Weapons Of Mass Destruction Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The "Pimp My Ride" host returns to rapping after a two-year layoff, but without long-time producer Dr. Dre.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. The only thing really dissapointing about "Weapons of Mass Destruction" is that Xzibit seems to have once again forsaken his Alkaholiks homies.
  2. 80
    Brimming with energy and depth. [Nov 2004, p.160]
  3. 70
    Xzibit reinvents himself as a rapper invigorated by current events. [Nov 2004, p.146]
  4. Dragged down by too much unremarkably brawny fare. [27 Jan 2005, p.60]
  5. Ethical incontinence notwithstanding, Xzibit is an undeniably charismatic vocalist, with a gift for pure, jolting, testosterone-packed aggression that leads to some rather magnificent moments.
  6. Ultimately as unrewarding as it is conflicted. [10 Dec 2004, p.93]
  7. The beats are from the worst Ice Cube album ever made and the rhymes are sub-Coolio. [18 Dec 2004, p.51]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. bastian
    Mar 15, 2005
    10
    i'm french and i'm think of mr X to the Z is the best of the rap US he is the best of the world i love you xzibit
  2. Frank
    Dec 17, 2004
    10
    Xzibit's Album Has Amazing Beats And His Style Is Unbeatable
  3. PedroA
    Dec 18, 2004
    10
    It's great, Xzibit is definately underated.
  4. Anonymous
    Oct 9, 2005
    9
    In Man vs Machine, Xzibit tried to do too much at once. On this album, he's gone back to basics and it's worked. The result is reminiscient to what his earlier albums (ie. 40 Dayz & 40 Nightz) would have sounded like with a bigger budget- simpler beats put the focus squarely back on X's flawless wordplay. His vocals really carry the album, and the fantastic sonics and thumping beats on songs such as Saturday Night Live, LAX, Beware Of Us, Klack, and Mean Mugging, really bring it home. Xzibit has struck a perfect balance between hardcore and mainstream, with songs that sound just as comfortable on a radio as they do at a full-volume live performance, complete with mosh pit. Definitely his best album yet. Expand
  5. JohnD
    Jul 17, 2005
    7
    This isn't the best rap album ever made, but its far from the worst. While I'm thankful that Dr. Dre didn't lend his 'cinematic music' talents to this release (which usually results in an album that can only be listened to once before it gets annoying), Xzibit lacks experience as a producer, and it shows. The beats and overall quality from song to song is inconsistant; one second he is detailing how he is going to thrill the crowd, the next second he talks about how much the world sucks. There are also too many filler tracks; omit 'Saturday Night Live', 'Judgement Day', 'Ride or Die', and 'Crazy Ho', and rearrange the remaining tracks, and Xzibit would have a much better album. As it is, its just cheese--but sometimes cheese is nice. I just wish it was a steak. Collapse