good too, but kinda blended together for me. My favorite by far is the last minute of Parting of the Sensory...fiddle-tastic!!!!!!!!
  8. RossP.
    Jan 14, 2008
    9
    well gee, an album that is too long? omg, thats the worst complaint about an album i could ever conceive! those people must be sacked. ok i have to say this isn't an album of epic tracks, it is an epic album, the title completely suits the lyrical context. I have never chose to listen to one song of this album by itself, always the album as a whole and thats where my joy lies. The well gee, an album that is too long? omg, thats the worst complaint about an album i could ever conceive! those people must be sacked. ok i have to say this isn't an album of epic tracks, it is an epic album, the title completely suits the lyrical context. I have never chose to listen to one song of this album by itself, always the album as a whole and thats where my joy lies. The emotion swells, alas depressing sentimental misgivings is not something i ever dwell on, but in such a poetic delivery, with so much heart, deserves a nod of respect. Something that deserves at least 3 listens thru, and from there you will want to listen again and again. Expand
  9. JCF.
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    This album is perfect, so many shades ... I like it a lot
  10. G_do
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    I expected some more Johnny Marr signature in the guitar sound, but it's a great record. Everything sounds so fresh and lively. Not all songs are really great and I think it was even better when 2 or 3 tracks were not included , but the finest moments are simply damn brilliant.
  11. VidM
    Aug 13, 2007
    8
    Solid.
  12. JohnG
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    its great when all of your friends argue over what the best song is.
  13. AlexP.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Amazing. It's almost as good as anything they've done. Brock is an irreverent screaming genius. He's never boring and never pretentious. This album is excellent all the way through. My special faves are March into the Sea, Florida, Parting of the Sensory, Fly Trapped in a Jar and Spitting Venom. Marr is a nice addition. He and Brock obviously hit it off well musically. I Amazing. It's almost as good as anything they've done. Brock is an irreverent screaming genius. He's never boring and never pretentious. This album is excellent all the way through. My special faves are March into the Sea, Florida, Parting of the Sensory, Fly Trapped in a Jar and Spitting Venom. Marr is a nice addition. He and Brock obviously hit it off well musically. I saw them live on May 6th and was absolutely blown away. Expand
  14. JamesboF.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    This album is so damn catchy. It reminds me of 80s new wave-it has that vibe-and almost every song is great. It's just so catchy and perfectly set up. I love this album!
  15. gokhank.
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    exclusive
  16. SeanC
    Jun 20, 2007
    9
    I loved it. At first I felt it was a little..... easier than the other albums Mouse has done, as Good News for People Who Love Bad News was. After giving it a week or two it found it's way back on my playlist, again, just like Good News.
  17. DanL
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    Another truly great album from a very talented band. Nothing reaches the mainstream appeal of "Float On" from Good News, but that's not a bad thing. Modest Mouse seem to be revisiting their roots with this album, which is nearly as accomplished as their best album (in my opinion), 2000's The Moon & Antarctica. Brock's songwriting is at its best on "Dashboard," "Parting of Another truly great album from a very talented band. Nothing reaches the mainstream appeal of "Float On" from Good News, but that's not a bad thing. Modest Mouse seem to be revisiting their roots with this album, which is nearly as accomplished as their best album (in my opinion), 2000's The Moon & Antarctica. Brock's songwriting is at its best on "Dashboard," "Parting of the Sensory" and "Missed the Boat." We Were Dead... is at times carefree, and emotionally charged at others. It's right up there with the best Indie records of recent years. Expand
  18. Matthew
    Jun 18, 2007
    7
    It loses a bit after repeated listens, but it delivers several great tracks that almost have a "Lonesome Crowded West" era feel to them. We Were Dead mixes accessability with typical Modest Mouse idiosyncracies to create what is perhaps their most listenable album yet.
  19. Djimi
    Jun 14, 2007
    10
    More pure quality from Modest Mouse. I think some critics are just being pathetic and trying to go against the grain by giving it mediocre reviews just because they've become popular and had good sales, 'cos it really is a great band on top form.
  20. CraigO
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    This band is now my guilty pleasure. It's catchy music that's more or less just meant to be catchy. It's all I expect, it's what I get, so I love it.
  21. DylanS
    May 30, 2007
    9
    Another quality release from Modest Mouse. A nice mix of the Good News and Moon and Antartica sound to create the second best release of their career and one of this years best. Don't be afraid of the accesibility of their sound, it's still Modest Mouse, just with exceptional song structure + Johnny Marr was a great addition.
  22. AlexL
    May 10, 2007
    10
    Personally I love this album. I don't think people should forge opinions on what they expect to hear, rather on what they do actually hear. As far as selling out is concerned, I have to ask how you would define your argument. You can't be angry with musicians simply on the basis that they've become popular and made some money (it is slightly hypocritical considering that it Personally I love this album. I don't think people should forge opinions on what they expect to hear, rather on what they do actually hear. As far as selling out is concerned, I have to ask how you would define your argument. You can't be angry with musicians simply on the basis that they've become popular and made some money (it is slightly hypocritical considering that it was your fanship that made them so, with the exception of greenday, they are rubbish now). If anything you should be happy that this allows them to develop music with better equipment and produce essentially better music. The best tracks on this album (in my opinion) are Florida, Dashboard, Spitting Venom and We've got everything. Expand
  23. GregS
    May 7, 2007
    9
    I'm disgusted that Marr is referred to as a, "Hook specialist," by the Village voice. Rating this album 60 out of 100 clearly shows some hostility as the Village voice is normally unbiased. My hat goes off to Brock and Marr for putting this album together without expectation. They relied on their talent and intuited their fans would appreciate their music. I enjoy most songs to the I'm disgusted that Marr is referred to as a, "Hook specialist," by the Village voice. Rating this album 60 out of 100 clearly shows some hostility as the Village voice is normally unbiased. My hat goes off to Brock and Marr for putting this album together without expectation. They relied on their talent and intuited their fans would appreciate their music. I enjoy most songs to the point of feeling included on their journey of the human experience. Sometimes assault is the only way to get a point accross. Expand
  24. JohnnyD
    Apr 26, 2007
    10
    Great record. There's so many hooks on this album, every track sounds like it could be a single.
  25. JustinV
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    people are basing their opinions on past albums. Thats stupid. Every band evolves. You guys are just pissed that there will never be another moon and antarctica or lonesome crowded west. We were dead is one of their best. You try writing the lyrics that Isaac writes himself, but it to the music that they make themselves, and put a cd out and stay around for as long as they have. You people are basing their opinions on past albums. Thats stupid. Every band evolves. You guys are just pissed that there will never be another moon and antarctica or lonesome crowded west. We were dead is one of their best. You try writing the lyrics that Isaac writes himself, but it to the music that they make themselves, and put a cd out and stay around for as long as they have. You couldn't. So stop complaining it's a great album. Expand
  26. JohnR
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    man, modest mouse is awesome! Issac Brock just never seems to run out of ideas.
  27. JaycobT
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    Listened to the whole thing through about three times now and I'm floored. Not really a low point on the album, every song has its appeal. The strongest songs, in my opinion, were Dashboard, Motel and Spitting Venom. Regardless, they were all amazing :)
  28. EdS
    Apr 22, 2007
    9
    This albumn is phenomenal. It is one of those gems that gets better with every listen. Some reviewers stating that it's a bit of a sellout, but I find all of the elements that make Modest Mouse who they are in this albumn - the exception is that it is much more palatable for the for the average fan.
  29. KevinD
    Apr 18, 2007
    9
    Too many people today say that Modest Mouse has changed for the worse. This is of course not true. They have been inconsistant with the way the sound from the start. Play "The Moon and Antarctica" and then "The Lonesome Crowded West" and you'll notice big differences. Hell the only two things they have been consistant at are; being inconsistant and and quality. Each of their albums Too many people today say that Modest Mouse has changed for the worse. This is of course not true. They have been inconsistant with the way the sound from the start. Play "The Moon and Antarctica" and then "The Lonesome Crowded West" and you'll notice big differences. Hell the only two things they have been consistant at are; being inconsistant and and quality. Each of their albums have ranged from good to great, this album is of no exception. While it has some flaws and probably doesn't deserve the "9" I gave it, plenty of the songs such as, "Missed the Boat", "Spitting Venom", "Florida", and "March into the Sea" are amaing. Pick this up if you are a fan of Alternative Rock. Expand
  30. MichaelC
    Apr 17, 2007
    6
    Not as good as I first though. Dashboard was pretty darn catchy (and how about that music video?) and Florida is one of their best. But the rest of the cd? Too forgettable. They lack the style they had years ago. It's too bad. Modest Mouse is one of my favorites. And by the way TBone (hopefully your parents didn't actually name you that) don't you dare talk trash about Tv Not as good as I first though. Dashboard was pretty darn catchy (and how about that music video?) and Florida is one of their best. But the rest of the cd? Too forgettable. They lack the style they had years ago. It's too bad. Modest Mouse is one of my favorites. And by the way TBone (hopefully your parents didn't actually name you that) don't you dare talk trash about Tv on the Radio. There's a band that actually still rocks. Expand
  31. maryv
    Apr 16, 2007
    9
    though this album comes off as all too packed at first, it pulls you in the next day and then never lets go. something that helped my listening was reading over the lyrics while the cd player was jamming...the lyrics are gorgeous, interesting but never shouting. i haven't stopped it in 4 days. (unussual for me)
  32. KennyM
    Apr 13, 2007
    5
    modest mouse, who used to be pure magic, have now become what we all feared -- consistently okay.
  33. Stereoxide
    Apr 11, 2007
    9
    I dont know whats wrong with people but MM hasnt lost their touch. Yes theyre more hopeful now than their past albums but whats wrong with that? I think Brock is still as sharp as a knife and his lyrics are still as raw and powerful as the first time he started. The music has also progressed.
  34. TBone
    Apr 9, 2007
    9
    This site baffles me. What do Yoko Ono and Modest Mouse have in common? They both scored 76 from the critics. Ok the metascore is retarded. If MM gets a 76, then Yoko gets a 3, and yes I listened to it. Then you look at last year's top 30. this album is better than Bob Dylan, Tv On the Radio, Tom waits and the Ali Farka Toure. That's not even questionable. Listen to Dashboard or This site baffles me. What do Yoko Ono and Modest Mouse have in common? They both scored 76 from the critics. Ok the metascore is retarded. If MM gets a 76, then Yoko gets a 3, and yes I listened to it. Then you look at last year's top 30. this album is better than Bob Dylan, Tv On the Radio, Tom waits and the Ali Farka Toure. That's not even questionable. Listen to Dashboard or Fly Trapped and you decide. FYI to find good music on this site, look for stuff in the 70's, maybe low 80's or high 60's. Expand
  35. AlejandroE
    Apr 9, 2007
    8
    It's pretty great, but what i'm concerned about is that the sound gets a little like, the smiths
  36. MatthewB
    Apr 5, 2007
    9
    A great addition to the MM discography. It's not as drawn out and soloish as other earlier records were, which I felt they were trying to do. The songs such as "Florida," "Dashboard," and "We've Got Everything" have great crossover appeal and are very enjoyable. It's not a "Lonesome Crowded West" but it's definitely an improvement over "Good News," just not as introverted.
  37. sammodest
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    takes a couple listen through, but once the songs start resinating in your brain IT'S WELL WORTH IT
  38. johns
    Apr 4, 2007
    7
    Some say that good news was modest mouses first step towards irrelevancy. It was not. This however is a truly incredible bands first mediocre record. March into the sea as well as spitting venom are modest mouse at their finest however the rest of the album finds lyrical genius issac brock writing the most embarssing lyrics of his carreer.maybe hes lost it.
  39. BenG
    Apr 3, 2007
    8
    Entertaining, eclectic enough to give a few extra listens, but I've begun to give up on the possibility of another 'Lonesome Crowded West'
  40. johnw
    Apr 2, 2007
    8
    Great album!
  41. GuyH
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    Fantastic album. I really didn't get on with Good News but this is like a perfectly refined version of what they were attempting with that album. It flows, it has at least 12 great songs - come on chaps, why the middling reviews? This is stunning stuff.
  42. ClaytonS
    Mar 30, 2007
    9
    Another great Modest Mouse album!
  43. [Anonymous]
    Mar 30, 2007
    6
    A good album, but a predictable step for Modest Mouse, it's structure and style is very similar to Good News. There are a couple of tracks, with the help of Mercer and Marr, that seem to tread new ground; some of the best songs they've written since The Moon and Antarctica are present here -- Florida is a brilliant song. Too bad Dashboard is Float On v2.
  44. MikeF
    Mar 29, 2007
    9
    As a mouse fan since the Ugly Casanova days,i gotta give this one a 9,surely a step up from "good news" not my fav album by far,but nor was "moon and antarctica"which most of you claimed as your fav,and that being said,i think you should go check out the older stuff,which "we were dead" has def taken a turn toward,and that makes me happy :-)
  45. SteveE
    Mar 27, 2007
    6
    I think it's OK. It seems kind of formulaic to me. I've listened to it 3-4 times now and while it does seem to be growing on me I'm still pretty disappointed.
  46. JosephA
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    Absolutely fantastic.
  47. JohnDoe
    Mar 26, 2007
    9
    Excellent. Really good, especially the tracks where James Mercer collaborates. Catchy, and more main stream than previous albums but still has the Modest Mouse edge. Not my favorite album from them (The Moon and Antarctica) but certainly a step in the right direction from Good News.
  48. EvertonC
    Mar 25, 2007
    7
    ok, but sometimes it makes me tired!
  49. DanielV
    Mar 25, 2007
    9
    Their best record besides Moon and Antarctica. I feel this record is suceeding at what "Good News" tried to do. It's enjoyable from start to finish. Perhaps a track or two too long, but that's of no consequence. Sailing up as my candidate for record of the year.
  50. rustina
    Mar 24, 2007
    10
    I didn't like it right away. After 4 or 5 times listening to it, It really starts to flow, probably because you finally get used to the obnoxious yet brilliant vocals of the band. This is a classic!
  51. LukeH
    Mar 24, 2007
    10
    How many other bands have been around for over a decade and have never released a bad album? Fucking Great.
  52. jm
    Mar 24, 2007
    8
    I didn't expect to like this album as much as I do. it has the mainstream qualities of good news but the sound is much more reminiscent of their older work, of which I have been a long-time fan. if there is anything wrong with the album, is that modest mouse stays in their comfort zone, instead of trying to be a little out-there, which means there aren't really any awful tracks, I didn't expect to like this album as much as I do. it has the mainstream qualities of good news but the sound is much more reminiscent of their older work, of which I have been a long-time fan. if there is anything wrong with the album, is that modest mouse stays in their comfort zone, instead of trying to be a little out-there, which means there aren't really any awful tracks, but nothing incredible either. also I don't really like the affectation isaac brok's voice picked up on good news, but that comes and goes on the disc. overall a suprise album for a long-time fan. Expand
  53. simonl
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    It feels like Pavement and Nick Cave with some 80's pop. I love Parting of the Sensory, if you like that too check for Pig Lib.
  54. Brendan
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    On the first listen, it's great. On the second listen, it's absolutely amazing. By the third listen, it's one of my favorite albums.
  55. EricC
    Mar 23, 2007
    7
    Here's the problem Modest Mouse has created for themselves. They were once an amzing band. People who have been following them since they released The Lonely Crowded West know this. But they remained pretty much under the radar, until they created that one song, Float On. Then they obviously realized that this mainstreem sound sells better than their indy sound, though their previous Here's the problem Modest Mouse has created for themselves. They were once an amzing band. People who have been following them since they released The Lonely Crowded West know this. But they remained pretty much under the radar, until they created that one song, Float On. Then they obviously realized that this mainstreem sound sells better than their indy sound, though their previous stuff had been better. So now this is Modest Mouse, trying to appeal to the same people who listen to The Shins and The Arcade Fire, huge comercial successes. This isn't a bad cd, though. It's just no where near as good as Crowded West or The Moon in Antartica. If you got in to them with Good News for People Who Love Bad News, than you should be ecstatic to know that there's more of the same. But if you're like me and got in to them when they had their own amazing sound, than you can't help but be disapointed. Not bad, but hopefully we'll see a relapse in their style. No song on here comes close to older songs like Teeth Like God's Shoeshine or 3rd Planet. Expand
  56. DiabloP
    Mar 23, 2007
    8
    Why do people complain when bands change or don't stay the way that they were when they were young and hungry? Modest Mouse fans seemed to be of two mind thoughts.......blah blah blah blah blah blah. I digress ...good album ...good band...maybe not as "modest", but more than prepared to make you want more.
  57. MelvinT
    Mar 23, 2007
    6
    The worst of Modest Mouse is still much better than most bands are capable of, but I gotta say I'm disappointed with this album. Anyone who's ever listened to Moon & Antarctica, Lonesome Crowded West, Building Nothing Out of Something, or This is a Long Drive...know that one of the key elements that made Modest Mouse a great band was Isaac Brocks way with words. There are so The worst of Modest Mouse is still much better than most bands are capable of, but I gotta say I'm disappointed with this album. Anyone who's ever listened to Moon & Antarctica, Lonesome Crowded West, Building Nothing Out of Something, or This is a Long Drive...know that one of the key elements that made Modest Mouse a great band was Isaac Brocks way with words. There are so many memorable lines from those albums that it would be impossible to list them here, but they're few and far between on We Were Dead. Hell, half the time you can't even understand what he's trying to say. Expand
  58. ObsceneMinstrel
    Mar 23, 2007
    7
    At first I was completely put off by this album, but even though I was telling myself I hated it I felt compelled to listen to it over and over again. Even the songs I thought were totally silly like "Fire It Up" and "Spitting Venom" eventually grew on me. This album's problem is that it doesn't flow very well. That's probably because it's essentially about five or six At first I was completely put off by this album, but even though I was telling myself I hated it I felt compelled to listen to it over and over again. Even the songs I thought were totally silly like "Fire It Up" and "Spitting Venom" eventually grew on me. This album's problem is that it doesn't flow very well. That's probably because it's essentially about five or six incredible songs with some interesting filler. Not to say that Modest Mouse got lazy, there are just some experiments that didn't work out as well as I bet they thought they would. Oh, yeah, Johnny Marr played on it and James Mercer guested.. I guess everyone's gotta mention that in their review. Marr's influence is less subtle than I thought originally, and I think Brock can write a great tune without bringing in an idea-less guitarist that hasn't released a damn thing worth listening to since The Queen is Dead (*maybe* Strangeways if I'm in a good mood and feeling generous). James Mercer's smooth voice seems slightly out of place in these "rough sea shanties," but his parts are tasteful and the call-and-reponse vocals he bounces back and forth with Issaac are definitely catchy. Overall an interesting album that is missing something that I can't quite put my finger on. Either way, if you're a fan of quote-unquote indie rock, give it a listen, there are a couple really fantastic songs to be heard. Expand
  59. DrewP
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    Comparisons to their other material are inevitable, but not necessary. This is a great album--I guarantee that 10 years from now, this album will still be cool. Parting of the Sensory alone makes me feel good about the state of music.
  60. AdamB
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    Ranks #1 or #2 on my Modest Mouse list.
  61. brookec
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    I can't even begin to express the delight I have for this fifth album. It is varied, dark and light. They can do no wrong in my book. Issac Brock is a brilliant lyricist and no-rules singer.
  62. pulpiepulpmaster
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    I think this album's awsome. Even though I kinda miss their slower songs like The Good Times and most of the songs on The Moon & Antarctica, It's still a good album. People are sayin that It's poppier, but what about Float On and The View? And they're sayin that it's rushed, but what about the fact that it's been 3 years since Good News and between 2000 and I think this album's awsome. Even though I kinda miss their slower songs like The Good Times and most of the songs on The Moon & Antarctica, It's still a good album. People are sayin that It's poppier, but what about Float On and The View? And they're sayin that it's rushed, but what about the fact that it's been 3 years since Good News and between 2000 and 2001, they came out with 3 cds?(The Moon & Antarctica, Everywhere And His Nasty Parlour Tricks, Sad Sappy Sucker) All in all, great album. Expand
  63. SmoereB
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    Oh, my golly, this is an amazing record.
  64. samh
    Mar 22, 2007
    3
    another uninspiring album from these guys. loved everything they did up to and including moon and antarctica.
  65. james
    Mar 22, 2007
    3
    just listen to the moon and antartica.
  66. timm
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    First off, i'm a hardcore modest mouse fan. That being said, this album has reinvigorated within me my almost drowned love for them. This cd is by far their best ever, mixing in the raw, bone-crushing soul from their earlier work with elevated structures and more elaborate instrumentation. You will not be able to phathom the power of this cd til you hear it 3 or 10 times. This does First off, i'm a hardcore modest mouse fan. That being said, this album has reinvigorated within me my almost drowned love for them. This cd is by far their best ever, mixing in the raw, bone-crushing soul from their earlier work with elevated structures and more elaborate instrumentation. You will not be able to phathom the power of this cd til you hear it 3 or 10 times. This does not get old for me, and every time i hear it i like it more... which cements Isaac's status as a true contemporary American musical genius, at least in my eyes. Good News was like a venture into different sounds, while this cd brings it all together in freakin awesomeness. There are 1 or 2 tracks i could do without, (tracks 4 and 7 don't catch me til the breakdowns), but overall this is a work of art. Couldn't have hoped for better. Can't wait to see where they tread next. Expand
  67. StephanieA
    Mar 21, 2007
    2
    what is isaac brock complaining about? the lyrics are terrible. theyve completely sold out.
  68. MichaelK
    Mar 21, 2007
    8
    For all the die-hard Modest Mouse fans who cringed at the success of "Float On," do yourself a favor and please don't just write this album off. All the elements are here that make Modest Mouse what they are- Brock's charismatic growl, clever wordplay and lyrics, the obtuse and the catchy always warring with each other, and even a hint of "Moon and Antarctica" style darkness. For all the die-hard Modest Mouse fans who cringed at the success of "Float On," do yourself a favor and please don't just write this album off. All the elements are here that make Modest Mouse what they are- Brock's charismatic growl, clever wordplay and lyrics, the obtuse and the catchy always warring with each other, and even a hint of "Moon and Antarctica" style darkness. Sure, it may be hummable enough to drive away the elitists, and off-kilter enough to alienate some casual listeners, yet that was what Modest Mouse have always been- they never sit easy, and it's this that makes them unique. Sure to be one of the best indie-rock releases of this year. So you know, however, this comes from a MM fan who considers "Good News" to be their best album ;) ... Expand
  69. BrianF
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    Great album. No tracks to skip on this one. Pick it up.
  70. DanM
    Mar 21, 2007
    7
    I've been nervous about this album for months. I'm one of the few long time fans who actually enjoyed "Good News...", specifically "Ocean Breathes Salty." Still, I felt it to be the weakest of their albums mainly do to less interesting and challenging lyrics, which were always the highlight of the band to me. Ironically, the poppier songs had better lyrics than most of the I've been nervous about this album for months. I'm one of the few long time fans who actually enjoyed "Good News...", specifically "Ocean Breathes Salty." Still, I felt it to be the weakest of their albums mainly do to less interesting and challenging lyrics, which were always the highlight of the band to me. Ironically, the poppier songs had better lyrics than most of the more "traditional" Modest Mouse songs. Strangely, that holds on this album as well. The music is far more accessible than ever before... meaning that it isn't as experimental and inspiring as say "Lonesome Crowded West" and "Antarctica and the Moon." Still, Brock writes some amazing songs on this album that are honest, poignant, intelligent, and intoxicating enjoyable that nearly top that of their penultimate "Antarctica and the Moon." I feel if this album had the brilliant music work of "Lonesome Crowded West" instead of what ended up here, it would probably be by far their best album. Sadly, that is an impossibility. The music itself isn't bad per sé, but it just seems to lack the true essence of Modest Mouse. They don't seem to be even trying anymore in that area anymore outside of "Invisible", "Steam Ingenius," and "Spitting Venom." Still, Isaac Brock proves once again that he can arrange words to form one amazing song... lyrically at least. Expand
  71. JeffS
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    don't cry over the new sound, celebrate its awesomeness.
  72. BenA
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    Actually, this one is much more like "lonesome crowded west" than anything else they have done. The return of their original drummer I think helped them get back to their daring and explorational roots. Spitting Venom is pure old-school modest mouse. All these morons crying about how modest mouse sold out need to shut up. This album is not any more accessible than their early work. Modest Actually, this one is much more like "lonesome crowded west" than anything else they have done. The return of their original drummer I think helped them get back to their daring and explorational roots. Spitting Venom is pure old-school modest mouse. All these morons crying about how modest mouse sold out need to shut up. This album is not any more accessible than their early work. Modest Mouse always wrote catchy songs. What about "Heart Cooks Brain"? That one's insanely catchy, and then they masterfully put together "dashboard" which is denser and more detailed, but get shot at for getting too mainstream?? please. Modest Mouse are following their own artistic curve, experimenting with new instrumentation and production techniques, but all you naysayers forget that modest mouse always wrote a mean catch pop tune, and thats why we all liked them in the first place. This is yet another great album from a great band. A+ Expand
  73. MattA
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    Listened to it on my way home from work... and loved it on my first listen. ...its not too often i like a whole CD on its first run through. haha... and it struck even more of a chord knowing Johnny Marr, and James Mercer helped make this possible. Kudos.
  74. JennM
    Mar 20, 2007
    4
    I feel like crying for the Modest Mouse we once knew.
  75. PhillipV
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    I can finally say that Modest Mouse has come back with a song as good as "float on". Dashboard is excellent and so is the rest of the CD. Good job guys!
  76. Mick
    Mar 20, 2007
    7
    Good album, not as good as their last though
  77. NigelB
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    Fantastic, Modest Mouse delivered everything I had been anticipating for and possibly more. Enough new twists to keep me interested, but not too many to distance me from their sound.
  78. MattD.
    Mar 20, 2007
    2
    Bad album. The jams sound really silly, and his strained vocals make them worse. It's like they just decided to throw this together and hope for the best.
  79. matto
    Mar 20, 2007
    8
    Great record all around. Sure, some of the songs try a little to hard to be the next FLOAT ON, but others are very true to their roots. Best effort they have made in a while.
  80. BillyG
    Mar 19, 2007
    4
    While there is some quality content on this album, most of the songs are disconnected and non-continuous. The goodwill that Modest Mouse had coming into this album (especially with Johnny Marr) is squandered by several blatant attempts at creating another "Float On". Unlike "Moon And Antarctica", the songs come off as watered-down, over-produced and non-genuine. I'm not making any While there is some quality content on this album, most of the songs are disconnected and non-continuous. The goodwill that Modest Mouse had coming into this album (especially with Johnny Marr) is squandered by several blatant attempts at creating another "Float On". Unlike "Moon And Antarctica", the songs come off as watered-down, over-produced and non-genuine. I'm not making any kind of claim that the band has "sold out" in any way, but it is clear that the anticipation of this album ultimately lowered the quality of the work. The band needs to go back to what they were best at, a non-compromising song writing attitude and the energetic presentation to legitimize it. Expand
  81. ChrisC
    Mar 19, 2007
    8
    WWDBTSES is Modest Mouse's most dense and clamorous album yet, for sure... it pulls you in and then moves forward with power, all push and shove. The only thing this album lacks is some of the quiet thoughtfulness found on Good News and even more prominent on The Moon and Antarctica. Towards the end of the album, I find myself craving the beauty and humility of songs like "Gravity WWDBTSES is Modest Mouse's most dense and clamorous album yet, for sure... it pulls you in and then moves forward with power, all push and shove. The only thing this album lacks is some of the quiet thoughtfulness found on Good News and even more prominent on The Moon and Antarctica. Towards the end of the album, I find myself craving the beauty and humility of songs like "Gravity Rides Everything", "Lives", or "Blame It On The Tetons", and this desire is never quite met. Expand
  82. MM
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    Zach S just kill youeself this album is great. 100/10 if I could.
  83. EddM
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    Modest Mouseisthe best band ever. I give everyone of there songs, albums, or videos a 10!
  84. JtothaAA
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    A fantastically guitar driven album, that sums up their entire career. Supurbly catchy and complicated at the same time. A must own for all rock fans.
  85. fwa
    Mar 19, 2007
    4
    this album is painfully mediocre. Worst mm album yet.
  86. MattM.
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    Simply awesome. Isaac's vocals are weirder than ever, and the songs are damn catchy. Favorites: "March Into the Sea", "Florida", "Fly Trapped In A Jar". Least Favorites: "Fire it Up", "Little Motel".
  87. DK
    Mar 19, 2007
    5
    So disappointing. I didn't think Modest Mouse was capable of making a boring record. March Into the Sea is a great tune and there are a few others that are decent to good, but there are about 5 songs that sound nearly exactly alike (Education, Fly in a Jar, Steam Engenius, etc) that drag the album to a halt in the second half. Spitting Venom is a good tune but I only make it that far So disappointing. I didn't think Modest Mouse was capable of making a boring record. March Into the Sea is a great tune and there are a few others that are decent to good, but there are about 5 songs that sound nearly exactly alike (Education, Fly in a Jar, Steam Engenius, etc) that drag the album to a halt in the second half. Spitting Venom is a good tune but I only make it that far through the album on about 10% of the spins. Missed the Boat is embarrassing and I can't believe Brock would ever make such a ridiculous tune. It sounds like a Matchbox 20 tune and would fit well during a "sentimental" moment in some vapid teen flick like American Pie 5. I had the same horrible feeling of embarassment the first time I heard "Love Boat Captain" by Pearl Jam. That moment when you know that one of your favorite bands has officially jumped the shark. I love all of Modest Mouse's earlier albums and have appreciated their progression through Good News. But this is a misstep. I hope Brock is able to regain his mojo for the next album. Expand
  88. EronL
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    Modest Mouse doesn't sell out or change it's sound significantly for the mainstream. Johnny Marr's influence is evident throughout, but Isaac Brock is still Isaac Brock. He sings, yelps, growls, and talks his way through a very enjoyable album. It isn't The Moon and Antartica (which if you don't own, you should have rushed out to the store to buy 5 minutes ago), Modest Mouse doesn't sell out or change it's sound significantly for the mainstream. Johnny Marr's influence is evident throughout, but Isaac Brock is still Isaac Brock. He sings, yelps, growls, and talks his way through a very enjoyable album. It isn't The Moon and Antartica (which if you don't own, you should have rushed out to the store to buy 5 minutes ago), but it is a better overall album then Good News. Expand
  89. Myles
    Mar 19, 2007
    7
    It is put together quite well, but it's not the same Mouse I've come to know. This is over the hill Modest Mouse. I understand how they all need to pay their electric bills and I do think it sounds great, but it lacks intensity and those amazing lyrics that make you wonder and you have to think long and hard about what he's saying, instead of repeating the same chorus about It is put together quite well, but it's not the same Mouse I've come to know. This is over the hill Modest Mouse. I understand how they all need to pay their electric bills and I do think it sounds great, but it lacks intensity and those amazing lyrics that make you wonder and you have to think long and hard about what he's saying, instead of repeating the same chorus about 4 times. Expand
  90. JeffV
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    Yeah, it doesn't sound like Lonesome Crowded West, but that came out ten years ago. I've listened to WWDBTSES a lot in the past month. It seems to be a mix or GNFPWLBN and tM&A. There are a couple really catchy songs that you'll probably be hearing a lot on your college radio station, just like the last two albums. There are few of the bipolar songs that sound more like a Yeah, it doesn't sound like Lonesome Crowded West, but that came out ten years ago. I've listened to WWDBTSES a lot in the past month. It seems to be a mix or GNFPWLBN and tM&A. There are a couple really catchy songs that you'll probably be hearing a lot on your college radio station, just like the last two albums. There are few of the bipolar songs that sound more like a medly of two songs than one unified track, but they are also some of the best tracks on the album. The presence of Marr is felt, but doesn't distract. I was kinda disappointed by their last album, so I was skeptical. I'm glad I was proven wrong. This is right up there with LCW and tM&A. It will be on lots of top ten lists in December. Expand
  91. Seeds13
    Mar 18, 2007
    3
    This album frankly sounds awful and very unsatisfying compared to Modest Mouse's prior work. However, I can see this one having a great benefit if you are looking for a headache. For some reason, Modest Mouse continues to crank up the bass and stray away from creativity and the poignancy that made them great in the first place. The shock upon first hearing this album can be compared This album frankly sounds awful and very unsatisfying compared to Modest Mouse's prior work. However, I can see this one having a great benefit if you are looking for a headache. For some reason, Modest Mouse continues to crank up the bass and stray away from creativity and the poignancy that made them great in the first place. The shock upon first hearing this album can be compared to that of first hearing the Dave Matthews Band tribute to selling out several years back. But M.M. did come away with a couple of decent songs in Fire It Up and Fly Trapped In A Jar. These two don't feel entirely soulless and perhaps are the only ones with directions from the band's past. I will say that Modest Mouse is looking ahead, but in a way that is not befitting. Why have they now taken a dark path away from the things that made them so pure and original. It's of course the path of the industry and the money. I think I am going to go scalp my ticket of interest for the neo-Modest Mouse. Expand
  92. PhilipM
    Mar 18, 2007
    9
    I'd give it a ten but it's not 1996 anymore. These guys rock but don't knock me on my ass, which isn't a bad thing. I have to believe that now that they're getting rich that this might be their apex, hopefully not, They're great chill music especially with your sister. YOUR sister not mine.
  93. BrianS
    Mar 18, 2007
    2
    This is not a Modest Mouse album. This band is dead to me.
  94. DavidW
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    this cd is surprisingly wonderful. i guess not really surprising, but after good news, i didn't think this would so splendid. but i just love it so much.
  95. OliverC
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    This album is outstanding. A great follow up to good news. I would say a good deal better than arcade fire's neon bible (if for some reason you want to compare the two.)
  96. JoeH
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    This album was surprisingly stellar upon firs listen. I am drunk, and it's St. patty's day, so I'll be brief. The album is fantastic, a little bit more conceptually coherent than Good News, yet there's a lot more of an overall identity between the songs. Standouts are 'We've Got Everything' (NEEDS TO BE A SINGLE), Steam Engenius, Missed the Boat, Parting This album was surprisingly stellar upon firs listen. I am drunk, and it's St. patty's day, so I'll be brief. The album is fantastic, a little bit more conceptually coherent than Good News, yet there's a lot more of an overall identity between the songs. Standouts are 'We've Got Everything' (NEEDS TO BE A SINGLE), Steam Engenius, Missed the Boat, Parting of the Sensory, and Dashboard. Ps. Music fans of all ages will be in a total state of listening bliss for atleast the first 13 seconds of People as Places as People. That song is a masterpiece. Expand
  97. theboneykingofnowhere
    Mar 17, 2007
    7
    Blender: Is there another "Float On"? It scarcely matters: 10 years into their career, Modest Mouse have stumbled into their best album yet. Ok their seminal work is the Moon and Antarctica, hands down. This cd is ok but that's it, ok. I do think they have improved upon the sound that they developed for Good News however, I remember a time when Modest Mouse didn't need guest Blender: Is there another "Float On"? It scarcely matters: 10 years into their career, Modest Mouse have stumbled into their best album yet. Ok their seminal work is the Moon and Antarctica, hands down. This cd is ok but that's it, ok. I do think they have improved upon the sound that they developed for Good News however, I remember a time when Modest Mouse didn't need guest spots from James Mercer or that dude from the Flaming Lips on the last album to make an incredible album. Also, Isaac, what the hell happened to the whammy bar dude? Expand
  98. MalcolmP
    Mar 17, 2007
    9
    Sublime - what a year for indie!
  99. ZayneF
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    This album is flawless. It revisits almost all of the periods theyve gone through, and adds more texture to the sound. Each song has its purpose, and each song serves that purpose.
  100. RicardoO
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    The Best Indie Rock Album for this century...maybe not, but for sure is the best Indie Rock Band
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Blender
    90
    Is there another "Float On"? It scarcely matters: 10 years into their career, Modest Mouse have stumbled into their best album yet. [Mar 2007, p.137]
  2. Under The Radar
    90
    Not just an album that revisits the dancey guitar-pop that made "Float On" an unlikely #1 hit, but sharpens and emboldens it for their most accessible album to date. [#16, p.93]
  3. Like everything the band has released since signing with Epic in the teeth of a millennial panic, it's louder and somewhat less twisty than the group's indie output.