Weezer [2001]

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 175

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. mated
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    of course, you can't compare Weezers Green Album to their prior work. TGA is a beautiful Pop Album with fantastic melodies and a sing-a-long feeling.
  2. Emma
    Jul 27, 2001
    10
    This album was totally worth the wait! Rivers Cuomo is a brilliant guy. It totally rocks, I listen to it at least once a day, Weezer rule!!
  3. ZezeN.
    Aug 19, 2001
    10
    Definitely a 10...this CD rocks!
  4. GeorgeL.
    Sep 10, 2001
    10
    Yeah Buddy!
  5. DanielP.
    Oct 16, 2001
    10
    They've once again proved true to be the best band out there...welcome back!
  6. jeNNNa...............
    Jul 10, 2001
    10
    the best yet! all the albums are wicked awsome! a must buy! If you don't like it then download their newest stuff. can't wait for their next one due out by the end of this year!
  7. KristenO.
    Jul 13, 2001
    9
    I fell in love with them the first time i saw "Hashpipe" on MTV. Its a really awesome CD and i listen to it almost everyday.
  8. StevenW.
    Aug 8, 2001
    10
    it rocks
  9. emily
    Aug 9, 2001
    10
    I bought this album recently, and I think it is one of the best CDs I've ever listened to. If you were alienated by Pinkerton, this album will once again endear Rivers and the rest of the boys to you. To put it simply, it rocks.
  10. LucC
    Feb 20, 2002
    10
    I love Weezer, and I love this CD.
  11. CliffO.
    Jun 18, 2002
    9
    more listening may bring it up to a ten.
  12. BenA
    May 6, 2005
    10
    This album is different from Blue and Pinkerton. It's straightoforward chord pop without all the versitality of the previous two. Its still great though, and should be welcome as a bunch of catchy songs that are fun. I find it to be incredible if I can get away from constantly comparing it to their other albums. Its different. Its still good!
  13. GuidoR.
    Nov 25, 2001
    10
    It´s only Weezer
  14. LeslieC.
    Nov 26, 2001
    10
    i loved it, it was fantastic! some how no matter how much i try i cant find a flaw other than it was to short! weezer isthe only band i know that can dissapear for years and come back and shock us all with there new tunes and kick-ass lyrics.
  15. kt
    Oct 17, 2001
    9
    photograph is awesome
  16. wiggyc.
    Oct 23, 2001
    10
    this album really is classic, i could listen to the thing on repeat for hours...
  17. TeisT.
    Dec 4, 2001
    8
    i give it 8 because i think its a good cd but not as good as the first (the blue album) and the second (pinkerton).
  18. EthanW.
    Oct 5, 2001
    10
    I dont know about u guys, but this album is still great no matter what.
  19. Greg
    Jun 12, 2001
    7
    this isn't as good as Pinkerton. There isn't that much feeling in it. It seems as if Rivers needed to make a CD so people wouldn't forget about Weezer. Rivers needed to sit down and write some meaning full songs. Not just songs about smoking hash. "Island in the Sun" has hit the airwaves around my area. It sucks to hear formally "underground" bands on the radio now. it this isn't as good as Pinkerton. There isn't that much feeling in it. It seems as if Rivers needed to make a CD so people wouldn't forget about Weezer. Rivers needed to sit down and write some meaning full songs. Not just songs about smoking hash. "Island in the Sun" has hit the airwaves around my area. It sucks to hear formally "underground" bands on the radio now. it sucks for the faithful fans. But for them, it's for the best. Expand
  20. jaygee
    Jun 17, 2001
    10
    Awesome!!!!
  21. LanetteH.
    Jul 10, 2001
    10
    Its so cool. they always have great music!! GO WEEZER!!
  22. MichaelW.
    Jul 5, 2001
    10
    This latest installment in the weezer library is their greatest album to date. The more you listen, the better it gets. With Rivers Cuomo at vocals and new edition Mikey Welsh at bass, weezer has taken a step up from its harder album Pinkerton, which lacked the "feel good" sound of the blue album. That "feel good" sound though is back on the green album better than ever. This ten song This latest installment in the weezer library is their greatest album to date. The more you listen, the better it gets. With Rivers Cuomo at vocals and new edition Mikey Welsh at bass, weezer has taken a step up from its harder album Pinkerton, which lacked the "feel good" sound of the blue album. That "feel good" sound though is back on the green album better than ever. This ten song disk has its hit songs such as "Hash Pipe" and "Island in the Sun" as well as 8 other brilliantly written songs that fit together creating a wonderful feeling of what makes so many fans love Weezer. This album is a definite must buy. Expand
  23. Dustdy
    Jul 5, 2001
    10
    i think its is their best yet.its so catchy but at the same time it is heavy. and you have to listen to "hash pipe" when your hitting the bong>
  24. TysheonaM.
    Aug 12, 2001
    10
    omg.....do you think that i wouldnt give this album a 10 id give it more,but it only went up to a 10....this cd helps people grow,you sure do see that weezer is growing up in our very own eyes.weezers the best the have always been this cd puts a smile on my face when i have a fron...thanks guys.and good job on writeing all the songs rivers i love you guys...stay real
  25. KevinP.
    Aug 31, 2001
    10
    This album matches their first one. I can't wait for the next one.
  26. AaronL.
    Sep 13, 2001
    10
    I bought this album as soon as it came out. I have always been a major Weezer fan since their first single Buddy Holly. I found this cd is exactly what Weezer fans want. Weezer keeps their songs short, but sweet, very sweet. Never once did I have to stop my cd player because of a song I didn't like. This is a definate buy for Weezer fans, as for people who just heard of Weezer, well I bought this album as soon as it came out. I have always been a major Weezer fan since their first single Buddy Holly. I found this cd is exactly what Weezer fans want. Weezer keeps their songs short, but sweet, very sweet. Never once did I have to stop my cd player because of a song I didn't like. This is a definate buy for Weezer fans, as for people who just heard of Weezer, well I don't know... Expand
  27. NovemberC.
    Nov 24, 2001
    10
    i loveweezer and i was so happy to havethem come back to the music world and suprise us all with their new sound and kick-ass lyrics!
  28. Kate
    Oct 25, 2001
    10
    ahhhh i love these guys
  29. EdT.
    Jul 14, 2001
    10
    album is incredible, its about time that they came out with a new one.
  30. Erin
    Jul 17, 2001
    10
    this is the perfect album! if u don't have it get it they totally rock!!!! rivers is a total genius!
  31. RyanP.
    Jul 18, 2001
    10
    Cuomo and the boys do it again with their brilliant release of the Green Album. Not only do they capture the same dirty pop feel similar to the blue album, but also show a hint of maturity and coming together as this album hits with every song. Catchy as ever, songs such as Photograph and island in the sun will have you humming along. Definately a happy day for all you Weezer fans waiting Cuomo and the boys do it again with their brilliant release of the Green Album. Not only do they capture the same dirty pop feel similar to the blue album, but also show a hint of maturity and coming together as this album hits with every song. Catchy as ever, songs such as Photograph and island in the sun will have you humming along. Definately a happy day for all you Weezer fans waiting on this third and brilliantly done album. Expand
  32. [Anonymous]
    Jul 25, 2001
    10
    rivers desevres alot more credit than he is often given,and this record deserves the same,being able to pull off 10 awesome melodies in under a half an hour is genius,and with all the remarks about the bandlosing their emotion in singing,just listen to the vocals and how the guitars efforlessly slide along,and youll find about as much emotion as pinkerton,just alot less grungier and rivers desevres alot more credit than he is often given,and this record deserves the same,being able to pull off 10 awesome melodies in under a half an hour is genius,and with all the remarks about the bandlosing their emotion in singing,just listen to the vocals and how the guitars efforlessly slide along,and youll find about as much emotion as pinkerton,just alot less grungier and personal,this album rocked. Expand
  33. Alyse
    Aug 11, 2001
    10
    I just love it, one of my fave CDs! My only complaint is that it is really short.
  34. nincc
    Aug 17, 2001
    10
    hell yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  35. ShelleyB.
    Aug 17, 2001
    10
    This album is the bezt CD so don't mess with Weezer~!~!~! yay~!~! oh yea and i'll be at their San Jose Concert yay givin it up 4 Weezer, i named my doggy Weezer yeah die hard Weezer fan
  36. Vernon&Rudy
    Aug 24, 2001
    10
    I LOVE WEEZER!!! Rivers is my hero and Mikey is the coolest. (R.I.P) I love the blue album and Pinkerton too. It rocks!!!!!!!!! Green is good but no match for the others (even though we still gave it a ten) WE LOVE YOU RIVERS AND MIKEY!!!!
  37. StephenD.
    Sep 25, 2001
    10
    each album is better than the last
  38. StephenD.
    Sep 25, 2001
    10
    each album is better than the last
  39. dannys
    May 28, 2005
    10
    good
  40. HomieBB
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    this is weezers best album
  41. JohnM.
    Jul 4, 2001
    3
    after seeing the average score this album recieved i am convinced that weeezer or their managers are giving away butt loads of money. this record is like in the top ten and they've been on snl and they're actually being played on mtv. all this and the album only has three good songs. that's why i gave this album a three- one point for each good song. and by weezer standards after seeing the average score this album recieved i am convinced that weeezer or their managers are giving away butt loads of money. this record is like in the top ten and they've been on snl and they're actually being played on mtv. all this and the album only has three good songs. that's why i gave this album a three- one point for each good song. and by weezer standards theyre just alright. but hey i guess that's all you need in this monochromaticmtvgap wonderland is three good songs. too bad weezer didin't get this kinda press when they were still a good band. Expand
  42. Jonas
    May 13, 2005
    2
    Oh, this album makes me so sad. What have you done Weezer? What have you done Rivers? The songs are so shallow and lacking of depth, while in comparison to Pinkerton and Blue. But this..this..thing, I cannot begin to believe was made by the same artist. Why?! I am sad that Weezer will never be the same again. I give 2 for Island in the sun, Hash Pipe is okay too, but I also give points Oh, this album makes me so sad. What have you done Weezer? What have you done Rivers? The songs are so shallow and lacking of depth, while in comparison to Pinkerton and Blue. But this..this..thing, I cannot begin to believe was made by the same artist. Why?! I am sad that Weezer will never be the same again. I give 2 for Island in the sun, Hash Pipe is okay too, but I also give points because I once loved Weezer. Now they are gone. Expand
  43. ChrisP
    Dec 8, 2001
    5
    This would be a good first album for a band. It's not a good album for a band that has already released one very good album (the "blue" album) and one amazing album (Pinkerton).
  44. Jonas
    Jul 17, 2004
    3
    They should have stopped at number 2, when they were perfect.
  45. RyanT
    Oct 3, 2002
    6
    Basically its a second rate version of the blue album. Besides Hash Pipe, and Island in the Sun all the songs are basically blue album like retreads.
  46. Jazza
    Mar 7, 2007
    2
    Absolute garbage, the most agonising half hour of my life. (I actually thought it could get better)
  47. PollyR.
    Jul 23, 2001
    5
    as an avid listener of =w= i have become devoted to the group who won my heart at the age of10. i listend to the melodies everdayas if ive never heard the album before, each day grasping hidden messages and meanings in each song...and then came pinkerton. Pinkerton is diffrent, true and takesover my body and mind till this day at each word that mr cuomo recites. his words seem illuminate as an avid listener of =w= i have become devoted to the group who won my heart at the age of10. i listend to the melodies everdayas if ive never heard the album before, each day grasping hidden messages and meanings in each song...and then came pinkerton. Pinkerton is diffrent, true and takesover my body and mind till this day at each word that mr cuomo recites. his words seem illuminate my face and give me that sick feeling in my stomach .....and that is when u know that u are in love. thank god for pinkerton. I still regard it was =w= at its best regardless of what critics say. the green album disappointed me . not bad if u ar looking for music with a catchy tune and a shallow and empty mesage. god how i miss the days of pinkerton. Expand
  48. djdj
    Apr 11, 2002
    0
    horrible i cant believe this is weezer
  49. BryanS.
    Jul 24, 2001
    9
    Actually, a little less than a 9, perhaps an 8.5 if I may say so. Here's why. The album remains consistently high quality throughout. The only dilemma is that I fail to see one or two outstanding tracks, as I've been able to do for the previous two albums. All songs are good, in my opinion, ranging from a 7-9(.5) on the rating chart, but I wish there was a song like Suzanne on Actually, a little less than a 9, perhaps an 8.5 if I may say so. Here's why. The album remains consistently high quality throughout. The only dilemma is that I fail to see one or two outstanding tracks, as I've been able to do for the previous two albums. All songs are good, in my opinion, ranging from a 7-9(.5) on the rating chart, but I wish there was a song like Suzanne on this CD that stood out clearly as the best. But over-all, definitely an above average rock album. Bravo, guys. And continue to rock on for years to come. Expand
  50. HollyR.
    Jul 28, 2001
    8
    This album is really good. I didn't give it a 10 just because I think it could have been better. By better I mean more on the lines of Pinkerton's sound. I love Pinkerton, all the emmotions in River's lyrics. To me it's the perfect album. But The Green Album doesn't show those emmotions that I love. Don't get me wrong...i really really like the album, This album is really good. I didn't give it a 10 just because I think it could have been better. By better I mean more on the lines of Pinkerton's sound. I love Pinkerton, all the emmotions in River's lyrics. To me it's the perfect album. But The Green Album doesn't show those emmotions that I love. Don't get me wrong...i really really like the album, it's just not another Pinkerton. Expand
  51. DianaM.
    Jul 29, 2001
    9
    This is the second best Cd this year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  52. ShelleyF.
    Aug 12, 2001
    9
    I like this album alot and played it over and over when I got it. My favorite song is oh girlfriend, but there isnt a bad song on the album.
  53. stevewhipple
    Sep 13, 2001
    9
    this album is so awesome.it mixes a type of pop music with rock and whoever thought that,that could happen.Though Pinkerton is still the best album ever made and cant be beat!!!!
  54. MalissaR.
    Sep 22, 2001
    9
    hashpipe kicks ass!
  55. HeidiW.
    Sep 4, 2001
    9
    I love this CD, but it seems to be lacking the emotion that Pinkerton brimmed with . . . even if that did alienate some people. "Glorious Day" is the best song. But it is really short! Is there a ten song limit for them or something?
  56. DanielM.
    Sep 9, 2001
    9
    needless to say, anything by weezer is bound to be good. by far pinkerton is their best album with it's more diverse musical arrangements but the green album definately rocks! i can't wait for their next album.
  57. ShaneC.
    Mar 26, 2002
    9
    The only thing that I don't like about the green album is that it isnt long enough
  58. MeganM.
    Apr 10, 2002
    7
    I truly enjoyed this album. After hearing it once from my brother i ran out and bought it. In my opinion it is nowhere close to Pinkerton. But a very buzzworthy album. A good album to add to your collection.
  59. MatthewS.
    Apr 4, 2002
    7
    Kjell. H, this is a response of sorts to your review. I echo your feeling that the Green Album is somewhat devoid of emotion; to shed a little light on this observation, Rivers has said in interviews that he most explicitly wanted to make the album devoid of emotion (because of some of the painful backlash of Pinkerton.) That said, despite the album's emotional shortcomings, Weezer Kjell. H, this is a response of sorts to your review. I echo your feeling that the Green Album is somewhat devoid of emotion; to shed a little light on this observation, Rivers has said in interviews that he most explicitly wanted to make the album devoid of emotion (because of some of the painful backlash of Pinkerton.) That said, despite the album's emotional shortcomings, Weezer are still one of the most creative, talented pop-rock bands out there, and we are lucky to have them back in the limelight even though this album is not their strongest effort. Expand
  60. IziT
    Aug 23, 2002
    8
    I think it's a great effort. Not one of the best albums in the world (that's why it's not a 10), but you have to admit it's a LOT better than most of the albums being released today. Not as good as the Blue album (which I think gets an 9). Well, it's been in my cd player for the last 48 hours. I mean, you can't expect albums tha deserve 10 all the time, so I think it's a great effort. Not one of the best albums in the world (that's why it's not a 10), but you have to admit it's a LOT better than most of the albums being released today. Not as good as the Blue album (which I think gets an 9). Well, it's been in my cd player for the last 48 hours. I mean, you can't expect albums tha deserve 10 all the time, so don't complain! Expand
  61. superman
    Jan 4, 2004
    9
    needs a couple more tracks to be perfect
  62. JohnM
    Apr 25, 2005
    6
    Admit it, compared to the blue album and pinkerton this album is flat.
  63. BlowinIntheWind
    Nov 25, 2001
    9
    hey man, you gotta chilla little. Weezer rules...deal with it. No fukin executives have to give out no money to prove that. This album rocks
  64. KjellH.
    Dec 24, 2001
    7
    By virtue of being Weezer the green album deserves a warm welcome. As always, I am eager to see the direction Weezer is headed. What does Rivers Cuomo have to say, what emotions are expressed, what (if any) resolutions are made? On this account, the green album is somewhat frusterating and leaves me in confusion. Where is the blue album's variety and sense of adventure? Where is the By virtue of being Weezer the green album deserves a warm welcome. As always, I am eager to see the direction Weezer is headed. What does Rivers Cuomo have to say, what emotions are expressed, what (if any) resolutions are made? On this account, the green album is somewhat frusterating and leaves me in confusion. Where is the blue album's variety and sense of adventure? Where is the conflicted passion of Pinkerton? The green album is short, undaring, and worst of all, I really don't know what Rivers is singing about. Is his heart in the songs? Too many of the songs seem vacant and aggravatingly unrelatable. Photograph, Hashpipe, and Island in the Sun, are fun initially, but I've already grown tired of them. To me, the green album is most worthwhile in the melancholy wailings of some of the latter songs, esp. 'oblivion' in Smile and 'O girlfriend, that's the end' in O Girlfriend. With beauiful sorrow bleeding through in the end, I can't help but wonder if some of the upbeat optimism early in the record wasn't forced out through a feeling of obligation; or perhaps Rivers wants to be, and thus tries to sound like, he's happy. If you love the green album, if you think Pinkerton was a mistake, if you think Buddy Holly is the blue album's best, or most honest, song... Then your favorite band is not Weezer. Weezer is not mainstream, not superficial; Rivers if full of dark angst and has had painful problems. Geek rock, Harvard, D & D. Weezer is smart and emotive. MTV is never smart and usually oversimplifies and misunderstands emotions. Most of the green album's songs seem confident and likable, albeit unoriginal, but I can't get rid of a nagging feeling that the songs are largely contrived and dumbed down (not purposefully so, I sincerely hope). I really do not believe that Weezer is a sell-out, that's why the green album confuses me. Expand
  65. DaniloS
    Mar 17, 2002
    6
    In my opinion, blue album's melodies were far more elaborated than those from this album. It seems to me that I'll soon get tired of them, unfortunately. Where is their amazing creativity that made them my favorite band?
  66. DaniloS
    Mar 17, 2002
    6
    In my opinion, blue album's melodies were far more elaborated than those from this album. It seems to me that I'll soon get tired of them, unfortunately. Where is their amazing creativity that made them my favorite band?
  67. Spree
    Sep 13, 2004
    7
    This is a great album, though not as good as Pinkerton...
  68. BenjaminT
    Jun 28, 2007
    8
    it was a good album. it was a change from the blue album and pinkerton. but i like it. no song is bad on this album, and some songs are just pure awesome. one thing a didnt really like about the album is alot ( almost all) guitar solos were the product of duplicating the melody of the chorus. but overall, a good album
  69. ShaunT.
    Dec 15, 2003
    8
    Weezer's sugar-coated Green Album is a simple, short album that suffers a bit because of its length. The hands-down best song on this CD is the sardonic, humorous hit, 'Hash Pipe', which tells the story of a hooker in such a jolly-sounding way that your mother would even enjoy hearing it. Other stand-out tracks include 'Island in the Sun' and 'Knock-down, Weezer's sugar-coated Green Album is a simple, short album that suffers a bit because of its length. The hands-down best song on this CD is the sardonic, humorous hit, 'Hash Pipe', which tells the story of a hooker in such a jolly-sounding way that your mother would even enjoy hearing it. Other stand-out tracks include 'Island in the Sun' and 'Knock-down, Drag-out'. More hard-edged tracks would definately make this CD more enjoyable, but goodie-goodie rock doesn't get any better than this! It's too bad that its running time is slightly under 1/2 hour, though... Expand
  70. Aug 22, 2010
    9
    Nothing can compare to Blue and Pinkerton, but Green manages to hold its own and deliver a very good pop rock album. All of the songs are catchy and you can listen to the whole album in just 30 minutes. Not as deep as most Weezer records, I still find myself listening to it if I just want good fun rock.
  71. Sep 7, 2010
    9
    Solid effort from Weezer... Probably third best album behind The Blue Album and Pinkerton, "Island in the Sun" is especially fun live and the songs flow nicely and make for a hell of a listen.
  72. j30
    Aug 15, 2011
    7
    Their most forgivable album, but this where they started to stray. I started listening to them when this record came out. "Photograph" and "Island in the Sun" are great Weezer songs
  73. Jun 25, 2012
    8
    Weezer's first 2 albums are absolute classics. Green, the bands 3rd record doesn't quite match up but is still a very strong record and still sounds great a decade after it's initial release. It's got the fantastic Island in the Sun and Hash Pipe, two of the bands best tracks. It's got a couple of other really strong tracks (Photograph, Glorious Days, Oh Girlfriend) as well butWeezer's first 2 albums are absolute classics. Green, the bands 3rd record doesn't quite match up but is still a very strong record and still sounds great a decade after it's initial release. It's got the fantastic Island in the Sun and Hash Pipe, two of the bands best tracks. It's got a couple of other really strong tracks (Photograph, Glorious Days, Oh Girlfriend) as well but unfortunately too much of the record doesn't have the edgy quirkiness that made their first 2 records so great. It almost feels a bit sanitised. I don't feel they ever struck the right balance between killer tunes and quirkiness after Pinkerton and I would say Green and Maladroit were their last really good records. Expand
  74. Apr 8, 2013
    8
    Rivers have again shown that his songwriting hasn't gone down with the split up after Pinkerton. Though the two first albums are absolutely outstanding Weezer has still created an album that contains hit singles as well as other great "non single" songs. Sure, some of the brilliance has gotten away, compare "Falling for you" with "O girlfriend" for example, but it's still a great recordRivers have again shown that his songwriting hasn't gone down with the split up after Pinkerton. Though the two first albums are absolutely outstanding Weezer has still created an album that contains hit singles as well as other great "non single" songs. Sure, some of the brilliance has gotten away, compare "Falling for you" with "O girlfriend" for example, but it's still a great record that deserves attention. Expand
  75. Feb 24, 2016
    7
    The overall happiness and upbeat sound of The Green Album makes for one of Weezer's best albums they've made. Some of the band's essential songs appear on here, with the gentle Island In The Sun, the pot anthem Hash Pipe, and the pop love song Photograph.
  76. Apr 1, 2016
    6
    An enjoyable pop album. Some of the tunes are too mainstream for my tastes and aren't as exciting on the material on Pinkerton or Blue, but you can't go wrong with Photograph or Island in the Sun.
  77. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    Definitely not Weezer's best *coughPinkertoncough* but a solid album nonetheless. This is the kind of album that deserves to just be listened to straight through- a task which is, sadly, over in less than half an hour. Short but sweet, carefree power pop at its finest.
  78. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    The guitar work on the album is different than the first two but is still as great. Don't Let Go, Simple Pages, and Island in the Sun are my highlights of the album.
  79. Sep 29, 2014
    5
    While the album is more upbeat and fun than it's predecessor, the writing is very bland, uninspired, and rushed. Which makes no sense since it's been almost 6 years sine the last one! I do feel that there are a few saving graces though. For starters, the energy is here, clocking in at just 30 minutes. This allows for some really fast paced power pop rockers, such as Hash Pipe and Don'tWhile the album is more upbeat and fun than it's predecessor, the writing is very bland, uninspired, and rushed. Which makes no sense since it's been almost 6 years sine the last one! I do feel that there are a few saving graces though. For starters, the energy is here, clocking in at just 30 minutes. This allows for some really fast paced power pop rockers, such as Hash Pipe and Don't Let Go. And Island in the Sun and O Girlfriend are super sweet, diabetic, geeky charms that show Weezer's softer side. Expand
  80. Jan 27, 2015
    6
    This album is not fantastic, but it's impossible to dislike. It's so irresistibly simple that you can't hate it. It's solid all the way through, and while it doesn't offer anything extra spectacular, it's consistent and unassuming. I don't know what it is about Weezer, but every one of their albums grows on me. I don't really get tired of them, no matter how much I convince myself they'reThis album is not fantastic, but it's impossible to dislike. It's so irresistibly simple that you can't hate it. It's solid all the way through, and while it doesn't offer anything extra spectacular, it's consistent and unassuming. I don't know what it is about Weezer, but every one of their albums grows on me. I don't really get tired of them, no matter how much I convince myself they're just average. Expand
  81. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    9/10 .................................................................................................................................................
  82. May 11, 2016
    7
    A successful comeback in its own right following a 5-year layoff from the limelight. Rivers was clearly still embarrassed at the time about Pinkerton and so the lyrics here are not very personal or retrospective. But like the music, they are still a lot of fun, all at a digestible 28 minutes.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. The 11 tracks trundle along in a generally inoffensive slipstream of occasionally admirable but mainly dull AOR silliness.
  2. Feels a bit repetitive and perfunctory the first time through, but it's resolutely unpretentious and airtight throughout, without a wasted moment or false move.
  3. Weezer have faced their challenge with confident, easy-going nonchalance, offering one hell of a tight little record.